We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic was it to spent one day and one night...”
other travellers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
248 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 248 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
EnjoyTrav...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overhyped experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The houseboat was in bad condition. There were other houseboat which were neater. Overall though staying in the houseboat does not add anything more to the experience than taking a ride on the boat. There was a rat on board too. The chef could have done a better job with the cooking. Service was okay too- they were hesitant to give some extra milk for the kids, not enough fruits (just one pineapple and 2 mangos). We paid for a/c stay but all night the a/c was off, they turned it on in the morning only after we requested. Overall, I would say the best way to enjoy the experience of to just do a day trip on the houseboat

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Hi ,

First of all we are not aware which guest you are. As we do regularly collect reviews from our traveled guest and we haven't yet received any complaints like you mentioned in the any of the past months. Please make sure that you have traveled with pournami itself.

We are very particular about our guest who do travel with us especially with kids. We do keep all things in stock when we have kids on board.Also we give priority to the services and we never switched off the Ac at night and leaving our guest to have horrible experience for any gains.

Also all our houseboats are renovated and ready to welcome guest for the coming festive season. So we are 100 % sure that you might have traveled in some other boat.

Last we have given 24 hrs hotline number written and pasted on the boat itself to call in case of any emergency to our operations team. We have not even received any calls of such horrible experience from any of our guest till now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkvidyana...
Ernakulam, India
1 review
“Fantastic was it to spent one day and one night in the waves of Kuttanad,with Pournami's Crew.”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were 5, my,wife.brother and family with me.From the arrival to departure next day we were in another world.The Crew were very help full to Us.Surely I and my family will recommend :Pournami: whenever they decide to go for an outing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food for 4 times I like
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arjun_dor...
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good service and quality Houseboats.Can go for it.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very good service and quality houseboats.Can go for it.

Pros :

1.Good, clean and hygiene houseboats. Bathrooms were also very clean ,had no issue.
2.Interiors of houseboat are well maintained.
3.Food was good, had many varieties.Asked for medium spicy food and it was prepared as required.Enjoyed food.
4.Staff in boat was very cooperative and kind.
5.Overall service of pournami houseboat was very good.

They helped me in booking hotel rooms in Alleppey and also vehicle for sight seeing.I requested for a cake to be arranged in boat and they did this without any issue.

Overall service of the staff was very good and many thanks to great service.

Special thanks to Parvathi for arranging things as requested and for kind cooperation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jismon J
1 review
“Very Nice Trip............”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was a wonderful experience in Houseboat with Pournami ...... Food was very good..
Thanks to all the crew members especially Parvathy for arranging all the facilities there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thankyou for your support in making your trip memorable to us:)

Please do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chang X
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat, delightful end to our trip in India”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked a 2-day houseboat with a 3-bedroom houseboat for 6 of us. It was so peaceful to gently sail through the backwaters of Kerala. You're constantly given treats of fruits, coconuts to drink, and fed plenty.

Shiam is the *best* cook and I lapped up everything he cooked. I can't believe that he's our personal cook for the 2 days! I would go back just to eat his cooking. Tell them that you want to buy additional fish and they'll cook it for you. We bought prawns, crabs, and fish. Our foodie tour guide in Madurai told us to ask them to cook the following two dishes and they are *so* good:
- Karimeen fry or polichathu (Pearlspot fish fry - they will cook the fish in spices wrapped in banana leaf)
- Chemmeen Moilee (Prawn Moilee)

For additional entertainment, you can ask to fish and drive the boat, and they'll oblige as well. All in all, it was a great end to our trip throughout South India!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing