We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Majestic and Marvolous!”

Review of Majestic Overlook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisa d
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Majestic and Marvolous!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful chalet with a breathtaking view of the mountains and bears! Even though we were almost filled to capacity, the spaciousness provided quietness when needed and family type interaction too. We rarely watched TV, but enjoyed using the WIFI for our plethora of electronic gadgets. Still, the mountainous environment fostered old fashion interaction like real conversations, sing-a-longs with dancing from (1960’s to present) and card games. Frequent sightings of bears who routinely checked trash cans, cars, and the barbeque grill, eliminated outside activities—except to quickly exit/enter cars. We brought a lot of food and enjoyed the large chef’s kitchen which was the cabin’s highlight: double stoves, dishwashers, and refrigerators. Overall we had a ball. Great bedrooms with personal baths. The cabin could have been cleaner- specifically the furniture and the carpeting on the inside steps. The outside stone steps needs repair too. However, the architecture, the size, and the view is unbelievable. This is definitely a place to connect or reconnect with family and friends, or spend time in personal reflection too. Ages varied in our group and everyone said they had a great time in the chalet!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: Could have been cleaner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear LisaD,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals and we are happy that you enjoyed Majestic Overlook for your family trip to our mountain paradise. The issue with the front steps has been corrected since your stay. Our goal is to provide all our guests with a positive experience and we are delighted that they were able to do so during your visit.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon at this or one of our other homes.

Thanks,
Jeff G
Area General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlene B
Limestone, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view is Majestic, but the house is not being taken care of properly!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is a beautiful cabin, however it is in much need of TLC. The front steps have fallen from the house and instead of repairing it properly, they put concrete in the gap. They tilt forward as you step out, so it is hard to do for older people, dangerous and potential lawsuit. The overall cleanliness was just fair, furniture needed cleaning, stained form use, floors were fair, but had some places were food was dropped on them that were not mopped up enough! The bedrooms and steps have nasty carpet that needs to come out and be replace with wood. The mattresses are urine stained. The reason I know this is my bed, king size, had a queen size mattress pad and fitted sheet that did not fit. In talking to housekeeping I was told that the sheets for king are off white and are all the same, they offered to come replace them, but if they were all the same, what was the point. They did not fit the beds, deep pocket mattresses, so I went to Walmart and bought our fitted sheets, which worked great, but should not have had to do. Makes me wonder where they get their cheap sheets and why! When you pay out thousands, you expect it to at least be comfortable and clean. The oven still had oven cleaner in it and had to be burned out. There were several leaks that had to be addressed that had been there awhile. If I were the owners I would be jerking this out from under this management! It is just so sad to see this beautiful place deteriorate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The back view!
Liked least: The cabin was not as clean as expected considering the price. It was in much need of repair and update. Front steps are dangerous!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celina, Ohio
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing