We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
144
47
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
47
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe ride tree house bird watching walk early morning bird watching morning nature walk worth visiting at least once rice fields village walk early morning walk the cottages home cooked typical indian across the river watching the world drinking water plastic bottles rooms are very basic
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The perfect place to stay to enjoy the appeal of the Allepey backwaters without the chaos of the big city with its house boats. We spent our day lounged on the front balcony enjoying the lazy houseboats and canoes ride by. The sunset canoe ride included in the stay was one of our highlights in Kerala (the morning nature walk, not so much).

The place is off the beaten path, and tough for taxis to figure out where to go without calling the property directly. Once you arrive at the backwater, the hotel meets you in a canoe to take you to the other side.

Please take the all inclusive option with the food as once you're there, you don't really have any other option - the place is pretty secluded.

Room tip: Take the treehouse
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ahlam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We spent 2 nights here. Onr arrival we were met by a canoe and taken to our bungalow set in amongst the trees right by the waters edge. We were given a light lunch and then spent the afternoon relaxing in the hammocks and day beds. In the evening we went on a canoe ride up the river which was very relaxing before dinner. Rooms were comfortable with ensuite wet rooms and air conditioning. We were given mosquito cream to use and on the second morning went on a lovely nature walk at dawn round the paddy fields. Ratheesh our quide was very knowledgeable of the wildlife of the area. This island has its own drinking water but if you want anything other than water you will need to bring it yourself or take the canoe across the river to the shop. There Ayurveda massage treatments available on site also. There is wifi available at the reception which is also where meals are served.

Room tip: Rooms in bungalows are good but there is also a tree house if you want something more quirky.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pollyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We spent the last two days of a 2 week Kerala trip here and it was one of our highlights. Most of our time was spent on our porch enjoying watching the riverboats and locals going about their business on the other side of the river. Staff kindly bought our meals to our porch - which were delicious and varied. We thoroughly enjoyed the sunset canoe ride and early morning walk around the rice fields. It was a great chance to just chill and reflect on our Kerala experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

A nice place to get a feel for the backwaters without having to deal with the hassle of booking a houseboat. Highlight of our two-night stay here was the bird-watching walk in the morning, which clearly was a passion of the lodge manager. Otherwise there is not much to do on the small island. This is not a luxury resort -- there are lots of insects and the facilities and amenities are modest and spare. Wi-fi is only available in the common area, and it is usually spotty. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served at set times, so you eat as a group. No alcohol or beverages, though you can arrange to bring your own. Overall, I would recommend this resort to environmentally conscious travelers who are looking for a quiet, simple way to experience the backwaters.

One tip for travelers - arrange your own transportation to/from the resort. We asked the lodge to arrange a taxi to pick us up at the resort and take us to Cochin, which is about a 90-min maximum car ride. The taxi quoted us at 2500 INR, which was outrageous relative to the typical price in India, and refused to negotiate.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank empressqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We were a family of 8 staying at Our Land over New Year. We booked 3 of the 5 cottages and also the Treehouse. The cottages were quite spacious with A/C and a fan, the bathroom also quite large. These are not 5 star all singing all dancing residences, but are perfectly adequate. The resort is very eco-friendly and is all about back to nature. There are not loads of activities, but we enjoyed an early morning bird watching walk with the very well informed manager and also a sunset canoe ride along the backwaters. We hired a houseboat for the day and had a very relaxing trip along the backwaters watching the world go by. Lunch was cooked on the boat after stopping to buy freshly caught fish - this was cooked to perfection. We hired the houseboat through the company website & unfortunately the office messed up by failing to tell the resort manager of this. However he quickly sourced another boat at the same price & no harm was done.
During the day we often just sat in the hammocks provided for each cottage, just reading & watching houseboats pass by on the river.
Food was plentiful and was all home cooked Keralan food. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea (pakora’clock as my children called it!) and dinner. As it is a very small resort there is no choice of food, although there are always 3/4 dishes for dinner - all my family thought it was delicious.
One small word of warning, if you don’t like Indian food this is not a good choice of resort for you.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank susiet13940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews