We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding!”
other travellers have booked this property
Senani Bungalow Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Lounge
Fireplace
Lounge
Dining Hall
Dinning Hall
Room 1
Room 2
Room 2
Bathroom 2
Family Room 3
Room 4
Breakfast Room
Putting Green
Putting Green
Lavender Field
Strawberry field
Alstroemerias
Part Of Herbal Garden
Fuchsias
Night Time At Senani
New Rose Garden Terrace
Herbal Garden
Gazebo
Gazebo
BBQ In Progress
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
CarstenAn...
Ahangama, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Dear Senani team,
Thank you so much for looking after us so well. We enjoyed the colonial style of the bungalow, a veritable time warp!
The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the open fire a treat after the heat of Galle.
The food was outstanding. We enjoyed our chats with Marcus and found him to be most helpful with all our queries.
Hopefully next time we will be luckier with the weather.
Many thanks again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durwin201...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Senani Colonial was one of the better places we stayed in Sri Lanka. We loved the ambiance and the incredible friendliness of the staff. The Sri Lankan breakfast and dinner were highlights of our experience - not just authentic Sri Lankan food but exceptional and great value. Ask for the deviled chicken curry. The rooms were all quite large and had very nice ensuite bathrooms. The property is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous. Ask Marcus for suggestions for sight-seeing - he was most helpful in every way. Great times - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic and comfortable colonial feel of the home.
Liked least: The weather on our last day. :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most amazing vacation home, ever!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Dear Senani team, We spent the most lovely holiday in Nuwara Eliya thanks to Senani Bungalow. The home pristine thanks to the wonderful caretaker, Marcus, and the meals divine thanks to the amazing cook, Prema. We traveled from Abu Dhabi to Sri Lanka and spent our favorite family vacation in Nuwara Eliya at Senani Bungalow. The owners Dusica and Wolfgang extremely responsive and helpful in our trip planning and we greatly enjoyed meeting Woflgang on the last day of our trip. Our only regret was that we only stayed at Senani Bungalow for 3 nights. Our children greatly enjoyed the home, gardens, and welcoming staff. There are so many beautiful things to see in Nuwara Eliya including tea plantations, mountains and waterfalls, Ambewela Farm, Horton Plains, Victoria Park, Botanical Gardens, etc. and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in this beautiful place! Senani Bungalow is a very special home and estate and we can't wait to come back. In the meantime, we are telling all of our friends, neighbors and colleagues about Senani Bungalow in Nuwara Eliya as it was the most amazing vacation destination! Thank you again Dusica, Wolfgang, Marcus, Prema and Sama. Warmest regards, Rob, Stacy, Caroline and Patrick Shier currently living in Abu Dhabi, UAE and from USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home so clean, food delicious and gardens so beautiful!
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven - absolutely perfect place to spend a holiday!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Dear Senani Bungalow team, We can't thank you enough for an absolutely lovely stay! The home so lovely and clean, the meals absolutely delicious and our children so happily entertained in your beautiful gardens. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer than 3 days at your home. Thank you for all of the tips regarding places to explore in Nuwara Eliya, such an amazing area! We will highly recommend your holiday home to friends, neighbors and colleagues. We enjoyed every moment, thank you again for all you did to make our stay so memorable and enjoyable. We hope to see all of you again soon, until then, wishing you all the best!! Warm regards, Rob, Stacy, Caroline & Patrick Shier (currently living in Abu Dhabi, UAE, from USA)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home kept so clean and meals absolutely delicious!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariyengar
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Senani Bungalow for 3 nights and 4 days and our stay was made both memorable and very enjoyable at the time. The process of booking the bungalow was easy and the Senani team answered all of our questions even before we got there like getting a phone, taxi etc. The bungalow itself is very strategically located overlooking the hills of this beautiful little town offering very scenic views. The small little golf course is a really fun add on. While we stayed at the bungalow, our caretakers were absolutely phenomenal with their services. They ensured that we had our fill of the each meal. Each meal was prepared by Prema with such love and care. There was such variety offered, it left us pleasantly satiated after every meal. I guess all of us can never forget the on demand and the variety of different tea served to us while we were there. The lavender and chamomile was handpicked from the garden and served to us every night with a lovely fire in the sitting room. Overall the hospitality offered to us by the whole team was very memorable and commendable. We look forward to our next trip to Sri Lanka soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, firewall, mini golf place, herb garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing