We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
34
19
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
19
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake lake gregory dark wood bed was very comfortable attic room sri lanka recommend this hotel nice view balcony tv convenience tea colombo character nuwara
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

A small hotels with 8 rooms, but it is a nice, clean place with very nice furniture, it location on the hills, from the room you can see the lake...
The manager and staff are very nice, breakfast was simple but good enough

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank gela0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Tea Plant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tea Plant

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tea Plant and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Tea Plant, we are committed to delight our guest.

We must emphasis that we enjoying serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.

Best Regards,

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We spent one night on our recent trip to Sri Lanka. The property is a 10 minute drive from the heart of Nuwara Eliya, but is located in a quiet area next to the lake - calm from the city. We found the property to be very clean and well-maintained. Upon entering you are greeted by an expansive room with large windows and several seating areas for you to enjoy. From this area you can go down to the restaurant or up to a grassy patio area as well as some of the rooms.

Our room was located upstairs and was called an "attic room." The stairs leading to it were quite steep and I did not see an elevator. The staff carried our bags up so not a big deal. However, we watched our step on the stairs to avoid slipping. The room was comfortable with the usual TV, coffee/tea facilities, etc. The bed was very comfortable.

We found the room a bit dark with only one smallish window and dark wood everywhere. The lighting in the room was not great. We had every light on in the evening and it still felt dark. This would be the one major criticism of the room. That said, the room was charming and had a view of the lake and surrounding hills. No AC, but it is not needed. We did not see any of the other rooms so cannot comment on them.

We had breakfast in the hotel in the morning for an additional USD20 each. We found this to be very expensive and not really worth it. The food was OK, but an outside restaurant might be a better choice. We paid the $20 for the convenience of not looking for a restaurant as our driver was limited on his knowledge in the area.

The staff was extremely friendly and we enjoyed talking with them. They were always willing to assist - which was really appreciated with our luggage and steep stairs!

We would stay again if in the area, but would hope that they try to enhance the lighting in the room (or paint it a lighter color) and re-evaluate the price for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rammjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Tea Plant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tea Plant

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tea Plant and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Tea Plant, we are committed to delight our guest.

We must emphasis that we enjoying serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.

Best Regards,

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

So we were unsure about stopping in Nuwara Eliya but given the fact we wanted to do a tea plantation and catch the train the next day to Ella it made sense to stay one night.

I have to say Nuwara Eliya itself is not worth a look. Way over sold with only a handful of colonial buildings which if you’re British add no charm to this otherwise grubby uneventful town sadly. I feel bad writing that but there is nothing here.

There are a lot of hotels but not that many that look good or review well. So we opted for Tea Plant based on the website, pictures and reviews but were not exactly sure what to expect.

The building is imposing and new, overlooking Graham Lake. As we arrived the sun was setting and the manager warmly greeted us with drinks and a warm towel (instead of cold - given the temp drops about 10-15° compared to Colombo!)

There are outdoor spaces to eat and drink but no pool. The rooms are huge with super high ceilings and chandeliers it no AC as it’s not needed at night. Just open the windows for the cool breeze off the lake.

The rooms are ok. Nothing luxurious and nothing wrong. Just needs a bit of an update everywhere. The views are fabulous as we overlooked the lake in the ‘fairytale’ room.

The menu was good and the food was good. There are too many weird combinations going in for an English pallet though. Breadcrumbed mozzarella with tomatoes but with a sickly sweet dressing all over. Lamb chops with a slice of pineapple!?

The staff are super friendly and attentive. They didn’t have spirits or cocktails but they do have wine and beer.

Breakfast was good - huge bowl of fruit, Bircher muesli and cooked breakfast.

The communal areas in this place are huge. Like MASSIVE and as a result quite cold and lacking in any character which is a shame. Some art, plants or strategic lighting and just a bit of life needs to be added. It’s very echoey and you feel you’re not having a private conversation. We asked what time everyone else was eating and were told 7.30pm so we opted for 8pm only to discover we were literally the only guests. I think that’s the problem - it was empty. We didn’t feel awkward or odd. It it just lacked in atmosphere which was a shame. The manager was lovely and chatty so no issues with anything.

We’re told July and November / December are super busy plus late April is mad crazy with locals but to be honest this was a fine stopover and perfectly located to get the train the next day to Ella.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Tea Plant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tea Plant

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tea Plant and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Tea Plant, we are committed to delight our guest.

We must emphasis that we enjoying serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.

Best Regards,

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We really didn’t appreciate this place enough. It was the first place we arrived/stayed after a long flight and drive, so we ate in the hotel restaurant, which we don’t normally do. Having travelled around a bit now we realise this was probably our best meal in Sri Lanka. We went with whatever the chef recommended and weren’t disappointed (rice and curry / chicken satay fried rice). The rooms were great - really spacious with good views over the tea plants and the lake, and are really cosy (big glass windows and dark wood). The
Manager and Staff were also the best and most welcoming we came across in all of Sri Linka. Can’t recommend enough

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tarquin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Tea Plant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tea Plant We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tea Plant and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Tea Plant, we are committed to delight our guest.

We must emphasis that we enjoying serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.

Best Regards,

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The Tea Plant luxury hotel is aptly named, our room overlooked a tea plantation. A wooden beamed spacious room, with a powerful shower. On arrival we were welcomed by the hotel manager an experience that made you feel as if you were entering a home as an honored guest rather than a hotel, the welcome ginger biscuits and tea were very well received and delicious. Our room was on the first floor of this open planned designed hotel, which creates a light and airy ambience with views over Gregory lake and ponies at rest. Delightful. After a quite and restful sleep, we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast. A walk into town took us along clean country roads and deep blue skies. Nuwara can be described as a place of rolling hills and waterfalls. Its best to arrange transport in advance for all journeys from the Tea Plant, its secluded and quiet location away from traffic means that passing local transport such as Tuk Tuks are a limited option. Overall a destination that I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellady594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Tea Plant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tea Plant

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tea Plant and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay

At Tea Plant, we are committed to delight our guest. We must emphasis that we enjoying serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.


Best Regards,
Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews