We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
255
171
55
31
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
171
55
31
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french market croissant d'or balcony room rising sun few blocks peeling paint cookie cutter chain hotel bourbon street directly across the street parking garage jackson square perfect location french quarter hotel mardi gras warren charm
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

great location, great staff and parking. what more do you really need in this great city!! looking forward to my next stay. thank you!! i love the balcony and a great little pastry shop across the street.

Room Tip: balcony is a must!!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I live in Baton Rouge, and I'm a frequent traveler to New Orleans. I've probably come to New Orleans hundreds of times, and stayed in at least 40 different hotels in the city. I know all about New Orleans charm and culture and character. All that being said, this hotel just doesn't cut it. I scored a solid deal on a travel site ($71/night) and was given Room 105, a budget queen, which was fine. However, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations and there are paint cans and debris pretty much everywhere. Not to mention a family of pigeons were nesting above one of the A/C units, leading to an ever-growing pile of bird droppings on the walkway to our room... not a very welcoming environment. Let's just call a spade a spade: the room was like an old 70s motel room that has never been renovated or repaired during that time. Dusty, broken fixtures, rust in bathtub. The only and I mean ONLY redeeming factor was the location. If this place were located anywhere else, it would have deplorable reviews. The only reason (I can see) for the favorable reviews is the location. That said, there are plenty of other much better, more modern, and cleaner options, which have just as good of a location. I just can't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ndstrukt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warciv, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

We do apologize for your unfortunate experience at our property. You are right in saying we are going through extensive renovations due to finish at the end of February. During construction the property does not look its best, I'll be the first to admit that. The outside rooms are getting new decking and paint so sadly 105 was one of them. We can always accommodate people if they need to be moved to be more comfortable location. We have 25 rooms, 12 of which are in the main building and 13 in the courtyard. We do not promote our ourselves as an elegant 5 star hotel but a unique family owned hotel that may have a lopsided window or 2 and skeleton in our lobby. We know we are not for everyone and do thank you for giving us a chance and letting us know how we can improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

So for the compromise of staying in a basic hotel room that is clean enough and reminds me of a 1970 motel, we were steps from Jackson Square and enjoyed our breakfasts at the wonderful Croissant d'Or across the street. The hotel has a little courtyard indicative of his French Quarter pedigree, but it is nothing fancy. It is affordable and well located, earning it a Very Good rating. Parking is free, but limited, and located about 6 blocks away in an enclosed garage in the Marigny.

Room Tip: Accessibility could be an issue. Be sure to inquire if that is an issue.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 985lindaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. Close to everything in the French Quarter but far enough away not to be bothered by the Bourbon Street noise. Having said that, I would not recommend a room with a balcony. We had very disturbed sleep due to people talking or yelling as they walked past, garbage trucks in the early hours and vehicles making unnecessary noise during the night. I think if you have a courtyard room, you may not experience this. We had room 203 with a small balcony and no cover above it so absolutely no good for rainy or hot weather. Avoid this room. There were multiple issues with our room: walls were dirty, cracked glass in picture on wall, light bulb blown, for the want of a screw the curtain holder would be in position, carpet needs cleaning and the bed squeaked.
The hotel itself is older and could do with quite a lot of maintenance. The lift is decidedly dodgy and very slow. Our room was large and comfortable however because we stayed in December, it was too cold to take advantage of the balcony of an evening. Hot water in the shower takes a long time to come through. The towels are very thin and the bathroom accessories poor and not presented well.
As most others have commented, the staff are very good. There is all day tea and coffee on offer near reception.
Parking is in their garage which is a good 5 minute walk away. However it is a bonus to have this parking in the French Quarter. There is only parking for 10 vehicles.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is definitely a quirky hotel! A skeleton, Mr Bones, and his equally bony parrot, Buffet, had the prime spot in the small lobby. The elevator was definitely noisy, hand rails definitely wobbly, and staff definitely super! We could not have asked for more pleasant, friendly and helpful people. We had a problem with the shower the first nite there. The knob that switches the water from tub to shower mode didn't work. However, the staff had it fixed for us very quickly. This went a long way to make up for the shabbiness of the facility. The hotel was undergoing renovation the weekend we were there, so that might account for the overall sense of not being clean. Good location and free garage parking were some pluses for the facility. I had to give it a low rating for being over-priced and not very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank uptowngirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews