We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Westgate Tip for a Better Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Lanesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Westgate Tip for a Better Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I unfortunately had to use this trick to prove a Westgate employee was lying to me. When someone at the front desk tells you that your room size in unavailable or that they're "too full" to upgrade you, try this little trick. If you own an iPad, iPod touch, laptop, etc... go on-line and set up a reservation through Westgate's web page. Go step by step through the reservation process until you come to the payment page. DO NOT PAY. Once you have confirmed that you can, indeed, book a room in the size you want, show the Westgate employee this and call their bluff. It's a shame anyone would ever have to resort to this but sometimes rude employees need to be reminded that the ONLY reason they are standing behind that desk is to make your life better.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlanneryWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for giving us a five star rating. I can only assume that once you got into your room, you had a great stay. Unfortunately, without additional information, I can’t accurately respond to your comments, however, I can tell you that we will upgrade someone if possible, depending on the occupancy. We do have restrictions that apply….and I won’t bore you with a discussion of typical hotel business practices, however, we have certain room types associated with certain room rates and those fluctuate based on occupancy, as does our ability to upgrade. I suspect your situation was such that you made a reservation for a certain room type at a certain rate and was hoping that you could get a larger room at the same rate. Sometimes we can accommodate your request and sometimes we cannot regardless of whether or not we have the room type you are requesting to upgrade into. Regardless, I thank you for your business and I hope to see you again.

Best Regards
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    684
    432
    259
    363
See reviews for
1,575
788
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We are currently staying at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort. We have a three bedroom unit at Westgate Lakes Resort in Orlando. We are using the one bedroom here(which they told me at the office is really a studio). This studio we are staying in is unbelievably bad(torn rugs, dirty filter on air conditioner, and a very small area-we can hardly move around.) We are owners and not just renting or here as a promotion, so we went to the office and they would not find us better accomodations. All they were interested in was getting us to transfer our timeshare from Florida to here.(Which we would never do, because the rooms at Florida are GREAT! And another thing; since we are owners why do we have to pay to use the indoor swimming pool? I was told that people who own here have the highest priority. WHAT? When we bought our timeshare through Westgate we assumed that we would get the same respect at every Westgate. We have a Marriott timeshare also, and have NEVER been treated as shabbily as this!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lindacalenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
My sincere apologies to you and your family for the problems you encountered during your most recent stay. It appears that there was a misunderstanding regarding the size of the unit you were exchanging into. My suggestion for any future exchanges would be to ask the reservations agent for the square footage of the unit you will be trading into. Also, it would be very helpful if you can obtain a copy of the floor plan. That may not always be possible, but it’s worth asking for. Also, my apologies for the condition of your unit. I will discuss this with my Chief Engineer. One other suggestion for any future accommodations, no matter where you go, if you have any issues, please make an appointment to discuss these issues with the General Manager. Had I been aware of these problems, I could have jumped in and tried to make whatever adjustments I could make. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Sincerely,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Spent a week at this resort. Great location, just a couple of minutes from downtown Gatlinburg in one direction and just a few more minutes in the other direction to Pigeon Forge, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle to seem quiet and secluded. Staff was helpful, rooms very nice. Used one of the outdoor pools, also well maintained, nice chairs. Ate at the restaurant for breakfast one morning, had a nice reasonably priced buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaSMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on our property. I am very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you will stay with again when you are in the Gatlinburg area.

Sincerely,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have been owners since 2000. Each year we were asked to upgrade, which we have 3 times. We now have two units at the very top of the mountain. If you are on the 3rd or 4th floor with a balcony, the view is beautiful. You can see Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Our unit was clean, very nice. No problems with our unit. Just be sure it's the unit you purchased.

The worse sonario was at arrival we were first placed on the 1st floor in a unit you would not believe. It was so not what we purchased. The shower didn't have a door - just a curtain between it and the toilet. The washer & dryer was one of those all in one that doesn't dry your clothes completely; and, the microwave was sitting on the countertop taking up space. You had no view from the balcony. All you could see was the driveway and a few trees. Very disappointing!

Nevertheless, I REFUSED to stay there. I plainly told them that was not what we bought and for what we pay each month that was not worth it! Within 15 minutes we were placed in our regular unit on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view from the balcony and a proper shower and bathroom.

Next, the sales rep wanted to set up a meeting. My husband told them no he was not coming down to the sales room. So, she kept on and on about it until he told her she could bring the survey to our room. That wasn't good enough so she continued calling waking us up in the mornings about the survey. We had already signed off last year so what was the problem this year with another survey!! Finally; after she and my husband had some choice words, they sent a kind young man to our unit with the survey. He was very informative and out within 10 minutes. It was then and only then were we asked if we needed anything which I said maybe some tissue which they promptly sent up.

Don't eat at the restaurant. The prices are too high for the quality and quantity of the food. Also, another complaint is the restaurant manager made the remarks to about 20 people waiting to be seated at tables. His words were, "You're all on vacation, you're not going anywhere, so just relax." Some of the people had been waiting for nearly an hour to get a table. I understand people getting a little behind with their work, but the manager should not have made those remarks. That was so uncalled for. No one to my knowledge had said anything to him at all. He just takes it on himself to prance out there and make those remarks. How rude!!! Well, they lost money that week cause the four in our party left and we didn't go back. We went downtown and had a delicious dinner at Shoney's for 1/2 the price~

Other than this we had a great vacation.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors at the top of the mountain have the best views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEONARD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We sincerely appreciate it. My apologies for your family being assigned to the wrong room type at check-in. On very rare occasions this will occur, however, I am very happy that we were will able to move you to the correct unit. I also apologize for the issues you experienced in the restaurant. I can tell you honestly, the SmokeHouse Grill has an excellent reputation for great food and very attentive service at a reasonable price. We do hope that you give us another chance the next time you are on property.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very beautiful location and well laid out property really catches your eye upon arrival. The staff seemed friendly and helpful for my short stay. The rooms were well lit and airy on the deluxe side - not so much on the lockout side, obviously because of the need to optimize space. The rooms were generally clean except for the carpeting which caused your socks to turn black after just a two day stay. The toilet seat in the lockout was loose to the point of nearly coming off the bowl. One call to the desk and a 10 minute wait had a nice gentleman at the door with tools. He fixed the seat and refused a tip! A/C and fridge got things icey if left turned down for longer than a short period of time. TV sound, picture quality and channel selection were awful as usual in a resort but if I wanted good TV, I would have stayed home. WiFi reception in my room was very weak causing me to use the lobby for a constant connection. I will definately come back to stay again next time I'm in TN.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to best take advantage of the great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was very happy to hear that you will definitely return to stay with us in the future. I am also very happy to hear that you had a pleasant and timely interaction with one of our team members in the Engineering Department. That is always our goal. I was not happy to hear about the condition of the carpet in your unit. I will certainly bring this situation to the attention of our Housekeeping Manager. Thank you again for your input and we hope to see you down the road.

Sincerely,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
5.0 km away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.9 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.2 km away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price range (per night): $144 - $260
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing