We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Kampot history

We went here fully aware that this was not a huge museum. It cost $2.00 US and we spent... read more

Reviewed 25 July 2018
799JulieW
,
wangaratta
via mobile
nice but average experience

average experience , place is nice & clean . museum is not so big , but good experience to know... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2018
AmyD3685
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
1
8
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
8
8
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

average experience , place is nice & clean . museum is not so big , but good experience to know about rich history , artifacts . when we visited museum was close on monday , wednesday and friday . overall average experience nothing much hype about it .

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank AmyD3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This is very much in the development stage, but has some interesting artifacts. Much of the information is in the form of posters in Khmer, French and English. There are also copies of many historical documents mostly in French. I would have liked to have seen more coverage of the Khmer Rouge period in Kampot. Current opening times are listed as Tues–Thurs: 3–6; Sat & Sun:8–11 and 3–6.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ZAtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

we tried everyday to go there. Times were stated out the front but was never open at the times it was supposed to be. Good luck

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank sandyji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

If you've been to the National Museum in PP, you might be disappointed.

Aside from a dozen genuine artifacts, the core offerings are large wall-mounted photos with explanations in Khmer, French, and English. Unfortunately, some are so high they are impossible to read.

I took my time and viewed everything I could. I was there for about 45 minutes. I did learn some new things.

With a little more funding, they could install diaramas, interactive maps, and other interesting displays.

There is not much to do in Kampot, so consider spending an hour here in support of this new venture.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank BEEing_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The museum is housed on the ground floor of the recently restored Old Governor`s Mansion, a fine example of French colonial architecture. It was officially opened on 28th January 2015. It was funded by a grant from the International Association of Francophone Majors (AIMF) for preserving the town`s heritage and $ 50.000 from the Kampot Provincial Administration. Most of the money was spent on restoring three of the city`s French colonial buildings, including the Governor`s Mansion. The budget for the museum was just $ 10.000. It is now funded by the $ 2 entrance fee, a small price to pay to support such a good project.

The museum is in its infancy but the limited number of exhibits are interesting and well worth seeing.

To get a better understanding of the history of this area and the museum, it is worth reading Jean-Michel Filippi`s comprehensive article.

There seems to be some confusion about the opening times. The museum informed me that they are as follows:

Saturday and Sunday morning from 8:00 to 11:00 AM

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday afternoons from 3:00 to 6:00 PM

I hope other visitors will find this museum interesting and support this project.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews