We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff treated us like family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We spent two nights at Maramboi. They have added two family tents that are a great addition. They are two seperate rooms connected by a patio, great for families. We were actually yje 1st family to occupy the Duma/Faru Tent, Very well decorated and cozy. Obviously being brand new it was in great shape. They operate on solar, and as my teenage daughter took a long shower in the evening we had no hot water in the morning. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff are amazing. My wife and daughter got extremely ill our 1st night there and the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accomodate.
Food quality was good, although it was buffet style with not a great selection. I really enjoyed Maramboi. The biggest downfall is the length from Tarangire. It is about 30 minutes each way which cuts down on game viewing in the park although you can see wildebeest, giraffe, zebra etc right from your room at the camp.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 655 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Maramboi Tented Camp was our very favorite accommodation during the safari trip my husband and I took in June of 2010. Maramboi was recommended to us by our irreplaceable guide / safari organizer Jombi (www.tanzaniaoutdoor.com), who made his thoughtful suggestions (regarding both the accommodations and parks) based on our interests and budget. Even though our primary focus was Tanzania's wildlife and nature, and it seemed that where we slept almost wouldn't even matter, I must say that after hours of driving on the rough park roads we greatly appreciated our clean and comfortable tent and bed. The camp is beautifully situated and there is a definite Out-of-Africa feel to it. The view from our tent was spectacular - the sea of tall grass, palm trees and a beautiful blue sky. From the outdoor dining area we would often spot zebras, warthogs and other interesting creatures. At night we would fall asleep to a wide array of intriguing wildlife sounds. Maramboi is run smoothly and efficiently. It has a small and beautiful outdoor pool (try to avoid my mistake and pack your swim suit), and offers free wireless Internet access (luxury not available at any other camp/lodge we used). I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food offered. Our guide mentioned that there has been quite a few improvements made in the camp since his previous stay. There are other camps that may be more conveniently located (this one is located about 45 minutes from the Tarangire park and the last few miles are very bumpy), but despite this one disadvantage Maramboi remains my very favorite accommodation and Jombi of TanzaniaOutdoor.com our favorite safari organizer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ania158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This was our second safari to Tanzania and Maramboi is one of the best places we have stayed. The views across Lake Manyara towards the escarpment of the rift valley are beautiful. The camp is run in an environmentally sensitive manner. All food (excellent) is grown organically and locally. The rooms built on wooden platforms with a metal and thatch roof have canvass and net walls that allow you to open up as much as you want. The bed was perfect, as was the shower. Zebra wilderbeast and reedbuck were common sights around camp. I would suggest booking in the dry season because that is when game viewing in Tarangire NP is best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrvide0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We are very happy about our stay at the Maramboi. Our room was really great. It was more an individual bungalow in fact. We couldn't see any other room from ours, giving us a 180 degree view on the bush. We could see zebras and a giraffe from our bed! In addition, the room was large and very clean. The hotel also has a swimming pool, once again with a wide view on the bush.
Both dinner and breakfast are served as a buffet. Both were good.
This was one of the best hotels of our safari.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here for two nights in late July and have nothing but great things to say about this permanent tented camp. The reception tent couldn't have been more considerate in design with many stylish vintage leather chairs and sofa's reminiscint of bush safaris from the films. The tents where we slept had very comfortable four posters with mosquito nets and writing desks for updating your personal travel journal.

Dinner was pretty decent, considering you're literally in the bush....and I suppose this is the best part about this place...the lodge is literally in the open savannah so everywhere you look are zebras, wildebeast, and even an occasional giraffe! It's one thing lying by the pool in the bush, it's another thing altogether lying by the pool with loads of zebras looking at you as if you're one of them!

All in all, awesome experience, and the walk to your room at night accompanied by a guard just adds to the bush feel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverlips20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
33.3 km away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
34.5 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
53.6 km away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.9 km away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
254 reviews
27.3 km away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
14.5 km away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing