We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
104
19
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife narrow canal wooden house small village motor canoe village life tasty lunch two nights would highly recommend staying here gracious hosts paddy fields hindu temple we loved our stay air conditioning keralan food small boat tuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We really enjoyed our short stay at Nelpura, even though heavy monsoon rains had flooded the canal-sides and walking and cycling would have been difficult. The gardens are pretty and a perfect setting for the splendid traditional house that is both the guest accommodation and a fine example of Keralan craftsmanship (spot the wooden door hinges!). Bird-life abounds and we saw many rose-ringed parakeets and black-hooded orioles (beautiful golden yellow colour) in the mango trees, so binoculars essential. Mr and Mrs (Prof) Chacko are great hosts and the food is delicious, so this is a great place to stay and absorb the local atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Althea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

In this beautiful traditional Kerala home no effort is spared to make your stay comfortable, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. Professor Chaco and his family could not be more kind. They are a delight to be around and the insights they offer on the local culture are a real eye opener. Everything from the trip by canoe along a remote shady backwater to the beautifully converted old granary building where they accommodate guests is utterly magical. Special dietary requirements are studiously catered for as are any areas of special interest. A Professor at the local university, if he doesn't have an immediate answer to any of your questions, Professor Chaco soon will do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Mr Chacko and his wife are very nice people. A wonderful place , nice people, great food and pictureque setting.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Nelpura Homestay is just about as perfect as anyone could expect.

The location in a tiny village surrounded by canals and the backwaters is idyllic, and the hospitality on offer at the Homestay is simply outstanding. We were made to feel like honoured guests of the family, and got to see what real village life is at first hand.

The food is simply delicious - there is so much of it that we put on loads of excess pounds during our stay, but it was too good to turn down!!

Chacko is a great host, friendly and attentive without being too intrusive, and gave us space to soak up the atmosphere and relax completely.

They also organise rice boat trips onto th backwaters which was a terrific experience which we thoroughly enjoyed.

All in all it is difficult to fault this place and so I am not even going to begin to try!!

You should try this place for a peep at how village life is for myriad people in a fantastic environment.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This gives you a completely different experience of the backwaters, compared to a house boat on the larger canals. You arrive by canoe, though a small canal, and can walk along the small waterways, around the village or borrow bikes to make a longer trip, which gives you a much better idea of the life of people who live in this area. Professor Chacko and his wife, together with Joseph, are excellent hosts who will give you a lot of local information and suggest various activities to you. They are extremely helpful; Prof Chacko let us stay on in our room till the evening and then took us into Alleppey to catch our train. The rooms are very nice and it was so relaxing sitting on the verandah overlooking the beautiful gardens, looking forward to yet another wonderful meal!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vickieplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews