We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nicest place I've stayed in at Nuwara Eliya”
other travellers have booked this property
Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main House
garden Main House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Main House
garden
Main House
Downstairs Family bedroom
View form balcony
Bedroom
Sitting room
Upstairs sitting area
Pantry
Family Room
Entrance
Bedroom
View from Balcony
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peefster
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nicest place I've stayed in at Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

As the other reviews mentioned this house is in the middle of town down a small road next to a wine store. There are two gates but the outer one is constantly being used as a toilet by the people who visit the wine store. A bit disconcerting when you open the gate to be met by a guy peeing. Apart from that the house was fantastic. Very nice and clean with a great lawn which my little boy enjoyed tremendously. The views of the golf course were also nice to wake up to. All the rooms were very clean and had attached bathrooms. Hot water wasn't an issue until the last day when it ran out mid shower!
The caretakers were also great, although the cook Mary can get a bit aggressive in the way she communicates :-)
You don't get any ingredients in the house including sugar and oil so my advice would be to call ahead and clearly mention the menu and request them to buy the necessary provisions. I would recommend this as their cooking was delicious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, View, Quiet
Liked least: The entrance driveway. Lack of basic provisions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for the comments and glad you enjoyed the house. The wine store which is on a municipal road is a concern and I have for this reason put another gate away from the house entrance gate on the road. The occasional peeing is a habit which is very common in Nuwaraeliya Eliya as there are wine bars every corner and although has improved considerably will be difficult to stop even if there is no wine bar.
Mary is as excellent cook and very polite to guests but talks aggressively to other staff if work is not up to standard. I do apologise if this has offended you in anyway. Our effort to improve the place is an ongoing thing and all comments are greatly appreciated.
Jenny&Raj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael d
Teton Village, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

At the end of a strange lane in the center of the town we discovered a hidden gem. A light airy Villa of 4 bedrooms (each with own e/s) with views over the famous Golf Course.The 2 housekeepers made our stay a pleasure.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abberwock...
Arlington, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about the house except the alley we had to drive down to get there. The house and yard are beautiful. The staff are friendly, the house is clean, and the furnishings are nice. The only thing we didn't like was the alley with the liquor store we had to drive down to get to the house. There were often people out drinking (or urinating) in the alley. This is in no way the fault of the house owner, but it was still a little disturbing for our children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The yard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Hi Ryan,
Thanks. As far as the approach lane I am trying to do the road and improve it myself although the local Municipality is responsible. Will try any build up the road and put an additional gate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing