We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HIExpress.com
USD 82
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 93
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
USD 69
View deal
Booking.comUSD 93
PricelineUSD 93
Hotels.comUSD 93
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
740
324
64
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
740
324
64
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds kids suite front desk mesa verde hi express cinnamon rolls nice hotel room was clean parking lot national park indoor pool great place to stay free breakfast checking in hot tub road trip yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We stayed here for one night recently. The lobby is spacious and clean. The architecture of the building is somewhat unusual, with a central round lobby, similar to a kiva, and wings to the guest rooms off of the lobby. Our room was clean and comfortable, although a bit dated. A good value.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joancL1112BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020

We chose this hotel, like all of our hotels on this road trip, exclusively for it's stated COVID-19 precautions, and we weren't disappointed.

Breakfast was a highlight--doing hot breakfast safely is not easy, but they figured it out. Most places I stayed at were doing pre-made bagged breakfast, if anything at all, but here you were able to still get the hot items you've come to expect, just gathered by pointing rather than buffet-style (they'll bag it all up for you, whatever you want). We also felt that public areas were clean and maintained that way, with plenty of corporate signage about social-distancing. My biggest complaint : of the 3 front-desk staff i spoke with, two weren't wearing masks at all (but there was a plexiglass divider, so it was their health I worried about, not my own). The room seemed to be clean and I was as comfortable as I could be in a hotel (though we avoided all public places, like the pool, so can't speak to those areas). We did request a room that had been vacant multiple-days (if possible), and they were great about accommodating us.

Beyond seemingly-great precautions and service a few other notes : plenty of parking, easy-to-find off the main road. A bit out-dated but well-maintained, and kind front-desk staff.

If you're looking for a convenient and clean stop in Cortez, I'm definitely comfortable recommending the Holiday Inn Express.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

The Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez is an older Holiday Inn Express that needs a significant updating.

While I really liked the non-cookie cutter decor -- there are some lovely tiles, details in the carpeting and other things -- that incorporate local colors, motifs and the like, the overall condition of the hotel and guest rooms is tired and outdated by a good 5 years. Specifically:

1) TV was at least 8-9 years old. That's just old. It was smaller than what you get in new or newly renovated hotels today. It also did not have smart TV capability. And the lack of a printed channel list made finding channels difficult.

2) Not enough electrical outlets for devices. No USB outlets.

3) Lighting in guest room was really bad.

4) The hideous bathroom with the cheap looking floor tiles doesn't match the entryway, which has attractive locally inspired tiles with a motif. The combination shower-tub is also old and outdated. It looked like something out of the 1980s.

5) Guest room doors slam closed and make lots of noise. A simple device would slow the door's closure and reduce the noise.

Some fresh paint, brighter hallways, brighter guest room lighting, updated bathrooms and new TVs would go a long, long ways.

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelbefore20wasfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020


Hello travelnonstop247,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad you approve of our property's aesthetics. On the other hand, you find the room amenities in need of updating from the TV, bathroom and having USB ports. Not to worry. our team has been looped of your review and I'm confident that further improvements will be made.

We hope you consider us again as a pit-stop for your travel in case you're back in the area!

Best,

Ronald R.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel! Clean, comfortable beds, linens, pillows, shower. Friendly staff. Zachery at checkin was thorough but quick and pleasant. Extra kudos for a great job serving breakfast during the pandemic! Staff there was also excellent!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nancyhK1278IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin Vasterling, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2020

NancyhL1278IH! Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Breakfast has went downhill at most places since COVID started, but the grab n go breakfast here was great. Holiday Inn seemed a little older than others I have stayed at, but it was in good shape. Overall, a good choice when in the area.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrperkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews