We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YIKES......Above Ground Cemetary”

Lafayette Cemetery No.1
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 25.00*
and up
Garden District and Cemetery Walking Tour
Ranked #27 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The burial site for many of the people who lived in the mansions of the surrounding Garden District.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YIKES......Above Ground Cemetary”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Being from the northeast this was quite an experience. Make sure you get a tour guide and get the 411 on the cemetaries in Nawlins. We also toured the parishes that got whacked by Katrina........definitely worth the time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bobbbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    699
    220
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Good Time”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ernest our guide was awesome. Best info and history for us. Very enjoyable. We love you Ernie!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonPatti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I went into the Cenemtery with City Line tours and it was really interesting and beautiful. They tell people not to go in without a tour or group because sometimes it's a place to get robbed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Journey1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the tour”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Took the trolley to the cemetary district....this is not just a tourist trolley this is the public trasnportation. I was glad my husband decided to go with me on this exursion, we did not get out of trolley just went back to hotel. If you want to see cemetaries pay the money and go with a touring company!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Tradition”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We saw many detailed mausoleums. Traditions included a one-year term unless vases and flowers were displayed within the year. A detailed history of activity is kept.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonydel219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lafayette Cemetery No.1 also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Cemetery No.1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing