We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exercise and informative expedition”

Kayak-iti-Yat Original Kayaking Tours of New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned, family run. Capture New Orleans from a different perspective. Kayak our beautiful bayou as we guide you along our historic waterway. We'll keep with the pace of the city--nice and easy, taking in the southern scenery, hospitality and weather. We offer three tours of varying levels of physical demand and kayaking experience. Taking place on natural, but urban Bayou St. John, paddles focus on history and ecology of the area and New Orleans. Our tours cover pretty much anything and all things relevant to the waterways and the surrounding neighborhoods. Our website is loaded with information! There you can find full descriptions of each tour, directions to our launch, and even quickly reserve your tour by clicking one of the yellow "book now" buttons.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great exercise and informative expedition”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We took the longer tour which lead us all the way to Lake Pontchartrain. Most tourists miss this spot but it is a great place to visit and recover with a swim after a good kayak down the bayou. A very informative and local guide who told us all about the areas Katrina hit and how it has effected the community. He even took us to Parkways for PoBoys!! Could'n't have asked for a better expedition.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The kayak itself was very easy to use – good for beginners. We paddled along the Bayou St. John from the NOLA museum to Lake Pontrachain.
The amount of wildlife we saw was amazing – blue herons, snowy egrets, great white egrets, coots, snapping turtles, Muscovy ducks, and of course, pelicans that never seemed to tire of diving into the water right in front of use to pluck a fish out.
Our guide, Sonny, was excellent. He took great care of us, provided great stories about the history of the area; making the pirates of the bayou come alive. Plus, he shared great local insider tips on where to eat, drink and listen to music.
Break out of the tourist traps - take this tour now!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Orleans from a different perspective”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We took this tour the day after taking a bike tour from Confederacy of Cruisers, so some of the history was repetitive. But Sara is a wonderful guide and the scenery is very interesting (different styles of homes, Lake Pontchartrain, some birds, etc). It's also good to work off some NOLA calories with kayak paddling. Combine this tour with a visit to the Museum of Art at City Park--you'll be right there anyway.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CincyJoe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected highlight of my first trip to New Orleans!”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

.. and I don't mean that to sound mean, just that I'd underestimated how wonderful the twilight kayaking tour would be. Crammed it into a busy schedule on my first trip to the city, it proved an oasis amidst the tourist standards. Relaxing, mellow, Sara friendly and full of stories, a great way to get a different perspective on the city.. Highly recommended, I'll definitely be back to take the longer version of this most serene and fun tour. Spare the time, you'll never regret it (and no experience of kayaking necessary!). So glad I did this.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaSW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really special!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was a great tour and we really enjoyed ourselves! It was my first time kayaking and I've got to say, Sarah made it so easy and relaxing that we got straight on and paddled! Sarah is absolutely fantastice, great to talk to and so relaxed that it felt like a day out with friends rather than a tour...

Thanks so much, it was by far one of our favourite experiences in NO.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cloworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak-iti-Yat Original Kayaking Tours of New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Kayak-iti-Yat Original Kayaking Tours of New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing