We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel/Not impressed with Breakfast....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Champlung Mas Hotel
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel/Not impressed with Breakfast....”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Me along with my boyfriend and 4 other friends stayed at the Champlung Mas Hotel for my 30th Birthday... We went for the Deluxe Pool View Rooms, they are very basic rooms and there was a bad smell in them, Our room was full of Mozzies no matter how many repellents I used on me and in the room they ket coming back to bite me!! The breakfast is not good at all, very linited choice of what you can have.. The pool and swim up bar was lovely no complaints there. This hotel is quiet far away from the main drag in Kuta/Legian and we got taxies everywhere. The staff were lovely. All up I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazperth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champlungmgr, Public Relations Manager at Champlung Mas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We value your comments both positive and negative.

We are pleased that you found our Poolside Bar and pool enjoyable. We have made great efforts to ensure that our newly refurbished section is enjoyable for all our guests. We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff.

We are aware of a problem with mosquitos, during our rainy season we do see an increase in this and have recently introduced daily fogging to deal with this. We are doing all we can to deal with these issues and are confident the problem will be eradicated soon.

In addition to the 'drain smell', we have identified the source of this to one of our neighbouring properties who are having extensive building work and are in urgent talks with them to fix this.

We try to tailor our breakfast to the needs of our guests. It is advertised as a light breakfast and we try to include at least one asian and one european choice. We are looking in the future to update our choices and this will be one of our main priorities once our renovations have completed.

Hopefully you will return to join us once our renovations are fully completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    206
    145
    54
    97
See reviews for
184
189
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed at this resort many times and had no problems. But this time it was a shocker, the noise level in the new building is over the top .Music was turned up at 2 o,clock in the morning and the noise from intoxicated guests will keep you up all night.The staff knocked on the door early in the morning so they could make our room but we were still trying to get some sleep as the construction noise in the area is full on.Asked for light globes to be repaired but no luck and the smell from the shower area (sewer smell) is terrible.The building is a concrete jungle and any noise will echo through the building.As for safety no exit signs,no fire fighting equpment at all. I can go on forever with complaints. This is a place I would not stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champlungmgr, Public Relations Manager at Champlung Mas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value all feedback, positive or negative.

As you are no doubt aware we are in the process of upgrading our property and consequently there will be some disturbance due to the building works. We have a strict policy that the builders can only operate between 8am and 5.30pm. You will appreciate the work has to be done and we are trying to minimise the inconvenience as best we can.

With regards to the music from the bar, we have now instructed our staff that the poolside bar in our new building must close at midnight, however our other bar in our older section is open subject to demand, we are however respectful of Guests and should you have had issues with the music, all you need have done was call our Reception from your room and it would have been rectified.

We are aware of a problem of 'drain smell' in some areas of the hotel. We have made extensive enquiries and efforts to locate the source and it has been established that it is originating from one of our neighbours who are also having extensive building works. We are actively working with them to remedy this issue for obvious reasons. Again please accept our apologies for this temporary problem.

We are sorry that you feel dissapointed on this occasion and that we have not lived up to our previous standards, however please bear with us during our period of transition and that once our renovations are complete you will feel able to visit the new Champlung Mas again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Not quite sure how to rate this place. My first room was miserable. As you can see from the attached pics, very dirty, items broken and non operable, etc. The TV made a buzzing sound when not even turned on every hour or two and had to unplug it to sleep. The sheets were very dirty, bathroom just gross (shower curtain ripped and full of shower grime, etc) No hot water, phone inoperable, toilet non operable, etc. Not to mention close to the party pool where rap music and loud kids partied until after 2 AM!

Second room was much better. Don't have any pics though. Room was very acceptable and in a different location nearer second pool. This time noise died off considerably about 12:00 AM. Not the place to go if you are anxious for sleep. I would make sure to request a "remodeled" room. Although, much better, this room had leaky toilet plumbing and water was always slightly flowing around the toilet and into drain.

Breakfast was very asian style and not so tasty. Not terrible, but the same every morning and not great quality.

Staff was helpful to change rooms for me, but never once apologized nor did they listen to my whole explanation of all that was wrong with the first room, so some unsuspecting guest will have to likely encounter all the same problems I did.

Overall not impressed at all and will not stay at again.

Room Tip: Choose a "remodeled room" and one as far away from any pool as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Spent 17 nights recently, construction noise 7 days a week from early am was nothing to the total lack of respect for others by the SCHOOLIES once they arrived. Security were very weak in dealing with them. Otherwise it was pretty good. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Carlos!
Pools are excellent, swim up bars, happy hour is terrific!
Good value

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new building in a room that overlooks the street for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The hotel for what you pay is fantastic, the rooms are very clean and a really good size. Breakfast is also really good with cereal, toast, noodles and rice always available and you can order eggs, bacon, pancakes etc. My only suggestion is unless you have to be there during leavers it is best to book at another time. We recently returned as my daughter and her friends were in Bali for leavers - the majority of kids were great and very respectful of other guests when they came in from the clubs during the early hours of the morning, however there were a few groups not so good and were very loud. But we did realise this was probably going to be the case as they were just letting off steam. We had to contact the reception a few times and ask that they be moved to the 24hr pool and bar next door and most were happy to do so. We met some lovely kids from all over Australia some schoolies and some toolies who were very happy to talk to us oldies in the pool and to those girls/boys thankyou for being respectful your parents should be very proud.
To all those who criticise about the cleanliness of the hotel, the staff and the supposed poor breakfast remember you are not paying for a 5 star hotel so don't expect one - it's the same old saying "you get what you pay for" and I was very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you want quiet rooms ask for those at the front of new new hotel and not around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 km away
The Sun Hotel & Spa
The Sun Hotel & Spa
#39 of 87 in Legian
564 reviews
0.1 km away
Serela Legian Hotel
Serela Legian Hotel
#50 of 87 in Legian
174 reviews
0.4 km away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 87 in Legian
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
609 reviews
0.6 km away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#18 of 87 in Legian
1,242 reviews
0.5 km away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#61 of 87 in Legian
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Mas Hotel

Property: Champlung Mas Hotel
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price range (per night): $38 - $51
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Mas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Champlung Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champlung Mas Legian
Champlung Mas Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing