We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We selected this resort based on the fact that you could do the Select All Inclusive, well worth it, the food quality and variety was excellent. I would have definitely got bored with the same table in the same restaurant 3 times a day.

We started in a Superior Jacuzzi Beach Villa - nice room but a little smaller than expected with no privacy at all, the beach was just steps away though and some of these rooms were better positioned than ours.

My partner proposed to me whilst there and as a surprise booked us in to the Honeymoon villa for 2 nights, I'm sure this was very expensive but if you have the money you MUST do it even if for a night! The villa was massive with a huge swimming pool in the back garden! Absolutely stunning.... complete luxury.

From there I was fortunate enough to move to a Water Villa with Jacuzzi. These are on the reef side so you can snorkel (more or less) straight off your deck. These villas get the sun on the deck all afternoon whereas the villas on the lagoon side don't.

We did the speedboat transfer... it took about an hour and 15 mins but was fine. Not choppy and the boat was large and comfortable.

Snorkeling amazing and resort landscaping beautiful. Stingray feeding was an awesome sight!

How could I have possibly said 'no' to his proposal after such a perfect holiday?! :)

I would definitely recommend this resort and cant wait to return to the Maldives!

Room Tip: If it's a special occasion (or you have lots of money!) upgrade for a night or 2 to the honeymoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalyrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,928
    553
    126
    49
    34
See reviews for
437
2,746
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here for one week in February and I can honest say every day was wonderful. We had a beach Villa with a jacuzzi which was wonderful. The rooms are large, lots of storage and the bathrooms outside were wonderful. The rooms are spotless and having sun loungers outside our door was also lovely. Our room did have a mini bar full of soft drinks and although the drinks are free they don’t automatically refill them again without you completing the form which I did find a little silly. I made a mistake and didn’t take my hairdryer and used the one in the room. It kept overheating and cutting out so next time I would take my own. The plugs are 3 pin so need to take an adapter.

The beaches and sea are wonderful and again very clean. I highly recommend the snorkelling ( you can hire these on the island) and an underwater camera. If I was to make a compliant it would be nice to have beach service and perhaps small tables with the sun loungers neither are huge problems just observations. Both pools were lovely and of course the one overlooking the ocean is beautiful.

On arrival you are allocated a restaurant where you have breakfast and you can also have lunch & dinner there if you are not on the select all inclusive. Personally we didn’t like it and I was grateful that we were on the better all inclusive package. Breakfast was very poor and I thought the restaurant we were allocated lacked atmosphere and was too big. After that we ate breakfast in the coffee shop which was so much nicer. We often had lunch at the pizzeria on the beach which we liked very much and all I can say is try the ice creams they are amazing. Our favourites were the beach BBQ & Siam Garden, both were outstanding and the setting for these restaurants was beautiful. We enjoyed the Siam Garden so much we went back 3 times. I can highly recommend the crab in yellow sauce. Our experience in the Indian restaurant was not as good and we did complain to management who were very sorry to hear that we waited over an hour for our food which arrived cold. The wine was lovely with plenty of choice although I must say I did find it slightly annoying that the restaurants only serve wine or beer and not sprits or cocktails while eating your evening meal. It is recommended that you book your reservation for these restaurants in advance because they do get booked up very quickly, you can book 3 days in advance at reception.

We mainly stayed around The Fung bar area and the nights we were there the was good disco and so was the live band. We also went to the beach cinema on the Wednesday which was lovely watching a film under the stars with a cocktail, they also do it on a Saturday both evenings at 9pm. The sting ray feeding was good at 6.30 for 30 minutes every evening which isnt far from the Reef Restaurant. We also did the evening sunset cruise but make sure you book that straight away because they don’t run it every evening. Its only for an hour and the sunset was beautiful along with the added bonus of seeing dolphins while sipping a glass of sparkling wine.

Overall if you want to get away from everything, swim, eat, drink and relax this is the place for you. The island is beautiful and well looked after, the staff are friendly and if you want to sit on a beautiful beach on your own you wont have to look far. We arrived by sea plane which took about 20 minutes max much faster than the boat. Its well worth paying the extra to start your holiday sooner. We didn’t suffer to much from insect bites but we did take sprays with us and used them every day. i doubt anyone leaves here disappointed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Traveled May 2011 with my wife an two friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.Sorry review took so long.Flew Dublin to Gatwick, Gatwick to Male with B.A. Flew long haul with them before an cannot fault them.No delays .On arrival to Male taken shortly for our sea plane second time on sea plane in Maldives first time two years previous to Kuradu. Took about 45 min;s an landed beside a floating deck to get a boat for another 10 min;s journey..

On arrival taken to reception for a cool drink an cool face cloth.Very quickly told about island an giving keys.We were up graded from beach villa to superior beach villa with jaquzzi as were our friends because we were celebrating our anniversary. We taught it was a nice touch.Found out later anyone celebrating anniversarys or on honeymoon got up grades.
Taken to room by beach buggy an our luggage followed about 10 min;s later
.
Superior beach villa really lovely very big in circle shape with out side bathroom.
We chose A.I. select .We could use all al la carte restaurants but you had to book. We never
had a problem in our 14 nights there getting a booking.Used buffet restaurant only for breakfast an coffee shop an palm for lunch All the staff all over island friendly an well mannered especially all the lads in coffee shop an Gladys.

Not sure if people were tipping we did;n see any one tipping in the two weeks we were there
both couples spent around 450 dollars on tips did;n mind as they were all lovely would even
give us bottles of wine to take back to room;s if we wanted.


Did;n dive this time spent all our time snorkeling amazing just breathtaking what you see.

Would go back again in a heart beat because we loved it . Just not yet to many lovely
islands to see so were off to Filithyo island in May

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richiekavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our first ever visit to the Maldives and after some searching, we chose Kuramathi, having looked at a number of resorts and gone through many reviews on Tripadvisor, due to the Select All inclusive option, snorkelling reviews and reports on the location of the Deluxe Beach Villas.

First impressions were very good, having been to the Caribbean, Mauritius and Kenya previously for tropical beach holidays, we were blown away by the beauty and sheer impressiveness of the location, it truly was amazing.

Things didn’t change much following that, Kuramathi is a great resort and it’s hard to imagine anyone but the most spoilt would not have a wonderful time there The snorkelling was indeed excellent, I cannot compare it directly to any other Islands, however the setup is excellent, with the long, long reef all the way up the one side of the Island, with a nice current that allows you to swim along it. We snorkelled every day bar one and on each occasion saw something new, that was special be it sharks (daily occurance), a Moray eel, Big shoals of Parrot fish, surgeon fish, etc etc…
There were certain things that we thought let it down somewhat. At times we thought service was a bit lacking, especially at lunch times where the staff often seemed a bit moody or lackadaisical, esp in the Island Coffee Shop, where they could deffo with a bit more guidance/ leadership. On requesting an Ice Cream from the Palm at about 3pm , their attitude made it perfectly clear that we were causing a massive burden upon their other tasks, which mainly seemed to be standing around chatting!

The food itself was also a slight let down, the Select All in plan, is very similar to that which we experienced on holiday in Mauritius, we didn’t feel the food was quite up to the same standard though, in both imagination or quality, the lunchtime buffet was also nowhere the same level quality or variety wise and unless the dinner buffet gets better reviews, I would certainly not recommend not choosing the Select All inclusive option. The Highlight foodwise was definitely the Thai restaurant, lowlight probably the Indian (I love Indian food but it was far too bland for me there) and after all the good reviews here the Island Barbecue was a bit of a letdown. For location the Palm is great in the evening, so definitely have a dinner there.
As mentioned in a number of the other reviews, you should be wary of what else is going on around your restaurant when you book, when at one near the Fung Bar anyway. On our first night there we ate at the Island Barbecue, our meal soundtracked by the movie (Hancock) playing on the beach, having Will Smith or associated baddies swearing at high volume whilst your trying to have a nice meal is not really ideal!

Back to the positives though, the service at the bars was almost always excellent, with orders quickly taken, drinks delivered and further drinks offered soon after you were finished. Each of the 3 main bars offers a very different vibe, lively action down the bottom in the Fung bar, the Dhoni bar a still busy but more relaxed vibe, with the Reef bar up at the top of the Island offers a more ‘rural’ experience and is very relaxing once the Stingray feeding viewers have moved one.

The location of the Deluxe beach villa (346 I think) was also magnificent, if you’re after a nice quiet setting I would certainly chose these room types over any other and if you can the block of rooms North West of the Farivalhu restaurant, which seemed much more private than on the other side. The rooms are not that big though and lack storage/ cupboard space, we pretty much had to live out of our suitcases for a week, not that that was really a problem at all and all the other benefits of the room’s location certainly outweighed this.

So to conclude what I thought would be a quick concise review but hasn’t been! Visiting Kuramathi was a great experience and one we’d certainly be more than happy to repeat, if we do get the chance to go back to the Maldives again though, we would likely try another Island first before returning there. Would have given 4.5, due to what it cost though and the few issues we came across I can't quite give it a 5, anyone who’s booked is in for a truly wonderful experience though and you must-

-Try the Tom Kha Gai soup at the Thai Restaurant (in fact try everything and dine there every night if you can, its great!)
-Have a massage out on the deck
-Spend time at the Spa pool, its V relaxing there
-Snorkel, the whole reef, as much as you can
-Visit the Sand Bar around lunch when it’s far less busy (and at different tide levels)
-Give the Havana bar a go for Karaoke, its great fun after a few too many drinks
-Lunch and Dine at the palm (We thought this was the best location for dinner)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Superbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I and my husband chose Kurumathi Island for our honeymoon in December. (a very nice time....cool clmate and not very hot!)...and we made an excellent decision... we booked watervilla with jacuzzi...and it was BEAUTIFUL!!!! The first day itself we saw dolphins and on the second day sharks (friendly!) in the sea. The sea view is fantastic...tough seems expensive but the sea view from the room is worth it!!!! THe snorkelling and the scuba diving experience was wonderful!!!! tough i dont know how to swim properly and i was almost scared to death...the instructor was very patient and helpful!!! The sea is sooooo breathtaking you almost forget everything!!!!The room service was good and the staff over there are very friendly!!!! However the food was the only thing we didnt like much coz we are vegetarians and veg options were extremely less to such extent that the chef had to make food especially for us!!! We had taken basic all inclsive which was a good choice was we are vegies and dont drink alcohol...but who do, try for the higher level packages. We even saw sing-ray feeding, done by hotel staff and went for a sunset cruise whch was a pleasant trip :)
THe expereince in Kurumathi was soul-touching.... its so beautiful!!!!! DOnt miss it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charu_tolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
30.5 km away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
23.0 km away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
1.4 km away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
25.4 km away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
33.8 km away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price range (per night): $647 - $1,766
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing