We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't really fault it! Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't really fault it! Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed during and after Mardi Gras and it turned out to be pretty much perfect. Great location on Dauphine Street which is very central, a short walk to Bourbon Street and the rest of the French quarter but it is a quiet street so no noise. The reception staff are very friendly and was impressed by free wifi (for 1 week), pc and printer available and water provided in your room each day. The room was spacious - we were 2 friends so had 2 double beds which were comfortable. Breakfast is a help yourself affair but lots of choice and sets you up for the day.Would definitely recommend this hotel. I would rate it personally as 4 star.

Room Tip: our room was fine but looked out onto a wall so you may want to try and request a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurajaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    1,033
    267
    104
    51
See reviews for
516
1,243
79
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

DISCLAIMER; Stayed at the hotel 2/17 to 2/23 for Mardi Gras 2012 so was not expecting quiet. First, if you have never been, Do It! Second, if you need a place to stay, I recommend Dauphine Orleans. It is close enough to Boubon St. (1 block) and close enough to Canal St (4 blocks) and very safe, well lit street. Third, the front desk staff, Cynthia and Roderick, under the management of Aisha Adams (former VA girl!) were Outstanding!! Can't say enough about them. They were informative, pleasant and somehow always knew our names when we walked in the door. The one time we asked for additional towels, the response was courteous and extremely quick. Upon check-in our room wasn't quite ready so we were provided additional free drink coupons. We left our cell phone number and went to get something to eat; when the room was ready they gave us a call. I didn't care for the wristbands (not sure of the purpose). Our room was across the street with a view of the courtyard, very quiet and had a nice sitting area and water fountain feature, well manicured. Area had a southern charm with wooden shutters on the doors and windows but provided enough darkness for sleeping. Large room with king size bed, desk, dresser drawers, night stands, exposed brick walls and wooden beam ceiling. Also had a safe and refrigerator along with a jacuzzi bath, central air/heat. Considering the amount of time we spent in the room, it was perfect. Continental breakfast was provided with the waffle maker, juices, breads/muffins, coffee, fresh fruit, breakfast meat. They only offered boiled eggs. If you want something more, go to Krystals at Bourbon and Canal streets. Mae Bailey's bar is attached to the hotel, convenient but drinks were slightly pricey. Didn't use the pool. Night before leaving we requested a cab to the airport at a specific time, They ensured the cab was there on the dot! Next personal trip to New Orleans, I will definitely stay here! Hope you do as well,

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have nice view and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The website of the Dauphine Orleans makes it look like a luxury accommodation. To see it in person, it is a bit more modest, very down to earth. The room (2 beds) was not huge, but it had a nice balcony overlooking Dauphine St. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There is a computer for guest's use in the lobby.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Like so many buildings in the French Quarter, this one has a private courtyard only accessible to guests. There is a nice little pool (my January visit was surprisingly chilly so I did not swim), and also off the courtyard is the coffee room,w hich is used for their delicious, free breakfasts. Tablecloths, lots of cooked warm choices, good coffee and plenty of fruit juice.
The coffee room is one end of an elbow-shaped area in which the other end is the bar. Also very personal and cosy, with free chips offered with a drink. Off the entrance ist he hotel library, with lots of reading material which you are free to take with you if you wish.

The location is a perfect walking distance from all points in the French Quarter, the waterfront, and even the Marigny neighborhood (where the local musicians do their gigs on Frenchmen St.)

I would have gone for more "local color" in a hotel, but I feared bedbugs. This hotel was the perfect solution.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked a room at the Dauphine last-minute through Hotel Tonight. The check-in was quick and easy...the only think I didn't like was the red wristbands they made us wear...kinda messes with the look of your outfit.

When we got to the room, I was amazed at how HUGE it was. There was a sofa, a fireplace, and a massive garden tub. The latch to the bathroom didn't work well and the curtains were see-through which made getting dressed a bit interesting, but it wasn't a big deal bc I was with friends.

The parking was about $10 more than normal for New Orleans. We were charged $35 for our Chevy Tahoe, and most hotels charge $20-25 for regular cars, and $25-30 for big vehicles like the Tahoe.

This is minor, but the bath products were good quality. The soap didn't dry out my hands like most hotel soaps.

Overall, the room was spacious and beautiful, and I would definitely stay here again. It's a great location for Mardi Gras if you want to be near the action, but want to still be able to get some sleep amid all the partying. It was a quick walk to Bourbon for bars and restaurants, and Canal for the parades.

Room Tip: Ask for room 108, 109, or 110. They are on the first floor, but around the corner so there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I thought this property was located close enough to the action but was not noisey during the late night hours. The pool area was small but nice and the rooms were nicely updated and well kept.

Room Tip: Rooms on the balcony side are louder.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wheretonxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,905 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $191 - $519
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing