We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 870
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 221
USD 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ang'ata Tarangire Camp(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 510
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire Sopa Lodge(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 683
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire River Camp(Tarangire National Park)
USD 709
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tarangire Treetops(Tarangire National Park)
USD 1,512
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Burunge Tented Camp(Tarangire National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kuro Tarangire, Nomad Tanzania(Tarangire National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge(Tarangire National Park)
Kichuguu Camp(Tarangire National Park)
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
110
33
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
33
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltssun driedwater heaterwake up callvisiting tanzaniagreat sunsetcentral areaspent nights herelaundry servicebefore dinnertoilet and showerour honeymoonescortaccommodationscabincamptents
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2014

After being at four other camps in Kenya and Tanzania, this camp was disappointing. The tents themselves were very nice but that was the best experience. First of all the camp is a good 20 minutes outside a park gate and that gate is not very near when you find the animals. You waste a great deal of time just getting to and from the lodge. Service was very good and this was the only lodge that provided free beer and soft drinks as part of the package. They made up for it by charging more than double any other lodge for a mixed drink and had no menu showing these high prices. The food was OK but not great and there was very little choice. Wifi was available only in the lounge and was quite slow. If I were going again I would find a better camp.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob3998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Kikoti Safari Camp. We are located outside the park for a reason. By being outside of the park you are able to do a nature walk and a night game drive. These activities cannot be done while inside the park. Kikoti Safari Camp's location is also in the middle of the elephant migratory route. We at times also have elephants in camp. The uniqueness and location of Kikoti Safari camp make it ideal for any safari... We are sorry you were dissapointed by the location of the camp as whomever you booked with should have explained this upfront and advised as to why being outside the park can be a good thing. Kikoti Safari Camp is now a non profit camp where 100% of all proceeds go to the African Wildlife Trust. We hope you enjoyed your stay while in Tanzania. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Our stay at the Kikoti Safari Camp in the Tarangire National Park in Tanzania was nothing but magic. The "room" was a stand-alone hut with screened walls. It was like sleeping out of doors. We saw animals running by our room frequently but always felt safe. The staff escorted us to our cabin once it turned dark. Everyone was so friendly. Mr. John, the Camp "Manager" was happy, friendly, and funny. Mr. Steve was the chef and waiter - and the meals were delicious. We especially enjoyed the opportunity to eat our meals with our guide at the Camp. The views from the lodge of the plains were great and sunset magical. They light a fire as the sun sets for a wonderful "sun downer" experience. We LOVED Kikoti Safari Camp. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms may be exactly alike - some further away from the lodge than others. It was so, so quiet always in the camp. Very private, even though the walls were made of screening. A great experience. No wifi in the rooms but there is always wifi at the main lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LarryandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Thank you very much for your recent recview and kind words on Kikoti Safari Camp! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kikoti is a special place and we are very happy you were our guest!
Thanks again for staying with us!
Kikoti and Safari Legacy Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Kikoti was perfect in so many ways. So welcoming and friendly and informal. It was very comfortable while conveying the sense of being among the animals of the bush. Beautiful tent room, great comfy bed. Common areas so relaxing and also appealing. The evening "sundowner walk" was gorgeous and so interesting. Wonderful way to have the before dinner "cocktail". Kikoti is peaceful, unique, and luxurious "glamping". The food was delicious. The staff was anxious to meet our every need. Would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Free wifi in common areas, not rooms. This was pretty standard on our whole, wonderful safari. Some tents closer to common area than others, but none are really far.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susspwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Kikoti Safari Camp! And we thank you for your kind works and thoughts about your experience. We hope you will return to Tanzania and stay with us again. Just let us know when you are ready!
Asante,
Your Friends at Kikoti and Safari Legacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

An interesting camp. We were the only guests so all attention was on us. The tent structure was up on pilings so you really felt safe. However there were no shades even in the bathroom so you had to change clothes in the toilet stall or the shower stall. Luckily they were no other guests! The bar was beautifully carved. The dining quite nice.

Room Tip: All room are at the same.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Hi Karen,

Thanks you for your recent stay with us at Kikoti Safari Camp! We are so glad you enjoyed our camp and your visit in Tanzania.
I love your title! Yes, the chalets are on stilts so wildlife can run through the camp as it does quite often...
Thanks again for your reveiw on Trip Advisor. If you ever wish to return to Tanzania, just let us know!
Jennifer
US Sales & Marketing
Safari Legacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Our first 2 nights were spent at Kikoti Camp, a fantastic start to our 1st Safari, a very warm welcome from Alice and Danny on our arrival. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, each evening we were escorted from the main area to our room by the Masai which made us feel very safe. All the meals were cooked beautifully, a cake was brought out for our wedding anniversary with all the staff singing, which was a lovey gesture. The tree house style rooms were very authentic, loved all the little finishing touches like the ropes to hang the towels on. Each evening was great sitting round the fire pit with a drink watching the sunset and chatting about the day in the park and all the animals that we had encountered. We even had an elephant come wandering into the camp each evening and stayed the whole night, munching on the trees near the reception area. The views overlooking the National Park were amazing. Just outside of Kikoti Camp is a waterhole where we saw lot of zebras and elephants drinking from, wow such an experience. Wish we could of stayed longer, a very big thankyou to everyone that made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Hi Lorraine!
Thank you very much for staying with us at Kikoti Safari Camp! We are very grateful for your recent review on Trip Advisor and are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kikoti.
Thanks again and let us know when you are ready to return to Tanzania!
Jennifer
US Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews