We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience - would recommend it 100%”
Review of Motty's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motty's Homestay
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We had a truly fantastic stay at Motty's last month and have already recommended it to friends and family!

We stayed for four nights and Motty and Lali really went the extra mile to make our stay really fantastic. From the warm welcome we received on arrival, to the tour Motty very kindly gave us to help us to find the best of Allepey, we were made to feel very at home and had a really relaxing stay.

We stayed in the room connected to the main house which has the four poster bed (with steps) and the room was very clean and very beautiful. The bathroom was nice and clean on arrival.

The food was really nice. We had been staying in hotels and having a western breakfast so it made a real change to have authentic Keralan food for breakfast/lunch/dinner. One of the highlights of our stay was when Lali took the time to give us a cookery lesson and showed us how to make some of the food we had eaten. It was very kind and really made our holiday!

We had three days in Allepey so really explored. There is a very nice restaurant only a 5 minute walk from Motty's which served lovely food and was incredibly cheap! We had read mixed reviews of the beaches in Kerala but the beach at Allepey was clean and really lovely and we would recommend going there for a walk. We took a rickshaw home and it took less than 5 minutes. We took the four hour backwater boat trip and really enjoyed it. Having been on a house boat before, we saw a lot more in the narrower boat that Motty recommended than on the house boat.

Overall, a very special home, run by two lovely people and we will be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Thank you very for your compliments! We enjoyed having you stay with us.

Wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Motty & Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed at Motty's for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. After the chaos of northern India it was good to arrive in (relatively) peaceful Kerala, albeit in the midst of a biblical storm... Motty had arranged our collection from the airport (a slowish two hour drive away), and on arrival we were made to feel very welcome with a drink on the terrace, while the rain lashed down around us.

Our room was very spacious and well furnished - lots of interesting adornments - with the centrepiece being the raised (requiring steps...) four poster bed. Very comfortable and with real character.

Motty arranged a boat trip for us the next day - I had enquired in advance but Motty waited until we arrived so we could discuss timings and the various options. Given we only had one day we took a narrow boat out for four hours (Motty's suggestion) - a great experience, so relaxing and a fantastic way to see the stunning backwaters - and just a short walk from Motty's place. In the afternoon we walked the short distance to the town centre for lunch, then carried on to the beach (a fair way but easy enough along on the South Canal).

Breakfast and dinner (included) were in the lovely dining room and were fantastic - a real showcase of Keralan food from Motty's wife, Lali. We particularly enjoyed the rice breads (parota) and potato masala (for breakfast), and the fresh fish was lovely. Motty chatted to us over dinner, sharing stories and discussing current issues.

Overall, we left disappointed we couldn't stay longer and for a very friendly, comfortable and traditional experience of a Keralan homestay we would happily recommend a stay with Motty and Lali.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Jess_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Thank you Mark and Jess. We are happy you enjoyed Alleppey and our home!

Motty&Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

On arrival we were very dissapointed to find our room dirty.As we stepped inside the door there was a squashed cockroach on the floor that was the first thing I saw, you could see the floor hadnt been swept. No where to put any clothes, draws wardrobe etc. Bedding was grey so were towels. Door to outside shower broken, toilet hadnt been cleaned( you know what I mean) shower wall broken along with towel rail sort of thing.Toilet seat filthy. Bathroom was outside so when I went out in the morning there were neighbours looking down at me, I felt really uncomfortable
I looked into it before I went on the trip advisor, but as it looks on the pictures close up it is a very different matter.
We would never go back to Mottys and would certainly not recommend it to any one

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julala71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Thank you for your review which I saw only today!!

We always welcome healthy and constructive criticism and therefore thank you for the review. It made me sit up and think , especially because this was the very first major negative observation about our small place in all these years. We have been running the home stay for 15 years and that is a long time!

You will remember that you were the only guests here on those days and you checked in before dawn , six hours before actual check in time!

Since all the other rooms were vacant you could have called our attention to any little inconvenience you had and it would have been our pleasure to shift you to one of the other rooms. Moreover if you had pointed out any problems you had when you were here it would have been a great help for us to correct. Two other couples have stayed in that room since and have not made any remark.

This particular room with the open toilet was given to you because most of our western clients request in particular for that room with the garden bath!!

It has been raining here for the last SIX MONTHS and we have had a fair amount of trouble. But unfortunately we can address these problems only after the rains stop for a few days.

I am apologizing for the inconveniences you had in our home stay and in general for all the unpleasant experiences in India. Your observation about your feelings about India definitely warrants an apology an behalf of everything here.

I must Thank You for the nice words you wrote in our visitors book before departure.

Wish you all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A very nice place to stay to discover the Kerala traditionnal life and the delicious home stay food. Lali and Motty receive you in their home and you really feel part of the family. It is a real experience to be in homestay in Kerala. You can be free to go on your own program, or you can ask Motty to help you to discover the surroundings on quiet rythm ...
A very good address to recommend especially for those who prefer the contact with the Kerala people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We really loved the stay there you should really come to allepey with the boatraces and stay with motty

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fingebimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
3.8 km away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#12 of 70 in Alappuzha
56 reviews
0.0 km away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
4.2 km away
Paloma Backwater Resorts
Paloma Backwater Resorts
#15 of 70 in Alappuzha
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#20 of 70 in Alappuzha
34 reviews
5.1 km away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
93 reviews
34.3 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motty's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motty's Homestay

Address: Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688 013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $142 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Heritage Homestay accommodation offering peace and tranquility in the quaint little town of Alleppey -the gateway to the Backwaters" This traditional Syrian Christian home with it's gardenn view verandahs bring back old world charm . Comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Guests have exclusive use of the comfortably furnished sitting room with its beamed ceiling and wooden antique furniture, and guests own private entrance. Emphasis is on the food which is cooked for you by the lady of the house using fresh local ingredients and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Motty's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motty`s Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Motty's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing