We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
84
12
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
12
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree roomsreal homestaylalikeralaalleppeybackwatersarrangementsbirdsboats
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed at Motty's for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. After the chaos of northern India it was good to arrive in (relatively) peaceful Kerala, albeit in the midst of a biblical storm... Motty had arranged our collection from the airport (a slowish two hour drive away), and on arrival we were made to feel very welcome with a drink on the terrace, while the rain lashed down around us.

Our room was very spacious and well furnished - lots of interesting adornments - with the centrepiece being the raised (requiring steps...) four poster bed. Very comfortable and with real character.

Motty arranged a boat trip for us the next day - I had enquired in advance but Motty waited until we arrived so we could discuss timings and the various options. Given we only had one day we took a narrow boat out for four hours (Motty's suggestion) - a great experience, so relaxing and a fantastic way to see the stunning backwaters - and just a short walk from Motty's place. In the afternoon we walked the short distance to the town centre for lunch, then carried on to the beach (a fair way but easy enough along on the South Canal).

Breakfast and dinner (included) were in the lovely dining room and were fantastic - a real showcase of Keralan food from Motty's wife, Lali. We particularly enjoyed the rice breads (parota) and potato masala (for breakfast), and the fresh fish was lovely. Motty chatted to us over dinner, sharing stories and discussing current issues.

Overall, we left disappointed we couldn't stay longer and for a very friendly, comfortable and traditional experience of a Keralan homestay we would happily recommend a stay with Motty and Lali.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Jess_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Thank you Mark and Jess. We are happy you enjoyed Alleppey and our home!

Motty&Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

On arrival we were very dissapointed to find our room dirty.As we stepped inside the door there was a squashed cockroach on the floor that was the first thing I saw, you could see the floor hadnt been swept. No where to put any clothes, draws wardrobe etc. Bedding was grey so were towels. Door to outside shower broken, toilet hadnt been cleaned( you know what I mean) shower wall broken along with towel rail sort of thing.Toilet seat filthy. Bathroom was outside so when I went out in the morning there were neighbours looking down at me, I felt really uncomfortable
I looked into it before I went on the trip advisor, but as it looks on the pictures close up it is a very different matter.
We would never go back to Mottys and would certainly not recommend it to any one

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julala71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureTours, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Thank you for your review which I saw only today!!

We always welcome healthy and constructive criticism and therefore thank you for the review. It made me sit up and think , especially because this was the very first major negative observation about our small place in all these years. We have been running the home stay for 15 years and that is a long time!

You will remember that you were the only guests here on those days and you checked in before dawn , six hours before actual check in time!

Since all the other rooms were vacant you could have called our attention to any little inconvenience you had and it would have been our pleasure to shift you to one of the other rooms. Moreover if you had pointed out any problems you had when you were here it would have been a great help for us to correct. Two other couples have stayed in that room since and have not made any remark.

This particular room with the open toilet was given to you because most of our western clients request in particular for that room with the garden bath!!

It has been raining here for the last SIX MONTHS and we have had a fair amount of trouble. But unfortunately we can address these problems only after the rains stop for a few days.

I am apologizing for the inconveniences you had in our home stay and in general for all the unpleasant experiences in India. Your observation about your feelings about India definitely warrants an apology an behalf of everything here.

I must Thank You for the nice words you wrote in our visitors book before departure.

Wish you all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A very nice place to stay to discover the Kerala traditionnal life and the delicious home stay food. Lali and Motty receive you in their home and you really feel part of the family. It is a real experience to be in homestay in Kerala. You can be free to go on your own program, or you can ask Motty to help you to discover the surroundings on quiet rythm ...
A very good address to recommend especially for those who prefer the contact with the Kerala people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We really loved the stay there you should really come to allepey with the boatraces and stay with motty

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fingebimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Motty and Lali, lovely house filled with antiques, our room had the most enormous traditional four poster bed needing steps to get into. All the food was locally sourced, homecooked, course after course and delicious. Motty can arrange all sorts of trips and is extremely knowledgable and easy to talk to andhappy to help in any way.
He sugeested we had a day with a local family on the backwaters away from the tourist trail. We were collected at 6.30am by our host and taken by the local ferry to his house were we greeted by his wife and children. After breakfast of baked bananas and tea we had a thrree hour boat ride along the tiny canals, experiencing the local life, wedding preparations, clothes washing, children being taught to fish, quite amazing . On our return home cooked lunch served on banana leaves, quite delicoius and cooked over an open fire. We walked through the rice fields and learnt about the growing and harvesting of rice. After more tea and chatting with the family we returned by ferry to Allepey, what a wonderful and memorable day. We wished we could have stayed longer and learnt more about life in this part of India

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissieb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews