We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy and accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kuta
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Legian
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Roomy and accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed with two friends of mine Nov 18-24, 2011.

Negatives:
* Though the Breakfast Buffet displays both Indo and Western food, it does not vary, and be prepared to wait 10 minutes for your bread to toast, or not receive it at all because by the time you go to retrieve said toast, another guest might steal it.
* Room-service food isn't the best (my wonton soup had two dumplings...)
* Bedroom pillows are a little too fluffy/full
* Construction across the little lane (there's ALWAYS construction and building going on EVERYWHERE in Bali, so it's not like this hotel is alone in that regard... but still...)
* If you want to pay $22 for laundry then let Housekeeping take care of it, otherwise you can go down the road and get your clothes freshly laundered for a fraction of the price
* No outdoor settings on room balconies, only by the pools
* Studio Rooms don't have cutlery or plates

Positives
* Staff are super nice
* Our room (Premiere Studio: 1 double and 2 single rooms) was quite spacious
* Room price was awesome
* Check-out time is at 12pm, leaving you ample time to cram everything back into your suitcase
* Free wi-fi (they also have a few computers in the lobby if ever you need). Having said that, there is also an internet cafe one street over (Jl Nakula) which has pretty good internet
* Tv has all sorts of channels (Indo as well as international channels)
* 24 hour Mini Mart is just next door, so you can get all your bottles of water and snacks there. Otherwise Carrefour supermarket is a short drive away
* Pasar Malam (Night Market) is only a 5 minute walk away, and you can try all local indonesian food, drinks, and desserts for cheap

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffinjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
29
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My family and I stayed here between Oct 29, 2011 and Nov 5. First impressions of Hotel were negative. The Foyer and check in desk are only accessible down a side drive way with barely enough room to get out of the taxi when you pull up. They advertise Kid's Club - there is none. It's a ball pit in the Foyer. They advertise a pool side bar - there is none. It's a 'bar' that dispenses towels only. They advertise a family room - we couldn't find one. They advertise a bar or pub - there are none. They advertise recreation and leisure facilities - there are only pools and a spa. We were sure that we saw a gym advertised in their promo but - there is none. They ran out of most of the popular cocktail making ingredients such as Baileys on the fourth day of our 7 day stay. Never to be replaced. Weired!? If they want to make money, cocktails are a sure fired way of doing it. But alas it was not to be. The staff were very helpfull, and friendly except for one attendant who, when asked if he could kindly take our lunch order, he said 'yes, when I've finished my work' and proceeded to continue mopping the pool side decking, then went over to some men who were working near by and proceeded to chat with them, ignoring us completely. We had to ask him again and he reluctantly went to the 'pool side bar' (towel bar) and phoned for someone to come. The staff have limited grasp of the english language so communicating with them was difficult at times. They don't anticipate situations at all. We were there for a week and every morning right up till the end we had to ask for a high chair at breakfast. I asked room service for a bottle of wine...they brought it up without a wine glass? The rooms are comfy, but not like their promo. There are no pictures on the walls, no rugs on the floor and no flowers in the rooms. As far as 3 stars go it's ok but I don't like to be duped into thinking that its better than it is. It's not.

Room Tip: top floor, end rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inekemorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I travelled with my two young children aged 3 and 13 months. We had a two bedroom room which was ok but the cot didn't fit in either room so had to be put in the living area. When we noticed the cot didn't have a mattress we asked housekeeping for one and they brought up a box of matches. Needless to say English is not a strong point with the staff here so making yourself understood is next to impossible. Just don't ask for an empty wine glass. Oh and they dont have cot mattresses, your baby is expected to sleep on the fabric base on the bars.
The pool 'bar' is hilarious for all the wrong reasons. It basically consists of a staff member standing behind a bar guarding a stack of towels. The alcohol bottles on the shelf above his head are "examples" only so the only thing you can get at the pool bar are towels.
Most staff are friendly and were very sweet with my children but they show little initiative.
The kitchenette in our room was empty, not a piece of cutlery or tea towel to be seen!
The hotel mainly had asian guests. The breakfast spread was good but the restaurant dinners and lunches were hit and miss. The pools are pretty infinity pools but all three were identical. They were too shallow to dive in and too deep for the kids. The 'kids club' consisted of a ball pit in the foyer. Hygiene was ok in the rooms, but our bathroom was very smelly with mould in the corners. Weird location, nowhere near anything other than a minimart but then again it was so cheap to travel anywhere by taxi it didn't really matter. Would i come here agian? Hell no! We have lots of stories to laugh at now but next time we are staying in a luxury hotel in Nusa Dua all the way!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything there are exceptional.
Food - Fantastic
Services in Reception - Fantastic
Services in Kitchen - Fantastic
Services by staff in general, including cleaners - Fantastic
Cleanliness - Very good
Staff's courtesy - World Class !!!

Room Tip: I and my family was feeling comfortable in the second floor on the Eastern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandkuta, Sales e-Commerce at Grand Kuta, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and compliment.
We wish to welcoming you again in the near future.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

we had a premier studio room which was on the bottom floor it had 3 bedrooms and with 2 children we found that this was a good size room however the bathrooms were small and even though the "kitchenette" had plenty of cupboards there was nothing in them!This not a children-friendly hotel as there are no grassed areas for them to play in and no kiddie activities to keep them happy but that is ok because it is not specified that they do have a kids club, so the decent size t.v and dvd player in the room sufficed after a big day out.They are a way out of everything and especially with kids(10 and 7)it was a bit trying with all of the taxiing around.Breakfasts are mainly asian fare and was generally cold as the staff left the bainmarie lids always open.This is a business orientated hotel,it is tidy but not for us.Thankyou anyway!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandkuta, Sales e-Commerce at Grand Kuta, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review.
Our hotel bathrooms not really big only 2.2m X 1.5m, for the Premiere studio room we support with 2 bathrooms, and empty cupboard we provided in room to support condotel conceptualized.
Again, we thank you very much for your time. We wish to welcoming you again in the near future.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
1.2 km away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0.5 km away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.6 km away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#54 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.3 km away
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
1.2 km away
The Sun Hotel & Spa
The Sun Hotel & Spa
#36 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kuta

Property: Grand Kuta
Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no.8, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price range (per night): $34 - $70
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Kuta is nestled in the heart of Bali, only a short drive to the beautiful beaches of Kuta, Legian and Seminyak. Offer you 100 rooms choice of one, two or three bedroom leisure apartment comes with access to 3 swimming pools, BBQ area, Café, 24hr room service, spa, free Wi-Fi, free surf shuttle service, and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kuta Hotel Legian
Grand Kuta Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing