We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
104
19
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife narrow canal wooden house small village motor canoe village life tasty lunch two nights would highly recommend staying here gracious hosts paddy fields hindu temple we loved our stay air conditioning keralan food small boat tuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

What a wonderful place and many thanks to Dr. Chacko and his family for hosting us so well. We hope all went well with the wedding and your speech! We were two families who stayed here in late December. The house is accessed via a small boat, along small canals and it was really magical. We loved our stay here. We wondered into the village and along the local paths/canals. The garden is absolutely amazing and we were happy to lounge outside, reading and relaxing as well. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank familytravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This homestay is just remarkable. You will be let off by a Tuk-Tuk or car on one side of a small river and a long boat with engine which is dedicated to the homestay will come and pick you up and take you to the opposite side. From there, you will travel up a narrow canal, passing many, well-taken care of, and completely individual canal homes with owners fishing off of stone steps, doing laundry, and owners talking over to their neighbour on the other side of the small canal. It is a magical environment and so Keralan in the connection with the backwater life. Once drawn up to the Nelpura homestay, you will be taken to one of three units in a separate, old-fashioned, solid teak building. We stayed in one of the corner units. The land and gardens are well-maintained and much of what you eat comes from the property. The meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) are served in the main, beautifully maintained house which is 6th generation in the family of the gracious hosts. For smooth running of the homestay, a lovely woman, Manju, takes care of all the tourist requests with lots of professionalism, calmness and sincerity. You can walk all around the canals from the house, and it is really lovely to hear the church choral singing from the church just down from the house. To get the true Kerala feeling, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The corner units have more windows and are a bit brighter in consideration of the beautiful, but dark teak wood.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank isle_dew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We spent three nights here and were sad to leave. So special to be picked up by canoe and taken across the main waterway, into a little side channel and so to Nelpura. A beautiful main house where you take your meals and accommodation in the renovated rice granary which is mainly wood so your room feels as though it could be on a ship. Quaint features like internal wooden shutters but highly effective mosquito screens too. Bathroom simple but adequate and clean.
Good to have a tea and coffe making area in the passage outside the three rooms together with a fridge and plenty of bottled water. We also enjoyed the occasional cold beer!
The sitting out area was spacious and well furnished and the garden a colourful delight complete with hammocks and swing seats.
The food was good and Manjula, the housekeeper, excellent. In fact all the house and garden staff made our stay so successful and our host and wife were informative and friendly.
We have enjoyed the houseboats in the past but from them you just look at life in the backwaters. Staying at Nelpura you are part of that life and other than the guests staying there, never more than six, we saw just two visitors in our extensive walks around the village.
A wonderful experience and highly recommended. We intend to return.

Room Tip: The middle room has a very high threshold step so be aware!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swallows2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We were met and taken by boat on the backwaters to this delightful home stay, a very warm welcome awaited us, beautiful gardens with hammocks and garden chairs. Our room was very clean with a nice bathroom, free wifi. Tea/coffee was provided with bottled water in a fridge shared with room next door, also beer available to buy. We were given a very tasty lunch. There is a boat trip available around the backwaters, payable locally, you can take a long walk along the canal, map provided. Dinner was freshly cooked and traditional to the area, this was taken in the main house, the owner of this home stay is very pleasant and all staff first class, would highly recommend staying here

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Last October 2016, our family went for a getaway in Allepey. We chose Nelpura Heritage Homestay and we didn't regret at all! Perfect location in a small backwater canal, beautiful settings, our 2 rooms were in a very nice traditional house. Peaceful garden - very nice at the end of afternoon to have a rest and enjoy our tea or coffee moments ! Our host did their very best to make ur stay memorable - and they did succeed! Rooms are spacious, very clean and the food just succulent ! Highly recommenced :)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MiniCooper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews