We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
31
32
22
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
32
22
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin style horton plains thin walls main building charming hotel comfortable beds grand hotel cold weather hot water family room pool table other hotels pleasant stay place to stay indian restaurant on arrival recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

A nice little hotel situated a short walk to the town centre, Victoria park, the Grand Hotel and the food court. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

The breakfast wasn't great, but decent enough to get through and the waiter made us fresh tea and coffee as the pots had gone cold. The omelettes were lovely, so go with those.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

A calm and quite place where you can have a relax time in Nuwaraeliya . A great location easy access to town. The rooms are cozy and clean. Askar and Staffs are very helpful and friendly. Foods should be improved.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shifansadeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

The ambiance of the hotel was pretty cosy and snug. we stayed in the family suite, so it was a double story room. Bathrooms and showers were clean with all amenities provided.

HOWEVER, breakfast was TERRIBLE. the food was extremely stale and cold. Bread was moldy and cold. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, so we felt the standard to be unacceptable. Ordered dinner another night and that was very cold and tasteless as well.

Overall, decent service, however our previous hotel stays in sigiriya and Kandy has FAR better service standards, so it’s definitely not the best and worth the heavy price.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank AkshitaR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Our experience of the Queenswood Cottage was amazing. From the moment we got there the staff were very attentive and catered for all our needs.

I’d mentioned we were on our honeymoon on their website and they upgraded us to a better room with a balcony over looking the race course.

The room itself was great. A really good bed (even though it was high), a great bathroom with a great shower, loads of TV channels to watch and so many different lights to create any ambience you wished.

After we arrived back from dinner that night one of the staff noticed we had came back and handed us a hot water bottle each as the weather was slightly chilly. I lovely touch.

Finally check out was 11am but as we were coming back from Horton Plain National Park later than expected we asked if we could check out later so we could get a shower and they were fine with that.

Overall an amazing place and from our trip so far the best hotel we have stayed at.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank p4m4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashan t, Owner at The Queenswood Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

thank you very much for share your real experience at queenswood cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

My family and I arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were allotted two rooms i.e Room 300 & 301. Having extensively around the world, I should have picked up the warning signs upon checkin. The staff were poorly attired and the reception was dark and dingy with dim lighting. Unlike the image portrayed on the website, the hotel is not a hillside resort but located along a main road. The showers in both our rooms did not work and the main door of Room 301 did not shut properly. The beds and pillows were lumpy and the bed uncomfortable. The breakfast was disappointing and being in the open, the cut fruits were covered with flies.

Anybody could see the staff were poorly trained and lacked any sense of hospitality. As we were boarding a train the next day, we were advised to purchase food from the supermarket the previous evening. We bought food and gave it to the restaurant manager to store it overnight in the refrigerator. When we went to collect the food the next morning the food was missing.

The staff were nonchalant and made a half hearted attempt to find the food till we insisted on checking the refrigerator ourselves. The staff were right for once - the food was missing and nobody seemed to have a clue where the food had disappeared.

We had a wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka barring our stay in this hotel which a horrible experience overall.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Himmat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews