We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay! We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #19 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stay! We will be back!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our first time to N.O. and we had no idea what to expect. When the gates opened, Lola and Vincent greeted us with warm smiles and anniversary wishes. What we truly appreciated was that they were both so relaxed, easy going, easy to talk to, and just happy overall. They inquired as to what we like to eat, drink, and activities we like to do, and everything, I mean everything they suggested was spot on! At breakfast (which was excellent), everyone seemed to have done something different, so that made me feel like they really listened to what we liked and made the appropriate suggestions. We also liked the location which is directly next to Armstrong Park (great place to relax a bit), across the street from the FQ, and walking distance to the Marigny area. Due to the location, it’s a great place for couples looking for a more quiet stay and great for families. Great breakfast, comfy bed and quarters, great hosts…we just can’t say enough good things. Where you stay can make or break a trip. All I can say is that we will be back and I can’t wait to bring others with me! Thank you Vincent and Lola.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We're happy that your first stay in our beloved New Orleans was a successful one.

Come back and see us anytime.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    40
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
75
307
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was a part of a large party in March enjoying the gracious hosting by Vincent and Lola and while I've been to New Orleans several times and stayed in some of the older classic hotels there, this was my first B&B in the town and it was a wonderful experience. Staying in buildings with this kind of history and atmosphere just added to the great experience that New Orleans always provides. I was in the White room which was small, but perfectly comfortable for a party of one and was nicely placed close to the center of the complex, which really helped enhance the feeling of security for a woman traveling alone. I was amazed at how cordial and welcoming Lola and Vincent were and had a wonderful time at the breakfasts meeting all the other guests. I must admit - the amazing scents of breakfast and fresh cookies wafted into the room in the mornings and afternoons and helped me rise eagerly from a very comfortable bed! I will return and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in late, I would suggest one of the rooms a little further from the common brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you, Kim, for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Jazz Quarters.

Lola and I enjoyed having you as our guest,.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was my husband's and my first trip to New Orleans and I scoured all the B&B options I could possibly find before making a decision to stay at the Jazz Quarters. We were not disappointed! The feel of the B&B is very relaxed and real. There is nothing that would be considered over the top, phony, or touristy. It was so very comfortable. The Inn Keepers, Lola and Vincent, are the most awesome pair you could ask for to guide you through the city. Vincent met with us when we arrived, even though it was late. He directed us to a great pub for dinner. Lola met with us during breakfast the next morning to help us further determine what we wanted to do during our time there. Every single place they recommended was great. The food and drinks were to die for at the restaurants they suggested. They never steered us wrong! The location of the B&B is excellent. We walked everywhere and never had to take a taxi to the sites in the French Quarter or on Frenchman street. And the walking was good to counteract the effects of all the yummy food we inhaled! Did I mention how great Lola and Vincent are??? :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson_AddisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Hi A and A,

Thanks so much for the nice review.
It is always a pleasure to meet fellow Paul Bowles devotees.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We came down to N.O. for a wedding and really enjoyed it. One of our favorite parts about the trip was staying at Jazz Quarters. Vincent was so welcoming and friendly, the B&B was very peaceful, breakfast was delicious. After a good part of the day spent on Bourbon Street, it was nice to come back to such a relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to staying at Jazz Quarters in the near future, hopefully for at least a week to see more of what the city has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markc765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
You are right, Marc, 2 days isn't enough to see the city.
Come and stay a few days longer on your next visit.
Please give our regards to Adrianne, Irene and Ken.

All the best,

Vincent and Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

New Orleans has so many places to stay due to its rich history, but this place is absolutely outstanding! We had a large group come into town for my birthday weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased. Your hosts, Vincent & Lola, are genuine and welcoming...they make a point to sit down with their guests as they arrive to make recommendations, as well as some do's and don't of the city. There are amazing breakfast dishes with a local flair (my favorite were the Zydeco wraps!), as well as yummy cookies as an afternoon snack. The location is easily within walking distance of the French Quarter, while still being far enough away as to not hear the hustle and bustle.

A few things to note for non-B&B customers:

*If you're looking for contemporary/modern accommodations, this probably isn't the place for you; after speaking with one of the owners, she mentioned the "newer" buildings are about 150 years old...expect the bathrooms to be smaller.
*Breakfasts are served as a "community" event...if you're not particularly social, this may not be the atmosphere you're looking for. Each morning, we were able to converse with different people and share stories about previous (and wish list!) travel destinations, as well as New Orleans attractions. It was fun and interesting to get to meet people from all over the country!
*This isn't a booze-fest location...if you plan to be crazy drunk and wild, a hotel on Bourbon Street may be a better fit for you. The Jazz Quarters are meant to be homey, relaxing, and laid-back.

Summed up, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and affordable. The hosts were, simply put, amazing. The location couldn't have been better. I can hardly wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mayfield, which is more secluded from the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WineBooksWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Not only is your review kind and well-written, it also provides an excellent profile of the type of traveler that will enjoy their stay here at the Jazz Quarters.

Thanks so much for the elaborate review.

Hope to see you again soon,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,590 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Property: The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $114 - $631
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing