We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Fort Portal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rwenzori View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Fort Portal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed a night there after it was recommended and we had a great time. For those approaching on foot from the centre of town, take note that it is a 15 minute walk uphill. The journey is worth it both for the views of the Ruwenzori Mountains from the house and for the peaceful setting. Ineke is a wonderful hostess, forthcoming with advice and suggestions for your stay and displaying a sympathetic interest in her guests. Sitting round the dining table altogether for meals makes for a homely, family experience and allows you to get to know the other visitors and share stories. The three course evening meal, featuring delicious homemade soup, is substantial, so you don't need a large lunch! We had intended to stay longer but our plans couldn't allow for it and Ineke was fully booked for adjacent nights in any case. We're already planning a return visit later this year. So the recommendation is "Book early" and you'll be delighted you chose this place

Room Tip: The rooms are all in line with one another overlooking the garden so you don't need to make a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent two weeks traveling all over Uganda and Rwenzori View was our favorite lodging! The property is lovely - the grounds, the rooms, the dining areas ... and the location is superb (outside of the city so it's quite, but still close enough to the city to walk or bike in). We loved how the rooms were decorated, and they were very clean and comfortable.

Usually when lodging includes meals, we never look forward to the meals (let's face it, guesthouse lodging just isn't very good). But Rwenzori View is a rare exception - the food was amazing, our best meals in all of Uganda. I would travel back to Uganda just to enjoy their evening soups - best soup I've had in my life. The family style dinners usually included salad, 2 soups, a couple main courses, a vegetable dish and dessert. Their kitchen works magic!

The service was also just wonderful! Vincent was our host - his parents were out of town, and he and the staff was accommodating, kind and welcoming. We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great stay at this guest house. As a charity we have used it several times before. Rooms are unusual but well equipped. The breakfasts are the best we have come across in Uganda. The lady of the house offers a great three course meal of an evening but is quite expensive especially if you only want a main course.

But you all sit around one large table which is great for mixing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everybody travelling in Fort Portal, Uganda or around that area should stay at Rwenzori view guest house. Nice rooms, great relaxing atmosphere and good food. At dinner and breakfast all the guests sit together around the diningtable. It is a great place to meet people and hear their stories. The owner is very friendly and the staff is good. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnaOsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a very nice place, with a great dining room where everyone eats around the same table. The food is much more interesting than most other places. And you can walk there from Fort Portal.
Just the Rwenzori view is a bit tenuous. Having just climbed the range, we were looking forward to this. But you had to really bend your neck to see the mountains. But lovely garden nevertheless. And a great craft shop.
The only thing we did not like was the dog. Others commented on this too. Hence no 5 star. It was good to see it with a muzzle later on.
Otherwise very much recommended.
The owner gives you great tips about the place. She has a real flair for making it all very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Portal hotels
3.1 km away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fort Portal
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Fort Fun City Hotel
Fort Fun City Hotel
#4 of 5 in Fort Portal
3 reviews
8.8 km away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 34 in Fort Portal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Dutchess
Dutchess
#2 of 22 in Fort Portal
121 reviews
19.5 km away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 34 in Fort Portal
47 reviews
0.8 km away
Fort Motel
Fort Motel
#1 of 5 in Fort Portal
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Fort Portal

Been to Rwenzori View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rwenzori View Guest House

Address: Lower Kiiza Road | P.O. Box 709, Fort Portal, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Fort Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Portal
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RuwenZori View Guest House is a comfortable, homely, family-run place set within the backdrop of the breathtaking Rwenzori Mountains. Purpose-designed by a Swiss architect and started by a Dutch / English couple. It has welcomed guests from over 95 different countries since its opening in 1997. Conveniently situated in Boma, a lush, green suburb of Fort Portal town, the Guest House is within easy walking distance of the bustling local market, the post office and the town center. The beautiful garden has a wide variety of trees, shrubs and colourful tropical flowers. It is a quiet and peaceful place to relax, watch the abundant bird life, read a book or have a drink or a meal. We have FREE WIFI for our guests so that you can stay connected to the world! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rwenzori View Guest House Hotel Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing