We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
156
117
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
117
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastsuite roombeautiful hotelswimming poolbooked this hotelnice staystayed for nightshome away from homevintagefeathersfieldpaddyseminyakbalifurniturelampsink
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We booked in quite late after some travel disruption and though the reception from the staff was friendly, the reception by the mosquitos in the room was not... they provided one of those heating devices with a anti mosquito pad on it... but they could have prepared the room earlier (knowing we were coming). The ambience here is a little lacking and I dare say not perfectly clean - I noted soap scum on the walls of the shower!!
The pool is somewhat dingy.. dark water in a dark location... I didn't like the look of it at all.
But these are not my biggest complaints.. Breakfast is served almost at a "chef's table" in the little kitchenette were the breakfast is being prepared... to see non kitchen staff go into the fridge and pour themselves fruit juice and then grab a breakfast pastry from oven is not very professional... couple that with having to listen to their conversation / banter.. no thank you!!! We checked out immediately and went somewhere else.
Call me fussy if you will but I don't like places which purport to be something special and do not deliver on the promise... I am sure many people will find the place to be a good (though quirky) place to stay and I know many good boutique hotels around the world, but this is not one of them..

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MGOMEZULU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, Manager at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear MGOMEZULU,

First of all, our apology for the inconveniences during your stay with us. Unfortunately, we could not find your name on our calendar so it would be a bit hard to give you a proper feedback.

However, let us break the point one by one as follow:
1. Mosquito - the reason we do not spray the room is that not every guest like the smell of the repellent. Besides, mosquito has not been the main issue in the hotel; which mean some people are sensitive on it and the others are not. That's why we provide every unit with electric mosquito repellent in the drawer. If you take the advantage to dial 300 as explained upon check-in, of course, we will have somebody to assist you with spraying the entire unit, from the bathroom to bed room.
2. Soap scum - it was some crust that require particular chemical rather than soap-scum. We have managed recently to conduct a regular general cleaning including clearing all rooms from crust, that was scheduled in the mid of January when we're not busy.
3. Pool - we understood that the pool is not the popular spot to our guests. The color (dark) is set to join the other ornament and details to speak the same language, which is quaint and unique. For sure you noticed that blue or green pool is very common in the hotel business. Our concept is different and that we need to sacrifice certain part of it. Nonetheless, as shown on the Instagram, some people were just so happy to swim there.
4. Non kitchen staff - The person is actually a trainee who did not yet get its proper uniform. The conversation was all about preparing breakfast.

However, we highly appreciate your feedback for us to improve in the future. Of course we wish to have you come back as our second chance and be the judge whether we have improved the above mentioned scheme. Have a good day!

Warmest regards,
Komang Swesen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We were here for Christmas holiday. Check-in process was smooth. The staff helped us to rent a scooter motorcycle for $5/day. We like the ambiance very much. They put aromatic scent everywhere. Felt like staying in a spa.

They put little Christmas decoration on our bed. Very thoughtful. The vintage furniture was awesome. The only drawback was the water heater, there was a technical problem on our first day.

The location is very good. Many cafes and shops around. Only 10 minutes motor ride to Canggu for more cafes.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jiewa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, General Manager at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear Jiewa V,

Thank you so much for putting your thought about us here on TA.

Your words would indeed be a good reference to others who wish to experience an aromatic ambiance as you had. Our apology about the technical problem with the water heater that sorted out already.

Have a good day and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Komang Swesen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Lovely little Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Kerobokan.

My friends and I were passing through this area and decided to book this hotel. The rooms looked very cute and we were only staying 1 night.

First thing that I need to state, this is not a fancy hotel with the whole 'Bali' experience. This is a place to crash if you have already been to Bali many times before and need a nice, clean, comfortable and convenient place to stay.

There is no Lobby area and the check-in area is literally their Office. But upon arrival, we were served a nice cold drink and wet towel which was lovely, as Bali is very hot.

Checking into our room, the Magena Suite, we were very happy that the room was large, with nice seating area, King size bed, Air Conditioner that works well (you'd be surprised in Bali you often find AC's that don't work or are too small for the room).

Bathrooms were ok. The best thing about it was the old-fashioned copper bath tub. The design is not very efficient and wastes a lot of space.

Massage services can be ordered to your room and we ordered a Balinese Massage and Foot Reflexology. Both were very good and the price was pretty reasonable.

Pros:
- Good Location
- Free Wifi (although it doesn't work well)
- Good made-to-order Breakfast
- Large rooms
- Good A/C

Cons:
- Rooms are kind of dark
- Not enough power outlets in room
- Pool is completely useless as it is black, and covered with hanging plants
- Bathrooms are so-so

I would stay here again if I needed to come for a quick trip to Bali to do some errands or meet up with friends. It's not a luxurious place, but definitely pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chryaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, Manager at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear chryaven,

Thank you so much for taking time writing us such a long review here on TA.

We conclude that you're enjoyed the entire stay even though it was a short one. However, we would like to update you with few things as follow:
1. Wi-fi is a bit slow in your room because of the access point in front of your room was unfortunately broken and we're waiting for the replacement. Hopefully it will be back to normal within this week.
2. Power outlet - actually you can get additional multi-plug from the reception to get more access to your recharging ritual. We are now looking for possibility to add additional power outlet that stays there permanently.
3. Swimming pool - yes, it is black rather than bright green or blue. It is a matter of design that bright color does not go the same way with our concept, which is homey vintage style. Some of our guests are loved to swim here as captured on Instagram.
4. The room is dark - actually you can open the window to allow more lights in the room. People prefer to keep it dark whenever they are on privacy mode so it should be fine.

Last but not least, we are also glad to hear that you will come back in the future. Have a good day and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Komang Swesen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

I was so excited about staying at this place, however compared to our other Bali experiences, it left us feeling slightly underwhelmed. The staff were nice, however you got the impression they were under pressure from higher up. The place had quirky details throughout, however it didn't leave you wanting to chill there.

Room Tip: The room at the end looking onto the rice fields
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahneeJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, Manager at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear TahneeJC,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Brown Feather hotel and taking time reviewing us here on TA.

Your words are so exclusive that we have never heard from other guests before. What we can conclude is that the hotel is not your cup of tea. Our apology for the 'underwhelmed-situation.'

Thank you.

Warmest regards,
Komang Swesen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Came here once on our way through Seminyak and ended up staying again for a couple nights on the way back.

French style rooms and decor with lovely courtyard and accommodating staff (who will even serve you breakfast in bed at no charge). Pool lies in the middle of the court yard underneath snaking vines and a view of the rice fields behind. Comfortable beds with aircon and high quality fans make for a cool, relaxing space to come back to.

Would recommend to any with a medium budget, not too many rooms which is nice and very quiet overall.

Pleasant stay, would return in an instant. A lovely hotel.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Micoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, Manager at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Micoila,

Thank you very much for bringing your stay experience at the brown Feather to TA portal that would be of a good reference to our future guests.

We all are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and love our design and decor.

Have a good day and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Komang Swesen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews