We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“4 Years and Counting”

Review of Passion Flower

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise D
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“4 Years and Counting”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We have been staying with Smoky Mountain Chalets for the last 4 years and I can't say enough about them. We came as a family of 3 the first two years and were so pleased we decided to bring my parents along the next two. The Passion flower was very well equipped with everything we needed and the pictures represent the property perfectly. The staff is helpful, available, and quick to respond if and when there is a problem. We did have a problem with the burners in the stove when we stayed, but it didn't hinder our ability to put a simple vacation meal on the table. I LOVED the view and the fact that it sits on the end of the road. I was able to walk around and "explore" as much as one can on the side of a mountain. When you are inside the cabin you feel as if you're the only house around. If you are a skittish mountain driver, the road to the house can be daunting, but it's my husbands FAVORITE part. We loved it so much, I'm getting ready to book my 5th year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Spacious and (mostly) quiet”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Approaching the cabin in the dark takes a bit of resolve, for it's the last property on a steep little road that turns off the highway from Pigeon Forge to Gatlinburg and you have to hope that your GPS will acknowledge its existence. Fortunately ours did. The cabin is very spacious, with two full bathrooms, Jacuzzis in each bedroom, and a hot tub on the main deck. It's not overlooked, although there are a couple of other cabins a little way away for those who don't like total isolation. The view from the deck looks eastwards across the wooded hills. This means that the main highway is running along the bottom of the hill and traffic noise is a constant, although not loud enough to be really obtrusive. the hot tub motor can be irritating, but it's possible to turn it off at the mains.

The only bum note in all this is the kitchen. It's spacious, but two of the rings on the stove didn't work when we were there and the oven handle kept coming away. For three nights we could cope with this, but those on longer stays might find it vexing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub on the deck at the end of a hard day's sightseeing
Liked least: The stove
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank's for taking time to give us a review of your stay at Passion Flower. I am sorry to hear that you experienced any problems during your stay with us.
It's good to know that you found Passion Flower spacious and quiet.
I do understand your concern about using your GPS in this area, that is why on the directions we sent to you we have written across the top of the page in bold letters "We have found that map services and GPS devices are unreliable for this area, please do yourself a favor and follow our written directions". Fortunately your GPS got you to the cabin so that worked out well for you.
I do apologize for your problems with the oven, had you just contacted us during your stay we would have gladly sent someone right out to fix the eyes on the stove and tighten the oven handle. Please keep us in mind for your future vacation plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper353
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved the cabin, it was great. We were able to enjoy a little snow and enjoy the quietness of the location.
I would love to stay there again. Very clean, well maintained. Look forward to coming back.
Thank you for your help in getting this cabin for our vacation!!!

Paula Wallace

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub in the bedrooms
Liked least: Cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, hot tub, and main floor where everyone could be together
Liked least: Wet firewood so we couldn't have a fire each night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at out Passion Flower. I am happy to hear that you had a "Wonderful Christmas Week in Tennessee". Thanks for the feedback on the dining room chairs, I will add 2 chairs as a backup. Maintenance will look at the vacuum to either repair or replace. I apologize for the wet firewood, we normally have a tarp covering that, but it must have gone missing, we will replace that right away. Again, thanks for the feed back and please keep Smoky Mountain Chalet Rentals in mind for your next visit to the mountains.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RSP G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware...”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This cabin is beautiful however the mice in the cabin were not! I am not an unreasonable person and I understand this cabin is in the woods and creatures are bound to make their way indoors. The problem was the fact that in order to not have to stay in the same cabin with mice we had to pay an extra $150 a night to move cabins. I have stayed in several cabins within the Gatlinburg area and have never had issues like I did with this company. I am very disappointed that they don't have things in place to deal with situations like this besides charging the client an arm and a leg to move into something mice free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay in our Passion Flower. I apologize for any problems you experienced during your stay. When you contacted us about concerns with the chalet we gave you the option of moving to the same size chalet at no additional cost to you, however you requested one of our 4 bedroom plus theater chalets that rents for $289 per night plus tax and agreed to pay the additional cost.
All of our cabins are treated monthly for pest control. After you vacated Passion Flower we had them come out for a complete inspection and they found no evidence of mice or any other pest. We have had 5 different guest stay at Passion Flower after your departure and no one has had a problem with pest. We are glad to hear that you thought the cabin was beautiful and would like to once again thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing