We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Experience”
Review of Villa Wastra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Wastra
Ranked #3 of 6 Payangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2012

4 days in paradise - this is the best way to describe our stay in Villa Wastra. I wish we could stay for months. The villa is situated in a very secluded area, overlooking the volcano. All you see from the immaculate and tastefully decorated rooms are beautiful green vistas. The owners, Mariah and Bob were so kind and helpful. Conversations over breakfast and afternoon tea just made the stay even more enjoyable. And let me not forget about the food - Indonesian home cooking, that was so tasty that you will definitely ask for the recipes.

If you are looking for a nourishing and rejuvenating experience, look no further. You would love it! (and yes I am planning to stay there again during my next trip in October)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingPrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Villa Wastra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a most beautiful modern Villa built in the traditional Indonesian style with wonderful wood and stone carvings, an exotic garden with swimming pool and fountains. The spacious rooms and suites are five star standard, with balconies with amazing views of the hills and forest. Mrs Mariah the proprietor is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, a very interesting person to talk to. Meals were taken " en famille" and were extensive and delicious. Breakfast is a fantastic buffet taken on the terrace, and dinner is cooked by Mrs Mariah and her housekeeper and uses local produce and recipes, and gives you the taste of Bali without having to make decisions from a mysterious menu in a restaurant. We also hired a driver , on Mrs Mariah's recommendation, for four days, who took us all over the island and negotiated the terrifying driving conditions in Bali. He spoke good English and was very knowledgeable, and told about all the local traditions.

The only sounds to wake you are the animals in the village in the valley. The stars at night are amazing as there is no light pollution.

We booked from recommendations on Trip Adviser and were absolutely thrilled when we arrived. It made our stay in Bali memorable and special. We were very pleased we did not stay in the tourist resorts. This is real Bali in five star luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunvalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Incredible unique remote experience in rural Bali. The Villa was beautiful full of artwork and large rooms with spectacular views. Maria our host was so knowledgeable and kind, attentive to our every need. The meals were incredible, dinner was a feast and breakfast on the terrace in the mornings was lavish with an absolutely amazing view of the lush jungle. We really enjoyed the trails to the remote villages from the villa. A wonderful experience..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The reviews here echo everything that I envisioned about Villa Wastra. Yes, the place is gorgeous, clean, great breakfasts, delicious dinners, impeccable service but what was really unforgettable was Ibu's Mariah's hospitality. We were there for 4 days, 3 nights but it wasn't enough! We already can't wait to go back! :( I was even contemplating not writing a review to keep this place my selfish little secret. Anyway here's a snapshot of our time at the Villa:

When we arrived on the first day, Ibu was already there, waiting to give us a warm welcome. Traffice was pretty heavy so it took us about 2 hours to get from the airport to the Villa. We had initally booked the Poleng suite with a Garden view but was upgraded to the Endek suite (Yay!). The views from the dining table and the Endek suite literally took our breath away, especially the orange sunsets around 6pm that we enjoyed from the balcony of the suite. We later enjoyed dinner at the Villa and it was soooooooooooooooo good. I can't even put it to words. We practically inhaled the food, there were 6-7 dishes not only from Bali but from around the world. Recipes that Ibu concocted to cater to the amazing variety of guests she recieves at the villa.

The suite itself is magnificent (look at all the pictures!). Small kitchenette, dining area, day bed, study area, marble bathroom. It has all the creature comforts one needs. We enjoyed sitting by the balcony, taking in the view of the vally and beyond, sipping tea and reading. Time literally stands still. We spent our first 2 days taking a dip in the pool, spying on the neighbours cows, listening to the sounds of the jungle, watching fireflies at night, chatting with Ibu, walking to the neighbouring village (the people are so friendly, they bring their kids out to play with you). If this is the kind of vacation you're looking for, you'll be throughly satisfied here. It really is something out of a movie.

Breakfasts are amazing. Croissants, different breads, fried bananas, fried rice, fresh squeezed juices (the mango juice was yum!) I could go on and on. We were so stuffed from breakfasts! Dinner is also something to look forward to! Fried corn cakes, banana flower salad, beef satay were just some of the lovely dishes whipped up for us. We even had afternoon tea on 2 of the days there. The tea was almost a meal in itself, panadas on the first day (fried doughnut like pastries stuffed with fish, similar to Spanish empanadas according to Ibu) and tasty cheese puffs on the second day.

We finally tore ourselves away from the Villa on the third day. Ibu arranged for a driver to take us basically anywhere we wanted to go. We went to Ubud to have the famous babi guling (Ibu Oka), the Ubud market to shop and finally dinner at Nuri's (yummy ribs!). We went to bed quite early that night due to an early flight the next day. We even managed to squeeze in breakfast before we left (6am) and Ibu even packed more croissants for us to eat on the flight!

All in all, the stay was really fantastic! Please note that the rooms do not have TVs/cable/internet. Basically no distractions. The common living room does have cable TV and a laptop with internet, basically enough for you to check your emails. This is a place to get away! Also, it is in the middle of a jungle, there will be bugs. Ultimately, we definitely recommend this place very very highly!

Room Tip: Endek Suite!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in the Endek Suite of Villa Wastra for a week during our honeymoon in Bali. We chose the Villa as we really wanted to stay at a location where we can relax and forget the hectic of our normal life. We read all the reviews about the villa beforehand of our booking and afterwards we must admit that every word was true but not enough to describe how beautiful and familiar the villa really is.
We were picked up by the driver at the airport and were awaited with a fantastic dinner even though it was quite late on our arrival. The amazing view to the valley was the first thing that we saw next morning from our suite and from the balcony where the breakfast was served. The Endek Suite is amazing, so huge that you can't even use the whole space :-) It is comfortable, very clean - like the whole villa - and the view to the valley is unforgettable.
The housekeeper Mariah served every morning the finest fruits, self-made croissants, juices and dishes that Bali can offer. We were happy to join for dinner as well a few times where we could get an impression how delicious Balinese food can be.
The villa is located pretty central on Bali, approximately in 30 minutes driving distance from Ubud. It is surely not the place for people looking for party, but a perfect place for the ones looking for a remote location where they can escape from the outer world. We took long walking tours in the surrounding villages and rice paddies which are still untouched by tourists. Mariah was always giving some very valuable hints where to go and what to see. We rented a car for 4 days which turned out to be the best decision. You can reach almost everything in 2 hours driving on the island. This way we could discover whole Bali, the main touristic attractions, temples, beaches, etc. You are allowed to go your own way, stop where you like, stay as long as you wish and enjoy every second on the Island of Gods.
Once you have seen everything on the island - which is simply impossible - then just spend a day in the villa and relax at the pool, take a walk and enjoy the familiar dinner with Mariah and the other visitors.
We loved to stay in the villa and will surely return back one day!!!

Room Tip: You can find 3 suites and 2 smaller rooms in the villa. All of them are quiet and perfectly equipped...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VatiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baliname, Front Office Manager at Villa Wastra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Mariah and I delighted to have you as our guests. Thank you again for your kind words and thoughtfulness. We hope that you come back to visit us again at the island of the gods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payangan hotels
1.6 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
902 reviews
2.8 km away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
7.0 km away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Senetan Villas & Spa Resort
3.1 km away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Hanging Gardens of Bali
#6 of 10 in Payangan
1,552 reviews
2.5 km away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 10 in Payangan
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Payangan

Been to Villa Wastra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Wastra

Address: Jl. Raya Payangan - Kintamani Km. 41, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Payangan
Price Range: $93 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Wastra 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded private bed and breakfast estate north of Ubud, set amidst lush tropical greenery. Villa Wastra offers luxurious suites and rooms, all decorated in traditional Balinese textiles. Each suite offers rich natural wood tables, a heavenly bed with high quality linen and private ensuite. Guests can recharge and return to nature by indulging in a variety of physical out door activities such as outdoor hikes and walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Villa Wastra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Wastra Payangan, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing