We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Sunset Views

I walked along the lake wall, where it was bustling with cyclists, walkers, and fishermen. Then I... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2018
Greenmemonica
,
Cincinnati, Ohio
Great Place to Run!

The Monona shoreline is one of my favorite places to run! It's fairly flat and has beautiful... read more

Reviewed 14 May 2018
Kari A
,
DeForest, Wisconsin
Read all 56 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Madison
from USD 20.00
More Info
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
35
13
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
13
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful scenery favorite places capitol building bike path cyclists fishing jogging parks stroll nature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I walked along the lake wall, where it was bustling with cyclists, walkers, and fishermen. Then I took the elevator to the top floor where I saw even more beautiful views. There is a fountain up there, and the state capitol building can be seen in the distance. So pretty!

Thank Greenmemonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The Monona shoreline is one of my favorite places to run! It's fairly flat and has beautiful scenery! Well maintained trail.

Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The walk around the lake was cold but beautiful!! We had a snow storm and still managed to take a look!!

Thank batman71362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Madison is a pleasant and peaceful city... Lake front offers beautiful view of the Capitol building... Best place for evening walk and sunset view... Here you get in equilibrium with nature.. Suggested for nature lovers.

Thank Krupabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We come to Madison for two things, excercising outdoors and food. The area has so much going for it for outdoor enthusiasts, like ourselves, with parks and trails everywhere. Bicycling is our favorite outdoor sport and they have it down in spades ! There are miles and miles of bike paths both on and off street. And the area is fairly flat so you don't need to be worried about your ability to get around on a bike. And, when you are done, you can find just about any kind of food to fuel your recovery, you name it, it is here somewhere, and MOST of it is EXCELLENT.

Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Run / Walk / Stroll / Bike here and you will not be disappointed! With a lovely view of the lake and an extended path (away from traffic) this is one of my madison favorites.

Thank teamtvtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I've walked many shared bike/walking/jogging paths and usually have good luck with bicyclists who will give right of way to pedestrians. But on an early Sunday morning walk I was nearly struck two different times by impatient bicyclists who wanted to get around other riders or someone fishing off a bridge. Maybe I was just unlucky, but please beware if you are walking on this path. It is a beautiful path, however, with splendid views of the lake and the city.

Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Great view. Nice to hang out and be by the water! Good picnic views and family time! Had a blast here.

Thank kesjost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Long path where you can run/walk/bike past Monona terrace, the lake, and even can end up by Olin park for more exploration. If you end up by olin park and head back into madison, you can see the entire capitol and skyline in front of the lake, this is my favorite view of madison at night! There are a few benches and trees to take a break by and look at the beautiful lake. Would definitely recommend for a calm stroll past the lake.

Thank ciecrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This shoreline trail is very popular for locals bikers but may not be so for out of town travelers. The trail has lanes designated for walkers and bikers. This trail is built to go around the calmer and smaller Lake Manona. Exercisers can walk, jog, or bike around and stop to view the bar from the Terrace. At Law Park parking, the trail goes up on the street in front of Machinery row. To get to the trail from the Capitol building, visitors must walk toward the Manona Terrace and get down on the trail by elevator or stairs. Come and enjoy the Lake.

Thank Prawet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews