We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dianne A
Sydney, Australia

Wonderful Experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2017via mobile
We are Seniors travelling from Australia. This was a wonderful experience, the attentive staff Joseph, Prince and Jobbi are to be congratulated for attending to our every need. We were picked up from the Wharf at Kumarakom Lakes Resort for our backwater adventure. On arrival at the end of our experience, when our LPTI Driver miscalculated the traffic congestion and was 45 minutes late, a Shore Crewmember, who could converse in fluent English, was able to call Cochin LPTI Office and keep us informed on the drivers arrival - many thanks to all concerned.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this review
Responded 21 Feb 2017
Hello Dianne,

Your heartwarming review has made our day. Our fellow Xandarians are experts at making travelers feel comfortable at all times and it’s great to hear your comments about them. The backwater adventure is an exclusive feature of Kerala holiday and glad to know that you enjoyed it. If Kerala makes it to your travel itinerary again, do check out the tranquil experience we have kept for at Cardamom County, our haven in the hills.

Happy travels to you.

J Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$188
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
3.4 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Priceline
7.0 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$27
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$120
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$120
21.3 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Breakfast included
AU$171
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$171
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$164
  • eDreams
15.2 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
4.2 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Trip.com
5.0 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • eDreams
17.5 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
8.5 km from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alappuzha
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
407
80
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
407
80
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller boat upper deck one night night cruise house boat air con unique experience boat crew bedroom boat overnight stay prawns kerala backwaters canoe ride river cruise daily life chicken curry fish market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The boat was very relaxing, the crew was friendly and helpful. The meals were fantastic.
Very relaxing way to spend a day after your tour of India. Highly recommend.
The rooms are simple but comfortable with a/c and showers.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for joining our mesmerizing cruise through the breath-taking water network of Alappuzha – one of the most relaxing ways to soak in the natural beauty of Kerala. It is indeed a matter of pride and joy to know that you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed the entire experience.

We look forward to having you on board soon.

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We boarded our houseboat the "Karamana around 12.30pm and were greeted by a delightful crew of Shibumon - Captain, Saneesh - Driver/Engineer, and the wonderful chef Shiju, with a coconut milk drink and great smiles.
The rooms where clean and nicely presented and the boat was immaculate.
The crew were very attentive and the food provided was great and plentiful.
The scenery amongst the backwaters was also great, going through the canals viewing day to day village life.
The cruise itself was wonderful and very relaxing, just what was needed after the 4 hour drive from Thekkady.
Lunch, Dinner and breakfast is provided along with aircon in the bedroom.
I would suggest that anyone going on the houseboats if you would like a drink (alcohol) that you purchase it beforehand at the Government appointed stores as there is none available on the boat apart from fresh water. Saying that the crew where happy to make a detour should you require any provisions.
A very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andreasO6927QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

"Hello Andrea!

A sail through the mesmerizing nature with a personal entourage is an absolutely fabulous experience, isn’t it? Backwater cruise is one of a kind experience that you get to enjoy in Kerala from serving fresh sea food to ensuring a relaxing stay, Xandari Riverscapes includes all the essential elements to create a memorable holiday experience.

We are very happy to know that you had a good time with us! Should your travels bring you back to Kerala, do check out the beautiful experiences we have kept for you at Xandari Harbour, our harbor-facing, waterfront property at world heritage-worthy Fort Kochi) and Xandari Pearl at Alleppey, our beach hideaway.

See you soon!"

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

6 of us boarded the houseboat for an overnight stay. It is a true "Escape" from the noise and busy life on the streets of India. 3 staff looked after us including Chef Martin who also gave a cooking demonstration. We dined on local fish and large prawns along with other traditional Kerala fare. So interesting to see the local people going about their daily activities along the shores of the Backwaters. If you enjoy beer, wine or spirits You need to purchase it ahead on the way to the dock.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi Sue,

It feels great to know that you had a memorable day with us. Backwater
cruise is a delightful way to take a break from the busy urban life. Apart from
sailing through a serene setting, we see to it that travelers enjoy a delicious
meal and a luxurious living experience in our traditional cruise boats. Chef
Martin is very enthusiastic about sharing his culinary expertise and we hope he
gave you a tip or two about whipping up a fabulous Kerala cuisine.

Thank you for sharing cruise pictures – they are lovely. We look forward
to seeing you soon.

Happy travels to you.

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

When we saw the boat we wondered who would be sharing the experience with us - but we were the sole occupants of a magnificent floating hotel. The crew were attentive, the food was superb, served attentively and in large quantities and the cruising was an unforgettable experience as Kerala drifted slowly past. Watching flocks of birds coming into roost through the sunset and travelling by canoe through the narrow canals off the main channels where each household had its steps to the water and its "washing stone" were just 2 highlights. How we wished we had chosen to have two nights there so as to experience this unique form of accommodation for a little longer. The only down side was the A/C which packed in at midnight and didn't start again until 6am - a technical glitch perhaps but it led to a rather sweaty night that detracted from the overall experienced - surely the crew should be alerted when something that fundamental goes wrong?

Room tip: Look - it's a boat - the views change every minute. It's brilliant.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

"Hi Peter!

Drifting through the peaceful backwaters of Kerala brings all your thoughts to a standstill, doesn’t it? This is the kind of experience we aspire to share with our travelers and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the Xandari Riverscapes cruise! Vembanad is a usual stopover for migratory birds and we hope you were able to catch a glimpse of the rare species. Sorry to hear about the glitch that made your stay uncomfortable – we have taken up steps to ensure that these issues don’t crop up in future.

If you wish to experience the serenity again then do come by – but this time for a little longer!

Regards

J Sunil

Happy travels to you!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

An average experience. Unfortunately, the trip did not offer exceptional value. The quality of the boat was average, the room too small for two people and their luggage and the washroom with a filthy smell. Lacking language skills made this a monotone experience. The cook tried its best to prepare decent food. After an uncomfortable night, we were glad that the excursion ended at 8.45am the following day. In retrospect, the most disappointing stay during our trip considering the 4 hours drive to get there and the value for money.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank follydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

"Hi there!

Xandarians are deeply saddened to know that you couldn’t have a good time on our cruise. All our boats are of high standards with spacious washrooms and adequate space for holding the luggage. All boats are also pre-checked for readiness prior to the check in by travelers. Our fellow Xandarians are professionally trained and have received a multitude of appreciations on their service and hospitality. But we have taken your thoughts seriously and are looking into the matter. Given the opportunity we would like to offer you a refined and pleasant holiday experience on your next visit to Kerala.

Hope to see you soon.

Happy travels!"

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews