We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Above else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We booked for three nights at the hotel in the last week of April 2016. WE chose this hotel because it is in the business district but still about five minutes walk from the French Quarter. We have arrived at 10:00 am and to our amazement we did not have to wait at all for our room which was bright and spacious. The staff was extremely nice and the Concierge Roy, was a big help in planing our stay with great tips. My wife has forgot her credit card at the hotel's restaurant. By the time we have found that, we were already flying back but the front desk manager and the chief of security Hugh Harrison were of great help. They did find the card and sent it to us by Fedex. We were speechless.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odedsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Q, Director of Operations at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Dear odedsho,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. I will make sure Roy and Huey receive some extra recognition based on your feedback. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course we have Pete's - on the menu is an award winning gumbo and the best grass fed beef from a local sustainable farm.

Please tell your friends and neighbors about us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Joseph Quilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I had an awful experience at this hotel. There was an initial problem with my reservation which the front desk was quite rude about.
Worse though, they then allocated me to a room that was already occupied by another guest. I went into the room at 11.30pm to find someone else's belongings spread out. I was lucky the other guest wasn't in there. If they had been asleep in bed it would have been quite traumatic for both of us, and potentially very dangerous if they had a gun. I went back to the front desk and they really didn't care much - just gave me another room.
Someone then tried to get into my room at about 6am - I don't know who it was but they had a key. I had the security chain on the door so luckily they could not enter. I was pretty spooked out by this ridiculous hotel and ended up staying somewhere else for the rest of my time in New Orleans.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Brendan122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Q, Director of Operations at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Hello Brendan122,

I am disappointed to see the experience you had. Guest safety is paramount to our operation and this type of service is not typical of what we are accustomed to providing. I would appreciate the opportunity to personally assist you. Please reach out to me at joseph.quilio@icneworleans.com at your earliest convenience.

Joseph Quilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Just spent 11 days in NOLA at the Intercontinental and could not have been happier with the accommodations. The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. Food was delicious and the lobby bar/restaurant had a nice atmosphere. The fruit-infused water at the front desk was delightful. A huge shout out to Jeremy, one of the bell hops!!!! Such a friendly face to see each evening!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Q, Director of Operations at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Dear Jody M,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. I will make sure Jeremy receives some extra recognition based on your feedback. We are glad to have him on our team. It sounds like you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course we have Pete's - on the menu is an award winning gumbo and the best grass fed beef from a local sustainable farm.

Please tell your friends and neighbors about us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Joseph Quilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

This a nice, clean hotel that is well-maintained so it keeps that clean look, If you are staying around a big New Orleans event, plan to wait a bit for early check-in -- you will appreciate the wait because your room will be spotless, fresh, and ready for you,

Room Tip: This is a well-built hotel, so all of the rooms are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveler24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Q, Director of Operations at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear FussyTraveler24x7,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. I will make sure our Housekeeping team receives some extra recognition based on your feedback. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course we have Pete's - on the menu is an award winning gumbo and the best grass fed beef from a local sustainable farm.

Please tell your friends and neighbors about us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Joseph Quilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Oh how I wish I had booked a different hotel.
Check in was ok but very OT by Mark who just did not stop talking and actually telling me nothing about the hotel.
Outside my room door on the floor there were dirty glasses and plates - not a great experience to start.
Room and bathroom ok and good size but rather underwhelming and bed was too firm for my liking.
There is a well stocked mini bar but it is not connected to the electricity and therefore not cold.........who in their right mind in New Orleans wants to drink a warm beer. Why put a mini bar in the rooms unless it is cold...I just don't understand!!! Apparently this is this same for all rooms in the hotel.
Pete's was one of the worst hotel breakfast buffets I have had in a long while.
Ironing board in room was not good, I asked for a new one and they replaced the cover but it was just so wobbly I dropped the iron a few times and was really quite dangerous .......I think you would get better in a travel lodge.
This was my first stay in any Intercontinental Hotel anywhere, so not a good impression for me.
If I am back in NOLA again I will not stay here.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank 10AFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph Q, Director of Operations at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Hello 10AFC,

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had. This is not typical of the service or product we are accustomed to providing. I believe we spoke the evening before your departure in order to act upon your feedback. But I would appreciate the opportunity to assist further if possible. Please reach out to me at joseph.quilio@icneworleans.com. Thank you for your feedback and I will be personally addressing these areas. I look forward to hearing from you.

Joseph Quilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,650 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,703 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,367 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#85 of 166 in New Orleans
2,899 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $180 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city's most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah's New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing