We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property
One bedroom premium houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
66 reviews
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
HouseboatLiving area
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
Houeboat Bedroom
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
One bedroom premium houseboat welcome drink
Houseboat Bedroom
Houseboat overview
Houseboat photos
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Kitchen
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Dining
Houseboat Bathroom
Housbeoat Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dip_roy12...
Greater Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Truly awesome experience. If there is one thing to do in Kerala it would be houseboat experience. We went for a day cruise and it was awesome. Thanks to Eldhose and his great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anitha06
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Houseboat, Awesome experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was much more than our imagination. A night stay is a must in your holiday or travel list.
Choosing Nova Houseboat complimented our thoughts. It’s very clean & neat houseboat, food was good & crew members were very polite and helpful. Thank you all.
No ‘Stinks ‘ all clean to have a peaceful stay & to enjoy !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erichew
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top of the pops”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We looked long and hard to hire a houseboat here. We studied it online and taking the advice of some, we went to Aleppey to check them out live! We're so glad we did. Internet pictures ain't the same!! You've got to factor the " smells" and pictures don't show dirt and grease!! If you know what I mean!
Nova houseboat got our pick! We were staying in the homestay whilst checking out the boats, after checking out numerous, we were soo disappointed , then we found this right under our feet our feet! See Nova homestay review.
Clean, well maintained, not smelly or dirty like some of the others and their greatest asset is the captain and cook! Not to mention the thoughtful and caring owner, Mr Eldhose, who assisted us on and explained everything to us so that there were no disappointments and surprises in store for us.
We probably had the best Keralan food on board! Capt. Bhindu and cook Vishal certainly went the extra mile to look after us and explaining life on the shore to us, picking local fruit from trees along the waters edge for us to try, etc, etc. bhindu's English is ok. Better than my Malayalam!! One could not ask for a better crew.
Only one minor gripe, and not really significant really, is that on the last night, we tied up to the bank near the dock to enable us to disembark at 9 ish am, there were masses of flying insects around, although we we OK in the dark, whilst waiting for the a/c to start. I think that this may be seasonal but perhaps a more salubrious anchorage could be found? One that, perhaps, not as dank? The other anchorages were idyllic, not another house boat in sight.
On the whole, tremendous experience due to good management and crew and one to be thoroughly recommended if you require a houseboat sans cooking odours, not grubby, a relatively sane galley(for India), startling clean white sheets and a smashing crew, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAHOHEHER...
Roth, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fantastic experience for us”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a pleasure to be guest on the houseboat tour
Highly recommended total friendly staff and an excellent host
clean accommodation great meals

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: to stay in the evening night on the boat was great
Liked least: nothing was all ok
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gautammri...
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic houseboat day/night stay with Nova houseboat Granma”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

our 10th wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special so we choose the Nova houseboat a day/night package. Along with our 5.5 yr son it was a fantastic experience of living through the boat. We were delighted by the hospitality on the boat with freshly cooked lunch, sea food dinner and nutritious breakfast the very next day. The drinking water was also sufficient. had a pleasant sight seeing in the backwaters.
Only late evening when the houseboat took shore only dim lights were on in the boat so if some activities can be planned for a family that 2-3 hrs can be engaged better. The overnight sleep on the boat was a memorable one. Overall enjoyed the experience. expected more stop overs in the morning so that we could click photos on various back water spots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backwaters boat ride and the fresh food cooked in the houseboat kitchen
Liked least: There should be more stop over points in the houseboat during the late evening and morning, fishing activity to be properly conducted for yourng kids as an experience
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing