We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good candy choices. Staff was friendly”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #5 of 68 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 205
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Sometimes having several kids we go barreling into candy stores or toy stores. I know that people without children can be annoyed by the "enthusiasm" of children. The staff here was very nice and helpful while we made our candy selections. Nice stop if you like air conditioning also.

Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

We're glad our staff took care of you and that you and the enthusiastic kiddies enjoyed being in our air conditioned store! Thank you for your review Bryan. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

TONS and TONS of Pralines in New Orleans, but this is one of the best. Be sure you stop in and buy a few....or just grab all the free samples you can. :)

    • Value
Thank ajbrannon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for your review and enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines and generous samples! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Being from Georgia, I have had lots of pralines before, but never peanut butter, sweet potato, or rum, which are made at Southern Candymakers. They were all delicious and the service was friendly!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

We're delighted our friendly staff took care of you and that you enjoyed your peanut butter, sweet potato and rum pralines! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Great service in addition to the best candy I've ever tasted. No one leaves without a treat! Great staff!

Thank Karla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

We're glad our great staff took care of you and that you enjoyed your candy! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We spend a lot of money here at this location every year. We all love their candy and the people are very nice. Always speak....not to mention how great the place smells. Have to stop here for my sugar fix!!!

Thank SLM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

We're pleased our fresh and flavorful candy, along with our friendly staff, continues to make it onto your return to New Orleans visit list! Thank you for your generous review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing