We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not great..”
Review of Chandralok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chandralok Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not great..”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We decided to book hotel Chandralok in Lonavala after reading numerous reviews on tripadvisor and other websites for a weekend getaway...Though the hotel wasn't all that bad, it was nowhere close to what we expected. There were a number of issues with the hotel that left us disappointed..

The biggest issue for us was the food. They primarily offer Gujarati thali with very few other options. Now, the thali which they offer is nowhere close to the authentic Gujarati thali and for non-gujarati people, it could become a nightmare if they have to eat the same sort of food again and again!
Another big issue was the professionalism of the staff. The staff didnt seem much trained or professional. We had to ring up a number of times before someone would pick up the phone for room service and the staff wasn't able to converse well at times.
Moreover, the rooms felt smaller than the advertised pictures and there was some sort of stinking smell all the time, and staff's clothes were also smelling bad.However, when we talked to some other tourists, we came to know that most of the hotels in Lonavala have the problem of stinking because it rains there all the time and maintenance is very difficult.

On the positive side, the bed in the room was comfortable, the LCD TV was decent and the hotel was close to the marketplace.

Overall, I would say go there only if you dont have better option.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a glass bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_quintessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    177
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
147
139
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Had been to Hotel Chandralok with my family for an extended weekend trip to lonavala. The hotel is getting renovated so the things weren't at their best like the lift wasn't functioning too well, exteriors were to be painted etc etc. But the rooms were absolutely clean and the furniture's were new too.

The best part was the complimentary breakfast. It was delicious with multiple options like Dosa's, fruits, Sandwiches, etc.

Overall had a decent stay at this play and would recommend this to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darshandodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I had gone to Lonavala from Mumbai for a one night vacation last week. We chose Lonavala as it is near Munabi and a quick and scenic drive from Mumbai. We chose Chandralok Hotel for our stay based on its TripAdvisor ranking and room tariffs. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the town and is easy to find. But it goes downhill from there. The hotel was under renovation when we reached there, which is strange because a review in January 2011 also mentioned that the hotel was renovating at that time also. The check in time is 11am, and we had reached at around that time only. But we got the room after 15 minutes or so because it was being cleaned. We had booked an Executive room through MakeMyTrip and therefore had paid in advance. The room was clean - a little dark due to the renovation, they had stretched tarpaulin outside the windows.

But what was most uncomfortable was the noise activity continuously outside the room. First the housekeeping had come to clean adjacent rooms, who kept making noises and throwing around stuff. Secondly, with the rain hammering on the tarpaulin, hotel staff kept shouting from below about the drainage. We had gone out in the evening and had hoped that the night would be better. But unfortunately we were again woken up by noisy room guests in the adjacent rooms the morning too. Someone has already written about the noise levels in the rooms earlier in the review, so the hotel definitely has a problem there. Proper noise insulation has to be planned. The elevator wasn't working because of the renovation either.

The only saving grace of the hotel was its well-known thali. Priced at Rs 200 (+taxes), they did serve a delicious Gujarati thali. Can't write much about the quality of the food as we didn't have much to eat there.

All in all, not a very comfortable stay. I would say the hotel looks attractive because of its tariff (and hotels in Lonavala are overpriced), but would suggest travelers to consider not skimping on the budget in order to get a good night's sleep. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Best Budget Hotel in Lonavala! Well planned interiors, Rooms are Clean, Room services is Good, Very Close to the Bus Station. Good Veg Restaurant. Staff is very friendly. Stayed in Deuble Bed Deluxe AC Room with LCD, AIrCon and nicely done interiors. Best hotel for couples.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rehan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Fantastic Dinner!
Excellent Breakfast!
Good Rooms!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank RNAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.2 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.6 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.9 km away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#17 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.1 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.6 km away
Lonavala - Under the Over, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandralok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandralok Hotel

Property: Chandralok Hotel
Address: Near Lonavala Bustand, Lonavala 410401, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price range (per night): $67 - $124
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandralok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chandralok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing