We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the verge of being very good once revisions are made.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The entire front (Canal Street) side of the hotel is ripped away and covered with scaffolding and debris shields. You can still get in and out that way, but its not very inviting to do so and the shops which would typically be inside the main entrance were all closed during our stay.
That also means that there was limited elevator service so delays there were common.
You enter via a covered drive on the back (Common Street) side which gets you to the front desk and valet entrance. Glass and Marble is what you expect but right now its no more than Average for something carrying the JW banner. The flavored water was hit or miss empty, the breakfast buffet for the concierge floor was understaffed and food shortages during peak times was persistent.
The staff (Desk and Bar) were very, very good. However, I was able to beat the doorman to the glass doors for my wife and other guests repeatedly. A few times they just held up the wall and did not even move.
The place is a converted office building so the rooms are smaller than expected but well appointed and well kept. My room had that devil inspired motion sensor on the Air Conditioner thermostat. So after a few hours sleep we would wake up hot and have to wave an arm or leg to get the thing to turn back on and cool the room.
The location was perfect, two drugstores nearby, a short walk to the start of Bourbon Street or Harrah's Casino.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear James F,

Thank you for offering your feedback related to your experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are happy to hear that your had an overall positive experience. We apologize that the improvements taking place caused an inconvenience for you. In addition, we apologize for the inconsistencies with several of our service offerings. We will definitely share your feedback with our team so that we fill the gap in the areas that you have identified for improvement. Thank you again for your feedback and we would love to have the opportunity to deliver an all-around flawless experience for you whenever you return to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived in New Orleans with high expectations, the hotel is a good location, however, freezing cold in all communal areas, couldn't sit in bar area, or dining area too cold! Very dark inside, staff average, polite but no genuine warmth, didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay (3 nights) didn't seem very interested. Didn't offer any advice regarding the area, possible attractions etc, would not return to this hotel.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank wholenewworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear wholenewworld,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and constructive feedback with us. We are always looking for new ways to work towards perfecting the art of hosting and input from our guests is incredibly helpful. While we are pleased that you loved our ideal location, we are disappointed to hear that you did not experience the kind of warm hospitality we strive for at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can address it with our team. Should you ever return to New Orleans, we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the kind of five-star experience we strive to provide every guest.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July during Essence Festival. The hotel was very nice, clean, quiet, and in a great location. Our only complaint while staying there was that our refrigerator stopped working on the 2nd or 3rd day and we called twice to have it repaired or replaced and no one ever came. I understand that the hotel was very busy during this time, but it was disappointing that it was never taken care of during our 5-night stay. Other than that, we had no issues & had an amazing time!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MsFoxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear MsFoxxy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on Canal Street for Essence Festival. We are delighted that you found our property so pristine, our location ideal and our atmosphere peaceful. We are sorry to hear about your refrigerator. We pride our team on their exceptional service so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention that it did not get fixed during your stay. Should your travels ever bring you back to New Orleans, we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a perfectly seamless stay.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay! Within walking distance to everything. We had a wonderful stay at the JW! Clean hotel and rooms, very professional and courteous staff. Very timely with room service or other requests such as more towels. All staff was super nice!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for your incredibly generous feedback on our New Orleans luxury hotel. We are thrilled that you loved our central location, spotless property and courteous staff. We love to hear that our team provided you with such efficient service. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Second time in NOLA and decided to stay at the JW Marriott. The hotel staff are so friendly and happy to make suggestions on what to do. Every day in the afternoon, we would visit the bar to see our man, George. He was always smiling and genuinely interested in hearing about our day. If you stay, make sure to say hi to George.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank vakayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear vakayfan,

We are honored that your group chose to stay at our hotel for your second visit to New Orleans. We are thrilled that you loved our friendly staff and their exceptional suggestions for nearby discoveries. Thank you for letting us know about George's truly top-notch service as well. We hope you will consider our hotel in the future for even more adventures in the French Quarter.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,608 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
3,188 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $259 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing