We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
918
129
48
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
129
48
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa domestic flight fish gan airport indian ocean villa host our honeymoon male airport golf course kids club dolphin cruise heaven on earth outdoor shower take care out of this world f b whispering palms
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

I cannot praise this resort enough, from the moment we left the airport until the day we left it was perfect in every way.
We booked our stay once again with Charles at value added travel who recommended flying Air SriLanka via Colombo ( with one night at Shangri-la Colombo) as they fly into Gan island, a 5 minute speed boat trip and then you arrive in paradise. We were greeted by our island host Ali who took us by golf buggy to our Over water villa, he was extremely helpful for our entire stay and organised a wonderful anniversary meal on the beach amongst other things, he was happy to chat and was from Gan island and could answer all our questions about the surrounding area.
Beach villa:
WOW they are fabulous, with the most enormous, comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in, the room has automatic black out blinds which make for a great nights sleep. From the bed you look out onto the Indian Ocean. The deck is very large with outside lounge bed, table and chairs, on the lower deck are 2 loungers and the hammock (my favourite place to relax) ours was over a miniature coral reef teeming with fish of all colours, size and varieties. Our villa was located in Whispering palms just off the house reef, the perfect place for snorkelling and exploring the reef from your villa. The outside shower was amazing you could look down into the ocean and see the parrot fish swimming by. Each villa comes with its own bicycles these were invaluable for travelling from one end of the island to the other and such good fun!
Restaurants:
Breakfast: was at Jaavu restaurant, each morning we were greeted by the Hussan who made you feel so special greeting everyone by name, and the breakfast healthy fruit shots were a highlight for me. The range of food was very impressive, the chef makes the most amazing poached eggs.
Lunch: we were All inclusive and cannot stress enough how cost effective this worked out for us. As both food and drink (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were very expensive. I have to mention Imhadh who was our waiter most lunch times and had the biggest smile on Villingilli, he was so friendly and an excellent waiter. The lunch menu is extensive whether you want three courses or a lite bite, and first class.
Evening meal:
Dr Ali’s : this restaurant had 3 separate menus, Arabic, Indian and Chinese they are all fantastic, highlights for me were the prawn starter and lobster starter on the Indian menu. The barman Sandun makes the best cocktails on the island. The food is first class.
Jaavu : we only ate her once in the evening and it was buffet night, (which we would normally avoid) but this was the best one we had ever had!
fashala: my personal favourite, the most amazing setting for a restaurant especially at sunset simply breath taking! The food was sensational I would highly recommend the crab starter and the tuna main course, absolutely delicious.
We have to mention the hotels Sommelier Pauline, she is so knowledgeable and so friendly I would highly recommend her wine tasting evening in Fashala great fun and a chance to meet other wine loving guests.
Golf: my husband joined the golf club while we were there, which aloud him to play golf over our entire stay. The course was short but challenging and thoroughly enjoyable, with the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Thanks to Manoj and Alex for their hospitality.
Gym: the gym is well equipped with both treadmills, cross trainers, bikes and weight machines and free weights, the air conditioning is very effective, (not always the case in hotel gymnasiums) But I would highly recommend running outside early morning, a great way to see the island in all its beauty and also the wildlife .
We first visited the Maldives on our honeymoon, it took 25 years to return but my view remains the same this is paradise!
Thank you Shangri-la Villingilli for the BEST holiday EVER! We will be back as soon as possible!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
4  Thank KarenHenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe C, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Friends

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. My team is over joyed to be recognized and commended for their services. Our villas are large and spacious and very well appointed. Our views are breathtaking and yet diverse, some offering stunning sunrises over the Indian ocean and some offering magical Maldivian sunsets. Am glad you and your family enjoyed exploring our Coral garden and the fabulous Coral reef that one can snorkel to. Our resort offers guests turquoise-blue lagoons, stunning coral reefs, panoramic sunsets, lush green jungles and a well manicured golf course. It’s the perfect hide away for the nature seeking enthusiast.

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

It's a beaitiful resort around a 60mn flight from Male..We spent 5 nights and didn't want to leave, welcoming staff, beautiful over water villas and an amazing spa! D Good food, many restaurants.. Would definitely recommned

Room tip: Over water villas
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarlaV_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe C, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Carla_1000

Thank you for a fantastic review of your stay at our resort. You have beautifully captured the true spirit of our resort and the essence of Maldives with your fabulous review. The detailed review of your experience at our resort is our moment of truth.

Right from landing in Male to arriving at our resort we have worked on every stage to ensure guests comfort. Our villas are one of the largest in all of Maldives. Our views are breathtaking and yet diverse. Our resort offers guests turquoise-blue lagoons, stunning coral reefs, panoramic sunsets, lush green jungles and manicured golf course. It’s the perfect hide away for the nature seeking enthusiast. I am happy to read that you enjoyed yours stay,
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to our part of the water world.

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Once in our life time to experience and be in a place so call "Paradise". The resort covers the whole Island. Each bungalow has its own style and uniqueness.The one I stayed for 10 days was Water Front Bungalow with Giant Jacuzzi right in the middle of the living room , not to mention outdoor shower and balcony look out to the big blue sea.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank kingkaew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe C, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nalini Kingkaew

Thank you for a fantastic review of your stay at our resort. You have beautifully captured the true spirit of our resort and the essence of Maldives with your fabulous review. The detailed review of your experience at our resort is our moment of truth.

Right from landing in Male to arriving at our resort we have worked on every stage to ensure guests comfort. Our villas are one of the largest in all of Maldives. Our views are breathtaking and yet diverse. Our resort offers guests turquoise-blue lagoons, stunning coral reefs, panoramic sunsets, lush green jungles and manicured golf course. It’s the perfect hide away for the nature seeking enthusiast. I am happy to read that you enjoyed yours stay,
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to our part of the water world.

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We spent five nights at Villingili Resort and Spa and didn't want to leave.The place is perfect - from the setting, the accommodation (we were in an over eater villa), the staff, the service, the food, to the snorkelling (like swimming in an aquarium). We could not fault anything. If you want a memorable holiday for all the right reasons, stay here!

Room tip: Over water villas in Whispering Palms section are close to snorkelling area
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JazBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe C, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Jaz Baz,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. My team is over joyed to be recognized and commended for their services. Our villas are large and spacious and very well appointed. Our views are breathtaking and yet diverse, some offering stunning sunrises over the Indian ocean and some offering magical Maldivian sunsets. Am glad you and your family enjoyed exploring our Coral garden and the fabulous Coral reef that one can snorkel to. Our resort offers guests turquoise-blue lagoons, stunning coral reefs, panoramic sunsets, lush green jungles and a well manicured golf course. It’s the perfect hide away for the nature seeking enthusiast.

Kind regards

philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Great experience. It's a big island to explore.. And I had a good time playing the golf.
Enjoyed riding a bicycle. Good food. Staffs are very hospitable. Best recommendation for couple and families. We had a dinner at the golf course BBQ Pitt. The place is so exclusive and private esp for special events.

Room tip: Villas Near the golf course.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thusitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe C, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Thusitha R

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. My team is over joyed to be recognized and commended for their services. Our villas are large and spacious and very well appointed. Our views are breathtaking and yet diverse, some offering stunning sunrises over the Indian ocean and some offering magical Maldivian sunsets. Am glad you and your family enjoyed exploring our Coral garden and the fabulous Coral reef that one can snorkel to. Our resort offers guests turquoise-blue lagoons, stunning coral reefs, panoramic sunsets, lush green jungles and a well manicured golf course. It’s the perfect hide away for the nature seeking enthusiast.
Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews