We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location and Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

WE spent 5 nights at the hotel and we thought the overall standard was very good. Nice rooms, easy parking and a reasonable breakfast. The desk staff were quietly efficient and overall good value for money. We're certainly stay there again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brianandteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    151
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
156
168
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loveslakes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

What sold us on this hotel was its secured parking lot (you are issued a door opener) and location in garden district on trolley line. While the ride into the french quarter area (must walk from last stop) can be lengthy, it was so much more pleasant than shopping for parking spots. We had a small room facing the A/C units, but it was quiet compared to St Charles ave, and compensated by having two sinks so 4 of us could manage logistics. Breakfast was fine, they added bacon to the standard eggs offering and sausage the next day which were both above the norm at BW (not Plus). They had cookies and lemonade or tea in the afternoon and we sat on the front patio and watched the trolley and joggers pass before dinner. The garden district is worth a drive through or tour and we recommend driving further out St Charles to see some beautiful old homes. We had a bit of sticker shock when the room rate with all the fees and taxes was more like $200 per night than what we thought when we reserved.

Room Tip: We didn't mind the a/c unit noise, it was not that loud and just provided background white noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveslakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My family & I stayed here for our Xmas vacation in 2011, our first time in NOLA and we loved it. We got there at night and the reception lady was very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location in the Avenue, the rooms were clean and comfortable, will get the queen size beds next time. the best feature is the location, we took the train car everyday its was the best thing we did, since our car stayed locked in behind gates and we were never concerned. Try the Mexican restaurant next door its amazing.

The breakfast is standard our teenagers liked it & for us it was OK since, we filled up and walk around NOLA all day. My husband and I are planning a return visit will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for the quuen beds, i had the double beds too small for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amlpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with my family for a break in New Orleans. The rooms are recently renovated and very comfortable,though not massive. Bathroom a good size though. Breakfast is pretty standard buffet fare but well done.

What wins for me is that it is right on the St Charles Ave street car line. So after having driven down from Dallas we parked the car in the free secure parking lot and never drove again till we left. The area is in Uptown, close by the Garden District. makes for a quiet pleasant area away from the French Quarter hubbub at the end of the day.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hard to beat for location and value for money in my book. I would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I had the chance to stay at this hotel during my first visit to LA. The rooms were nice, the beds were comfy, and the food was good. Within walking distance of many great places to eat and just a few blocks from the trolly to the French Quarter, I couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. I am hoping to return to my new found home away from home for Mardi Gras 2013 but think I will bring some friends with me too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrystel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Property: Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $200 - $467
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing