We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Don't miss this amazing museum.”

The National WWII Museum
Ranked #1 of 320 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The National WWII Museum is the top-rated tourist destination in New Orleans, TripAdvisor's #2 museum in the world and #2 in the U.S., and an unforgettable way to experience World War II—from industrial efforts on the home front to the combat experience of the American servicemember abroad. Offering a compelling blend of sweeping narrative and poignant personal detail, the Museum features immersive exhibits, multimedia experiences, and an expansive collection of artifacts and first-person oral histories to take visitors inside the story of the war: why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today. Beyond the galleries, the Museum offers unique access to experiential history, including an opportunity to tour and ride on an authentically restored PT-boat, tours behind the scenes to handle artifacts alongside Museum curators, and an impressive collection of restored and working macro-artifacts to discover. Open early through 1/2/18, 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. nationalww2museum.org
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I was interested when I saw this museum was ranked #2 in the WORLD and wondered how it could live up to that. This museum is wonderful. It provides context for both the European and Japanese arms of WWII and America's involvement in it. Don't miss the movie directed and produced by Tom Hanks. Plan to spend time on the both European and the Japanese floors. I actually found the Japanese floor less crowded and more interesting.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tom hanks"
in 1,208 reviews
"greatest generation"
in 625 reviews
"final mission"
in 555 reviews
"submarine experience"
in 505 reviews
"road to tokyo"
in 405 reviews
"d movie"
in 369 reviews
"uss tang"
in 327 reviews
"pacific theater"
in 322 reviews
"dog tags"
in 304 reviews
"soda shop"
in 278 reviews
"american sector"
in 262 reviews
"men and women"
in 425 reviews
"plan on spending"
in 250 reviews
"history buff"
in 746 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 322 reviews
"personal stories"
in 527 reviews
"on display"
in 329 reviews
Filter

2,386 - 2,390 of 25,212 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing museum packed with so much information. Need two days to see it all! Definitely a must see in NOLA.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kfalkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Wonderful exhibition. Video, photos, stories are very interesting and informative. It was crowded but we got to see everything in a few hours. Buy tickets for the movie early as it was sold out once we tried to purchase them

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank slhjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This really is a must do if you're in NOLA. Great interactive exhibits, video, commentary, the option to follow the life of different service people, amazing. Although the movie with Tom Hanks commentary is an additional cost, I would certainly recommend that too. This place is great for young and old alike, and I was pleased to see they are expanding.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 463guyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I struggle to rate this... this is an amazing concept, and an amazing buildings with wonderful exhibits, but it was SO busy, we left because we couldn't see or enjoy anything. We saw one movie (extra charge) which was great to orient people to WWII if they were not familiar.

The sheer volume of guests meant that we couldn't get close to or read many of the exhibits and the flow of guests through the museum is not controlled in any way. While there is a tremendous volume of meaningful and helpful information, for us, there wasn't a lot of new information historically.

The train concept at the beginning was a good concept but didn't provide any information. The idea of following one person was great, but we couldn't do this because of crowds.

I think that timed entry or some other re-engineering is needed to make sure that the $33 paid for each adult admission with movie, really provides value.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank vancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing