We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 163
USD 148
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 158
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 188
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
USD 235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dauphine Orleans Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
USD 281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 165
USD 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,588)
Filter reviews
2,588 results
Traveller rating
1,126
908
364
114
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,126
908
364
114
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal streetgreat locationthe executive loungefrench quartercorner roomcommon streetlobby barbourbon stvery nice hotelfitness centerjazz festthe entire staffvalet parkingmardi grastwo blocksgarden districtjackson square
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 2,588 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been a Marriott Platinum for many years and have stayed at both Marriott and JW Marriott worldwide. This JW Marriott is way below a JW Marriott standard. The room is small, the bathroom is tiny and not in great condition, the air conditioning fan make rattling noise, the mattress was not the high quality mattress you normally expect at a Marriott hotel, the front staff was not friendly.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear IntBizTraveler,

First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty to our hotels. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are known for our great service and attention to detail, and we are sorry we let you down. We have reviewed your comments with our team to correct and prevent these issues from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust.


Glenn Gray
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This hotel was at the perfect location. It was in walking distance of the French Quarter which was great, and what was even better is that we didn't have to worry about hearing noise from the streets. It had great service and the concierge was very helpful. It also has a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyhiller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

From an amazingly warm greeting to a very clean room with a stunning view, this hotel delivers! The location is absolutely great, and close to Bourbon St and the French Quarter Make sure you get a higher room to get away from the street noise as well! Service was great and maid service was outstanding! Thank you!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The location is perfect and you are in the middle of the fun in New Orleans.
The best thing about this hotel is the 2nd floor of the executive lounge. What a fun space to be.
Rooms for comfortable and clean. They did show signs of wear, chipping paint and worn furniture. Beds were comfortable

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Allen0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I recently celebrated a wedding anniversary in New Orleans, which was our honeymoon city years ago. As an aside we are not neophyte travellers. I am a rewards member with Marriott as well as three other hotel loyalty groups. We generally spend 80 to 100 nights a year in hotels and at resorts and the vast majority of those nights are at Marriott family properties. Last year we stayed at Marriott properties in Palm Springs, CA; Kona-Kailua, HI; Spokane, WA; Tampa, FL; Berlin, Germany; and Warsaw, Poland and enjoyed them all. We began our anniversary celebration at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans where we stayed for 4 days & 3 nights and gave the Ritz Carlton a near-perfect review for its quality of service, staff and amenities. Then we moved 2-1/2 blocks down Canal Street to the JW Marriott. Unfortunately the JW Marriott where we stayed for 7 days & 6 nights falls short in service, staff and amenities. While our check-in process was smooth we practically had to beg a bellman for assistance with luggage to our room. We did enjoy a corner room with excellent view on the 21st floor, which was an upgrade because of my Gold Elite Status. Our bed was comfortable and the view was great. However we needed towels and made a request to housekeeping using the "At Your Service" call in desk. Despite a second call to "At Your Service" it was a day and a half before we got clean towels and that was only after my wife chased down a room service attendant in the hallway. One hotel highlight was Room Service. We ordered room service on three occasions during our stay. Each time the order was read back to us, we were told what time it was when we placed our order and what time to expect delivery of the room service order. Each order arrived hot and within the promised delivery time. Also on a positive note was the laundry service. The laundry we sent out was returned by 6 p.m. the same day as promised. By far the biggest disappointment at the JW Marriott was the Club Lounge. The food choices were limited as were the hours of operation. JW Marriott Club Lounge staff was courteous but not friendly like the exceptional staff at the Ritz Carlton Club Lounge where staff intoduced themselves, remembered your name and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs. I am sorry we paid extra for Club Lounge "privileges" at the JW Marriott as the service, the food (limited selection and runny scrambled eggs) and lounge accessibility did not justify the expense or meet expectations. It seemed as though everyone staying at the hotel must of had Club Lounge privileges. It was always crowded. As a result the Club Lounge at the JW Marriott did not feel special. Overall if the Ritz Carlton New Orleans earned a "10" the JW Marriott is somewhere between a "3" and a "4" as our room was fine as was room service and laundry service but everything else was a disappointment. Can't really recommend or endorse the JW Marriott in New Orleans but if you must stay there I suggest don't waste your money for Club Lounge privileges.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear James H,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, and will use it for training and to make improvements to our services. We have shared your comments with the appropriate department heads to make the necessary adjustments. We hope that we will have another occasion to meet your expectations and to welcome you back. Please let me know beforehand so I can arrange upgraded services and make sure you have a more pleasant stay. If I can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Glenn Gray
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews