We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost gave it five stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Almost gave it five stars”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stopped at this HIE overnight on a road trip. The lobby is very welcoming and incorporates a large breakfast room. Nevada at the desk was a delight and I looked forward to spending the evening in my *non-smoking* room after a very long day of driving. The minute I walked in the door (which was marked with a "no smoking" sign), I could smell the stale, musty odor of old cigarette smoke. It was evident that this was at one time a smoking room. That said, I loved the room. I had reserved a room with one double bed since I was traveling alone. That left room for the desk and chair and a very nice armchair and ottoman. It is such a relief to not have to watch TV or read from the bed. The internet service was spotty; I kept getting knocked off and when I tried to get back on, I could only find the wi-fi for the hotel next door. Eventually, I was able to connect to the HIE system. There is a nice business center in the lobby, although it looks like the check-in counter.

The bathroom was clean. The bed was very, very hard. Luckily, there were four pillows on the bed, so I was able to use pillows as a "feather bed" or I wouldn't have been able to sleep at all. The breakfast offered a variety for all diet requirements, although the juice machine was not working. A member of the staff came around at breakfast and greeted each person, and everyone who I saw working in the hotel looked as though they were happy to be there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    63
    20
    7
    11
See reviews for
66
19
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The courtsey of the people was exemplery and the facility was very appealing. Everyone seemed to enjoy helping you with your needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I really love this hotel. I've stayed here several times over a period of 3 or more years. They have an excelent staff, great hot breakfast, too! Room is always very clean and stocked well. Really, I don't work for this hotel! Haha! I am in my 50's and especially like things my way, clean, nice and friendly. I always stay at this hotel when I'm in town and now even thou I live in town, when I have events that I need a hotel for. With this hotel I know exactly what to expect when I come, the best! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrnEyes789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were very friendly. I will stay again when I return for business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I am a platinum club member so I stay at HIE ALOT! This one was below par, Bathroom was in need of repair/renovation staff was not friendly, and the breakfast bar was the worst.

The juice machine was spitting out water, the pancake machine was broken, and when I arrived there were no eggs or biscuts left. After not seeing a hostess, I decided on cereal, and after 20 minutes I left and still nothing was replaced. Now their eggs and biscuits aren't anything to brag about normally, its still nice to have the option and some orange juice.

As far as HIE go, find another one!

Room Tip: At least the room was clean, even if the bathroom need some updating/repairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyharvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensboro Airport
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Greensboro Wendover
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Greensboro
Comfort Inn Greensboro
#19 of 76 in Greensboro
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
534 reviews
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
SpringHill Suites Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
418 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Greensboro
Courtyard Greensboro
#29 of 76 in Greensboro
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover

Property: Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover
Address: 4305 Big Tree Way, Greensboro, NC 27409-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#26 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price range (per night): $135 - $209
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Holiday Inn Express is located off I-40 at Wendover Avenue in Greensboro, NC. We have various amenities that will suit your needs whether you are traveling on business or leisure. Join us every Tuesday from 5:30 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. for our Manager's Appreciation Reception. If you are coming in town for business, our hotel is conveniently located near Koury Convention Center, Syngenta, RF Micros, American Express, Oakwood Homes, Volvo, and the Greensboro Auto Auction. Our rooms are equipped with free high speed Internet access , free local phone calls, and a work desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort and convenience. If you are traveling to Greensboro for leisure, we are just minutes from the following popular activities: Greensboro Coliseum (home of the ACC Basketball Tournament), Four Seasons Mall, Wet n Wild' water park, Celebration Station, and the Ice House Skating Rink. Our hotel has special features for our leisure travelers including a seasonal outdoor swimming pool, free deluxe breakfast bar, and computer access in the lobby to check your e-mail when away from home. If you are traveling into Greensboro by airplane, we do offer complimentary airport shuttle between 4:30 a.m. and 12:00 a.m. We look forward to having you as our guest at the Holiday Inn Express Greensboro (I-40 at Wendover Avenue). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Holiday Inn Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing