We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We liked it here. Stayed 7 days and enjoyed the plaza very much. Staff was wonderful. Room was clean and comfortable. Could go to roof top and see for miles or set in the garden. Washers and dryers were no charge. The garden district was beautiful. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lyllwackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    280
    86
    27
    20
See reviews for
118
325
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This place is great - right in front of the street car stop, in beautiful St Charles Ave. The staff are very nice, and rooms are big, clean and with everything you might need. There was only one problem with my room and it had to do with the constant noise that came from the A/C and other motors at the back of the hotel. My room was on the 5th floor, so I imagine that if you get a room in a higher floor, not facing the motors, this will not be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catalan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

When selecting this hotel consideration was given to the location, price and amenities required. The Avenue Plaza resort didn't disappoint. It is located in the Garden District along St Charles Ave. It is far enough away from the French Quarter and CBD in a quieter suburb, yet close enough to hop on a streetcar and be there in 10 minutes, less the hassle of trying to park or pay for the privilege in expensive car parks. However, word of warning, streetcars during busy periods can be very crowded and unpleasant. Also be sure to say to the driver you want a day pass, (if you want one which is the best option), before putting money into the ticket machine. Or else you'll be yelled at! (Albeit in Southern good humor). The hotel offers valet parking but enough free parking can be found on the street within easy access to the hotel.
The room we stayed in was a one bedroom suite on the 10th floor with foldout bedding in the lounge in addition to the big bedroom. It was very clean, the kitchenette was excellent and the view from the suite window was fantastic. For an even better view, the rooftop terrace accessed from the 12th floor is great for a panoramic view of New Orleans and suburbs.
Reception desk assistance was disappointing, I asked where I might find the nearest post office and was told to wait for the tour desk manager, who never appeared. Porters were sought, by repeated requests over a lengthy period but never came to assist. Laundry appliances were unreliable, but as I don't like to judge a vacation by doing a mundane chore like laundry, whilst on it, I perhaps should let that pass! LOL.
Plentiful restaurants and convenience stores are closeby. The business centre in the hotel had three computer terminals to access internet 24/7. Lifts worked efficiently and the outdoor areas were good.
Overall a pleasant stay in a comfortable and well located hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MMMc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a lovely resort. The beds are wonderful, the kitchen is just enough and the bathroom, though small is very efficiently set up with a large shower. The entire staff are very nice. This was our 10th visit to New Orleans and it was also our first stay in the Garden District. It was a good respite from the craziness of the French Quarter but still has plenty of grown up bars and shopping and good restaurants. This will definitely be were I will stay again when I return.

Room Tip: 10th floor street side has great views and very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wicnstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived in the beautiful Garden District looking forward to an enjoyable stay at the Avenue Plaza Resort. Our studio unit was large and nicely furnished. However our one-week stay was marred by the indifferent, unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of the resort staff. When we arrived, we were asked to pay $45.00 in advance for cleaning – not cleaning the unit during our stay, but preparing the unit for the next guests’ arrival after our departure. There was no midweek cleaning, tidying, or replacing towels, toiletries and linens, as we have enjoyed and other hotels and resorts in the past. At Avenue Plaza Resort we were asked to carry our used towels down two floors by elevator, where we were able to exchange them for clean dry towels; similarly when the soap and shampoo ran out, we were invited to visit the reception desk in the lobby and carry the toiletries back to our unit. Sort of like an expensive summer camp for kids. These grownups will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mortsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#45 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#85 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#107 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#96 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $172 - $360
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing