We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasteful housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Roosevelt is a very nice hotel with all amenities anyone could ask for. I was disappointed in the non-concern for the environment though. Housekeeping removed towels, a wash cloth and the floor mat after only one use. They probably changed the sheets but I couldn't tell. While I was out for dinner, they performed the bed turn-down service. This is nice and I like having a bite of chocolate before going to bed, BUT the AC temperature in my room was adjusted too low, my TV was turned on, as well as the lights. There is no need for this. AND, after my morning towel was removed I had hung another one near the shower. This towel was unused but removed by housekeeping in the evening when my bed was turned down. UGH!! Disappointing that the Roosevelt Hotel obviously does not consider the environment when performing their housekeeping practices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclnbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,587 - 3,591 of 3,977 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

My spouse and I recently visited New Orleans for the first time in October 2011. When I made the reservation for The Roosevelt I made a note on the online check-in that it was our first time and we were hoping for a memorable experience and booked a superior room. Upon arrival at the hotel, my spouse and I were given an upgrade to a large suite, which was huge, well-appointed, and well beyond our expectations; it had a double door entry way, marble floors, bar, living room, hallways, bath, and separate bedroom - when I say huge, I am talking one bedroom apartment size suite. Everything you could think of was provided: toothbrushes, loofahs, robes, bottled water, shoe shine rags...more stuff than one could ever use. The downside one might ask? The cleaning staff could have done a better job. The bathroom lights had long, possibly female, hairs trailing off them, the very large sunken tub had smaller, black (pubic?) hairs in it. I brought this to the attention of the front desk before we went our exploring the city, with hopes it would be taken care of while we were out, and we were assured it would be. When we returned to our room much, much later that evening, we were surprised to see a nice hand-written note from the front desk clerk apologizing for the inconvenience and two complimentary hotel breakfast coupons inside as an added bonus which was great. What was not great? The bathroom still had the hair - it never did get cleaned. Had we been staying more than one night, I would have been more apt to have complained again, but as it was, we got a few hours sleep and checked-out the next morning. Would I stay again? Possibly. The hotel, it's character, charm, location and amenities were fabulous. But I'd make sure my room was clean before paying over $450 a night again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layla6202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I spent a long weekend here over Memorial day. Although the hotel overall was very nice, I had an odd incident which made the overall experience less enjoyable. First, one of the pillows on my bed had obviously been previously slept on; it smelled rather strongly. Then, although I wrote a note asking for it to be replaced, it was simply put on top of my bed, with no replacement. The next pillow I got had what appeared to be a rather obvious and moderately large bloodstain. Again, I wrote a note asking for replacement - to be ignored. These things weren't so bad in and of themselves. What *was* really bad was that I wrote two (actual paper!) letters to Hilton headquarters in Maryland explaining the incident - both of which were completely ignored. I found that both odd and in poor taste. Hence this review.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I had a lovely weekend at this hotel. I loved the peace and quiet offered at this property. I also enjoyed that the location is so close to the hustle and bustle of the busy downtown area and public transportation. The staff was very accommodating. My only regret was that the room only had a shower and didn't have a bathtub. The bed was by far one of the most comfortable ever & the blackout curtains the best! I was traveling with a large group of family and friends and did not hear a single complaint from anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RI_Jehanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great place to stay!! Very elegant hotel. Great food, service, and staff!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhoffman821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,704 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,926 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,368 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,650 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $248 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing