We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off : 2 star quality for 5 star price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach at Pollethai
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The best thing about this place is the amazing beach - white sand as far you you can see in either direction and blissfully uncrowded. But there are much better hotels in the same area - we left Pollethai and went to the Abad Turtle Beach down the road - so much better.

The Beach at Pollethai would be fine if they were charging for a 2 or maybe 3 star hotel. But they are not. They are charging 5 star prices and it's simply not worth it. The accommodation is basic and slightly shabby. The canals in the property are full of rotting leaves and harbour swarms of mosquitos (the manager called them "crystal clear" - what a joke). Across the canal from our room were heaps of black plastic rubbish sacks. The manager claimed they were full of leaves not rubbish and could not understand why we had a problem with "the view". One of the doors to our room did not work, the safe did not work, the cleaning was poor. etc, etc. In common with other bad reviews on this site we found the staff - while well meaning - are either incompetent or powerless to do deal with a complaint as they are ruled by the "director" in Cochin who cannot be disobeyed.

If you are paying downmarket prices then you expect a place to be rough around the edges and you put up with it. But the Beach at Pollethai is having a laugh charging top dollar. It needs a makeover and decent management but until then I cannot recommend it.

Stayed: February 2009
1  Thank MarcusSW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed for 5 days in April with our sons aged 7 & 9 and had a fantastic time. The bungalows are in a gorgeous setting between a river and beautiful beach. This is our 2nd visit to the area, we statyed at Marari Beach on our 1st visit and much prefer Pollethai for its personal service and attention to detail. We had use of canoes and were able to punt along the river on our own ticking off the amazing birds and flora we came across. Mathew is the perfect host and nothing is to much trouble. The Cooking lesson is not to be missed ....the food is delicious and maybe expensive by Indian standards but you are still only talking £3-£4 for a main course. The massage is sooooo relaxing and there is even a smaller version of a Chinese fishing net to try which the boys thought was great fun, though they did only catch a couple of crabs!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
Thank mozzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We have recently returned from a 27 day tour of India. Our last destination was Pollethai beach. We were there 3 nights. The cottage was spotlessly clean. (No 3) and had everything in it to make the stay a pleasure. The scenery is fantastic, the beach goes on forever, and the pool wonderful to swim in after the heat of the day. The food we found to be very good, and because it was cooked to order extremely fresh. We had stayed in 19 hotels through India, and thought Pollethai no more expensive than any other hotel . Matthew and all the staff were very kind and helpful. It was a haven of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNDON38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This is a wonderful place to get away from it all. The cottages are all secluded and the beach is beautiful. All the staff, from the reception to the restaurant could not be more helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

If you want to switch off and be pampered with excellent service and wonderful food, this is the place.

There are free cooking classes every morning and wonderful breakfasts looking at the Arabian Sea.

Special thanks to Anil, Harry Kumar, Vithya, Daisy and the lovely housekeeping ladies.

Thankyou for making our trip special.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed at this small resort in march 09 and had an excellent time. It was peaceful, relaxing and the staff couldnt do enough to make our stay perfect. The cottages are spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. The food was first class and they could get good wine if requested. Be prepared 'the beach is primative and you can see locals in the distance using the beach as a toilet however the beach directly in front is kept clean and has a man perminantly placed to look out for guests. Matthew at the resort was really helpful and could arrange any service needed (ie trips). We booked this hotel directly via website and travelled airindia. You do not need a travel agent to visit Kerala. We booked our hotels via internet and just arranged a driver and car to take us from one place to another. Staff in the hotel receptions can book a car and driver for you and they are offiicially registared. We also visited Munnar, Thekkady, Kumarakom and Kochi. Easy to do yourself and we worked it out that for two of us it cost £700.00 less than a tour operator and we had more freedom.

Thank jojoloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 km away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#16 of 71 in Alappuzha
65 reviews
0 km away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
0 km away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#59 of 71 in Alappuzha
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Geeyo on the Beach
Geeyo on the Beach
#35 of 71 in Alappuzha
7 reviews
0 km away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#11 of 71 in Alappuzha
64 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Rosa Mystica Beach Resort
#43 of 71 in Alappuzha
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach at Pollethai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach at Pollethai

Address: Pollethai PO | Mararikulam South, Alleppey, Alappuzha 688567, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $6 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach Resort with picturesque views, with a river that runs at the side and channels that cut through the resort. The beach is private, and there is breakfast shack on the beach, with its own kitchen. The restaurant overlooks the swimming pool which looks over the river to the sea. Very exclusive and peaceful. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach At Pollethai Hotel Alappuzha
Beach At Pollethai Kerala
Beach At Pollethai Hotel
The Beach At Pollethai Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing