We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I know why the caged bird sings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #124 of 186 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I know why the caged bird sings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Its true, these guys are not interested in you if you don't take their (over priced) boat stay...
The rooms are nice and clean, but the food is really hit and miss... I've had better Indian food in rural Ireland .. 
The aviary is pretty ugly, not an attraction at all, it seems downright cruelto keep such a gregarious bird such as an emu on it's own with zero stimulation. 
* Hint... Head down to the finishing point at about 4pm and start to barter, we got some good offers for four of us, people were offering to accommodate us all 4 of us  on the boat that night (before the trip)h for an additional 2000 rupees including dinner and breakfast. 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfeatherboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
38
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We only stayed one night in the main house which was fine. There was no hot water but they bought us a bucket of hot water in the morning on request. We organised our houseboat through them after speaking to another guest over breakfast, which was very easy and convenient. We made it clear that we would not hand over any money until we had seen the boat so one of the lads came with us (the rickshaw to the boat is included so dont pay him!) The boat cost 7000 INR which is alot of money but it was what we were expecting and we were very happy with the boat. The food was really good and there was plenty of it, the chef was very attentive. (take your own booze) The only downside was the chef following us all the way to the rickshaws demading a tip. Ok the food was good but we had just paid near on £100 for the boat and thought that that was plenty enough to cover everything. The boat stays to the main open areas and does not cover a great amount of ground but it was still a treat and a very relaxing pleasureable trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This was our cheapest night's stay during a 16 day self created tour of Kerala. It allowed us to see Alleypee and take a house boat the following day. The room was very basic with no hot shower facility and a noisy air con, not enough bedding either. That said it did provide us with air con and a basic room which on the outside looks nice. The food was very simple and average but you get what you pay for. For the price I can't really knock the place so if you are on a budget and need a decent location in Alleypee then take it on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed at the Gowri based on a review in our guide book and traveller word of mouth.
We found the rooms a bit depressing (we were in an aircon cottage in the garden) and very very basic. There were no real sheets on the bed...just some sheets covering the mattress. The main house and garden is lovely...they could do so much more with it.
Staff were generally ok (one guy..youngish with beard..was really nice; helpful and spoke good English)
The menu in the cafe was limited...especially for breakfast options.

We took the easy option and went with the Gowri's own houseboat cruise (a bit of a gamble) as time was tight and we didnt want to spend all our time in Alappuzha shopping around)
The boat was surpisingly nice - comfortable outside space and good bedroom ( with ensuite shower). The food was also good. One gripe is that we only spent about 4 hours cruising. An hour moving then we stopped for lunch for two hours (crew fell asleep) - then about 3 hours cruising before docking for the night.
In the morning it only took about 45mins for the boat to get back to Aluppuzha so obviously we hadn't gone very far and also the boat seemed to move a lot quicker when they wanted to get back to dock.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Gowri. To start with, the staff were super-accommodating, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them and the atmosphere was laid back and fun. The Gowri staff organised a lovely houseboat at a good price and allowed us to have a wonderful time on the backwaters - one of the highlights of our trip. The rooms were OK - nothing you'd write home about, but clean and air-con wasn't that much more expensive. The chai was also lovely. I highly recommend this place if you are happy to kick back with the locals and enjoy some Kerala hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_elle_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 km away
Motty's Homestay
Motty's Homestay
#28 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 km away
Tharavad Heritage Resort
Tharavad Heritage Resort
#45 of 186 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 km away
Sona Tourist Home
Sona Tourist Home
#56 of 186 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Palmy Residency
Palmy Residency
#22 of 186 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 km away
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
0.0 km away
Seaside Residency
Seaside Residency
#76 of 186 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Property: Gowri Residence
Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): $59 - $80
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing