We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
154
132
53
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
132
53
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs horseback riding great place rooms are basic natural setting spa services sports bar surrounded by nature both nights customer service is wet bar love this place nice buffet bring a flashlight restaurant offers pools massage
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Termales del Bosque is an authentic family-run lodge that offers spectacular and beautiful natural hot springs in a rainforest environment. It is much nicer and much quiet than the hot springs in La Fortuna, and the hotel is also much cheaper. Tamales del Bosque still is a farm in many ways, with horses and cattle. It is very peaceful and the staff is very nice. Perfect for families, friends or a romantic retreat with your loved one.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ochassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Olivier,
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important to our constant change and improvement.

It is a pleasure to have your visit
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The hotel was a recommendation by the owner of the Catarata del Toro (also recommenable). The rooms are OK, but the hot springs are very beautiful and relaxing. We booked a package including dinner and breakfast, both meals were good. The next morning we booked horseback riding, a nice 1 hour trip through the backland.

The girls on the reception were very friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Karsten,
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important to our constant change and improvement.

It is a pleasure to have your visit
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Let me start with all the positive aspects of this hotel: the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was of good quality (better than some of the meals with had at more upscale accommodations in Costa Rica), and the rooms are air-conditioned and clean. We had a problem with our air conditioner and a staff member immediately came to reset the remote and promptly brought extra pillows when asked. The bartender of the tiny "Sports Bar" is incredibly sweet, and though he didn't speak English, he did his best with our limited Spanish.

The main problems with the hotel are that it really is just one step up from camping. There are the insects that seem to crawl in through every crack and crevice--we saw a variety of roaches, ants, mosquitoes, stick-bugs, spiders, etc. in our beds, on the floor, and in the shower. This hotel is the place to stay if you are a budding entomologist! The rooms open out directly into the wilderness and the maid often left all our windows open. As there are no screens, I believe the open windows contributed to the insect problem, but it was necessary in order to air out the room. I say necessary because of the constant and overwhelming stench from the septic tank, which must be directly under the floor of the bathroom. The furniture is basic and dated, and the linens (while clean) were blood-stained and a big ragged. You can easily hear conversations at moderate volumes from the surrounding rooms and there is no insulation from the outside, so people walking around outside often woke us up at night.

We didn't use the hot springs, but we heard that there is a shuttle that transports you there if you ask.

Free wifi is very slow, but it generally worked.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemons12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear ,
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important to our constant change and improvement.

It is a pleasure to have your visit
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Despite being just off a busy highway, Termales del Bosque was a very quiet respite. The rooms are basic but more than adequate and very clean. The grounds are lovely and we constantly saw gardeners working very hard to keep them that way. The restaurant was very pleasant with the friendliest staff and good food at breakfast (included with room) and dinner. We did not eat lunch. The hot springs are relaxing and somewhat primitive . . . nothing fancy, just pools of hot water along the stream. There are nice change rooms, bathrooms, and a walk-up bar with drinks. Try the pina juice! We completely enjoyed our stay at Termales del Bosque.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear ,
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important to our constant change and improvement.

It is a pleasure to have your visit
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

AAA Tours booked the hot springs. We didn't stay at the hotel. If you want large crowds and tons of people, go to the other hot springs on the way to La Fortuna. This place is quiet and surrounded by nature. We went late afternoon and there were only 8 people including us. Hubby and I sat in the hottest spring 42*C and it reminded me of my hot tub at home. You can hear birds all around. The place is clean and easy to walk to, lighted path to the springs. It was a great way to relax after white water rafting.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Mrs Liza,
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important to our constant change and improvement.

It is a pleasure to have your visit
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews