We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at HH Whitney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Ranked #44 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay at HH Whitney”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We came to New Orleans (4 days/3nights) to celebrate our 10th anniversary. This 1865 house is beautifully decorated and in a perfect location. You feel comfortable walking to the French Quarter during the day and only a $7-8 cab ride back at night. Glen (the Innkeeper) was very knowledgeable about places to visit and had excellent suggestions where to eat at local restaurants. We enjoyed every restaurant he recommended! We rented the Bride & Grooms room (at the front of the house, closer to the street). However, if you’re looking for a quieter environment, ask for a room more towards the rear of the home. The first night, we heard a lot of car traffic but were used to it by day two. Breakfast was excellent and huge portions. Bottles of water, sodas and snacks always available in the kitchen. All the staff was very friendly and made us feel like we were staying with old friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker99MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
96
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We gathered our family from Florida, California, Texas and Georgia and spend the Thanksgiving holiday at this wonderful B & B. Really authentic atmosphere and close to everything. Glen was wonderful and gave great suggestions about touring and dining. Breakfasts to die for. I highly recommend this for the warm atmosphere and great area.

Room Tip: The Solarium Suite has a wonderful sitting room that my family greatly appreciated and used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank meandmydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Let me start by saying that if you are looking for W style accommodations, that this is not your speed. The house is historic and though well maintained, still has the quirks that old houses do. I am posting pictures from our stay because the pictures on travel websites do not do this place justice. Four of us (2 couples - early 30's) went for Halloween weekend and stayed in the adjoining Brides room and Solarium suites. We loved every detail. It was great meeting the guests from other places and Randy and his staff are just excellent. Breakfast was hearty and divine, there were snacks and refreshments available in the kitchen area 24/7, and the place was kept very clean. The patio is breathtaking and the pool and jacuzzi add a perfect place to relax with a glass of wine (or 3) after a long day of sightseeing.

Location is walking distance to the Quarter and also Frenchman, but cab rides are so cheap (and a girl has got to have on sassy, impractical shoes for going out!) that we ended up cabbing everywhere.

We will never stay anywhere else in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Staying in this wonderful house was one of the highlights of our trip. HH Whitney house is a real grande dame of New Orleans, giving a glimpse of the opulence of creole life on the Esplanade in N O’s heyday.

We arrived, worn out after a tough drive from Natchez, through a seriously scary rainstorm. Our warm welcome in this calm old house that had withstood Katrina was like a romantic fantasy.

We stayed in the garden suite with its sumptuous bed, private balcony and double shower. The pool was a perfect place to cool off after a day out in the heat of high summer.

Glen’s hospitality was warm and generous. Thanks to his local knowledge we were able to get the most out of our time in New Orleans. We experienced some great music, food, culture and history and got very close to some big wild alligators. Glen went out of his way to suggest places we might enjoy. One evening he even drove us himself. The breakfasts, as others have said, are legendary.

We walked up and down the Esplanade and met with nothing but warmth and friendliness from local people. At no time did we feel unsafe in the slightest.

We would certainly stay there again and would recommend HH Whitney House to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite, at the back of the house. It is quiet, private and relatively self-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halstedchi
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the HH Whitney House. It is perfectly situated to enjoy both the French Quarter and several neighborhoods just beyond Rampart. Glen and Randy are charming and lovely hosts who made our stay very special. While the other bedrooms seem to be designed with romance in mind, my husband and I loved the very nicely decorated garden room. An extra bonus is the lovely garden with swimming pool. It was wonderful to take a dip to cool off from the intense June heat and humidity.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halstedchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
755 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 140 in New Orleans
148 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 140 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#43 of 140 in New Orleans
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Property: HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Address: 1923 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1706
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $215 - $317
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing