We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 870
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 221
USD 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ang'ata Tarangire Camp(Tarangire National Park)
USD 607
USD 510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire Sopa Lodge(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 683
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire River Camp(Tarangire National Park)
USD 709
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Balloon Camp Tarangire(Tarangire National Park)
USD 710
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tarangire Ndovu Camp(Tarangire National Park)
USD 500
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Tarangire Treetops(Tarangire National Park)
USD 1,518
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Chem Chem(Tarangire National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
110
33
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
33
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltssun driedwater heaterwake up callvisiting tanzaniagreat sunsetcentral areaspent nights herelaundry servicebefore dinnertoilet and showerour honeymoonescortaccommodationscabincamptents
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I recently returned from a trip of a lifetime. While visiting Tanzania, we stayed in 2 lodges and 3 tented camps. My favorite accommodations were the tented camps. These tented camps offered unimaginable luxury in the middle of Africa. The staff, food and lodging at Kikoti Safari Camp was wonderful. I loved the individual tents on stilts with full bathroom and comfortable furniture. Listening to all the "night sounds" was wonderful and so relaxing. The owner of Kikoti also owns Safari Legacy the group we chose to lead us on our safari. Everything was top notch and a great time was had by all seven in our group.

Room Tip: Wifi was available in the lobby area, but not in the rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TuckerMt_Pleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Thank you for your great feedback on Kikoti Safari Camp! We are very glad you were our guests and enjoyed your stay. We agree that the expericen at Kikoti is a special one. And yes, the night sounds... and the morning wake up calls by the mourning dove is something never to forget. We hope you can come back for a visit when the Ivory Orphans Elephant Orphanage is up and running! Thanks again for staying with us!
Safari Legacy and the Kikoti Safari Camp staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Very clever room designs. Being on stilts you get a great view and feel safe from any animals that might pay you a visit at night. The pitch of the roof reduces the bright light in the morning whilst giving an open view on three sides. No glass but screens keep the rooms beautifully cool. The staff were willing and friendly and the food very good. Because this camp is a stone's throw out of the National Park, you get the bonus of being able to go on a night safari on offer.

Room Tip: Wifi is free, but only in the communal area and can be sporadic as is mobile coverage. All rooms looked to have the same views. Some are closer to the communal area, but we were close and there was no noise disturbance from humans. Just an elephant or two investigating the land
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Thank you for your comments on Kikoti Safari Camp as you feeback is very important to us!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your experience in Tarangire National Park.
We are working on the WiFi situation... as we know it is not ideal at the moment. The elephants seem to knock the satelite dish out of whack from time to time. We are in the process of looking for an alternative solution.
We hope you can come back for a visit, when the Ivory Orphans Elephant orphanage will be up and running about this time next year!
Thanks again.
Safari Legacy and the Kikoti Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We found the accommodation to be excellent. The staff were very friendly. The bar area was great. The food was very good. Cannot comment on the quality of the following days picnic as we were heading to the airport and gave our picnic lunches to our driver.

This was the only place we stayed (not staying it is the only place) where we saw people walking round with guns, but they put my girlfriend's mind at ease when she asked them why and they explained. It was obviously for our and the staffs protection against animals.

We saw droppings from elephants, zebras and giraffes, but do not get me wrong - this is not a dirty camp, it is just nature. And the droppings were proof of the animals that passed through camp.

One slight annoyance for me were the sandy paths from the lodges to the reception/bar area. It was like walking on a beach which I find annoying at the best of times, but again this was a minor annoyance to me personally that probably won't bother anyone else.

I don't know if this is off the beaten track or not (it is 25mins from the entry gate into Tarangire), but it was not full on the nights we stayed there and that is a big shame as we would stay there again in a heartbeat. One night we were the only couple there and the other night there was an elderly American couple who had to be up early in the morning and didn't really want to engage in any social conversation. All the old boy did was complain about the Tanzanian beer and that he couldn't get Budweiser. Really I thought ? He would prefer that absolute rubbish to trying something new. So that was a shame as the bar area was beautiful and could have been a great night with the views and people to exchange conversation with.

So having eaten we tended to get some of the free beer from the bar and go sit on our veranda and chat until we were tired enough to go to bed.

The lodge we stayed in we thought was the best we had on safari. It was on stilts with the aforementioned veranda and a decent sized bedroom area. Then at the rear there was a wonderful washbowl area and shower and toilet that are individually partitioned off by leather flaps/doors.

As you drive to the camp from Tarangire the countryside appears remote and even desolete at times. Even I wondered whether this place would be worth it. But when we got there the answer was a definitive yes....

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dolphin1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience while you stayed with us at Kikoti Safari Camp. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kikoti is a very special place. We like to call it Elegance in the bush. It is a wilderness camp and yes we welcome wildlife in camp. We are the visitors... We hope you enjoyed your safari in Tanzania and if there is anything we can do for you let us know. Thanks again for your comments and for staying with us!
Jennifer
Safari Legacy US office
Director, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Individual raised rooms with good facilities. Lighting does not work for reading. They bring you coffee with your wake-up call. Since it is the home to animals. you have to have an escort after dark. Nice fire pit at the central lodge.

Room Tip: Close to Tarangire national park. Its reason for being. Hard to imagine how they get all the food over the bumpy roads in the middle of nowhere! Service is adequate but passive. I think that is generally true in Tanzania. Food was OK. Closer rooms mean less distance to walk through sandy path.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JillConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

Thank you for your thoughts on Kikoti Safari Camp! We thank you for staying with us and hope are glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit in Tanzania. Kikoti Safari Camp is a very special place, family owned and operated. It is our "elegant" bush camp we call home.
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We went there for our honey moon 2 yrs ago and we had an excellent experience! The personal is amazing and friendly and the rooms are spacious clean and with a gorgeous view of the park with wild animals all around! The lodge owners are very friendly and concern with ecology!
If you do a safari in Tanzania I warmly advise you to stop for a night there you will have an amazing experience believe me!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clarisse g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2014

Thank you for your review of Kikoti Safari Camp. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope you enjoyed your safari experience while on your honeymoon in Tanzania. We hope you can return for a visit. We would love to host you again at Kikoti Safari Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews