We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,464)
Filter reviews
1,464 results
Traveller rating
907
360
105
44
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
360
105
44
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar steak restaurant sri lanka tuk tuk kids pool entertainment team all inclusive package main restaurant sea view every other day specialist restaurants tui rep junior suite a la carte restaurants evening entertainment plenty of sunbeds aqua aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 1,464 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Best hotel in Sri Lanka for us out of the six we stayed in over 3 weeks. Thanks. Good food and brilliant pools for the kids with staff that cared. Good location with great views over the sea. This place is up to the international standards but not cheap.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank PatS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Rui hotel Sri Lanka for two weeks at end of July and early August.

The hotel was faultless the food in the main restaurant was very good. The speciality restaurants Asian; Italian; Steak were each open once a week.

There was first class wifi throughout the hotel and in all rooms. The hotel was always immaculately clean and the staff took some pride in maintaining that all the tables chairs & sun beds were in geometric lines, matching the design of the hotel.

The only area you could criticize for maintenance was the tile grouting around the pool. The only other area of complaint was the ridiculously slippy floors in the main restaurant and the main public areas.

The hotel was fairly quiet during the week and filled up with Sri Lankan guests at the weekend. I was told that these were often company's rewarding employees Unfortunately this gave it a bit of a "Billy Buttlin's" feel.

We were hoping to use this hotel as a base to explore other parts of Sri Lanka but getting further a field than Galle or Colombo was very time consuming, we used the ridiculously cheap train and the station was an easy 10 min walk away or a 50p tut tut ride. Having said that there are not many trains that stop at Ahungalle each day. There are plenty thing to be explored along this south western coast.

The sea at this time was quite rough not good for all but the very strongest swimmers, however a local fisherman correctly predicted that the sea would be calmer after the new moon on the 7th August.
The beach is fantastic (although littered with plastic washed up on the tide) the hotel is towards the north end of the 2 kilometer, near deserted, bay the sands are soft and not a sun-bed in sight.

Would I recommend this hotel? Well the answer is if you want possibly the best hotel on this coast then yes if you want a base to tour from then no.

One last point we found the Sri Lankan people so helpful and their generosity and willingness to help us was very humbling yes in places you are hustled to buy their goods but it was simple enough to decline politely.

I'd also recommend using the local "tourist guides" (easily found between the hotel and ocean) in our experience they were very helpful, friendly, and between half to two thirds the price of the organized trips.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I had my second visit to this amazing place recently. Perfect place to relax. You can eat and drink throughout the day then you can go to the pool and burn the fat. The best pool I've ever seen. You can swim to your heart content. Food is amazing, not to talk about their hospitality, Mary at reception is remarkable! Always smile on her face and very helpful. Many of them converse in Spanish apart from English and Sinhalese. Many cultural activities in the night. I wished their gym was more bigger. Otherwise everything is perfect. My children enjoyed the place to the maximum.
Will definitely visit this place soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Anoma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed three nights with my family from Friday to Monday. The Hotel was full during the weekend mainly with office staff from various companies coming in huge groups. Will not advise anyone to visit with families during weekends when these groups are in as lots of noise and fighting among them when the free liquor is consumed without limits. Some even messing up the pool area after too much drinks and food. The poor hotel staff has to clean and wash around the deck and even had to close down one of the pools due to this type of behaviour from some individuals. Some Asian / Mid Eastern females getting in to the pool without wearing proper swim wear should be stopped by the hotel staff.
The Hotel has 500 suites, when full over 1500 guests means it feels crowded and on top of it when you get unruly crowds it is not the best place to go to relax on a weekend.
The Hotel is situated on a nice strip of beach but the sea is quite rough in this area. The rooms are large and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful, specially the Spanish staff who has come down train the local staff. (Reception and restaurant) Plenty of food and drink available. We had a Asian buffet at the Japanese restaurant and it was excellent. Every evening there is some sort of entertainment organised by the hotel which is quite good and enjoyed by all guests.

Room Tip: Get a suite overlooking the pool and sea
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandrajith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We spent 8 nights at the Riu Hotel and wish we had stretched it to 2 weeks. The hotel is spotless and teh food is excellent and plenty to drink throughout the day also!!!
We must give a special mention to Anju and Samira who are the Tour guides from the Beach in front of the Hotel, they really looked after the family we went on a river safari and a land safari, we also used the guys to drive us back to the Airport at a much better price than the travel company. Their vehicles are very safe, very clean and Anju or Samira accompanied us on every trip and both had excellent knowledge of the tours and assited us in communicating with the facinating people we met along the way, making the most of our experience. We strongly recommend that you use Anju and Samira for any of your tours from the local turtle sanctuaries and herbal parks to the further a field safaris these guys are Top Class, 100% genuine people.

The kids had a ball my daughter loved the kids club, and my son joined in the pool games throughout the day and had a great time.

Make sure to book your restaurants well in advance even before you arrive especially the Steakhouse, we were not made aware of this and it was annoying that we could not get to the steak house on teh one night it was open during our stay as it was already fully booked.

Room Tip: Sea View to the right of the Hotel as you look in from beach to get best sunset view!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rath42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews