We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice views of Gatlinburg & the mountains

This overlook is a great way to see Gatlinburg & the moutnains beyond. You may find it crowed but... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Jeff W
,
Morristown, Tennessee
Beautiful!

We were there at the end of October and loved the weather and sites. There was a custom car show in... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
TR3A61
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Read all 1,186 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gatlinburg
from USD 22.34
More Info
from USD 60.00
More Info
from USD 60.00
More Info
from USD 110.00
More Info
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
941
190
37
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
190
37
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gatlinburg bypass take pictures great view of gatlinburg breathtaking views fall colors national park the smoky mountains great pictures pigeon forge in town beauty op offs smokies clouds fires route
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

This overlook is a great way to see Gatlinburg & the moutnains beyond. You may find it crowed but it is worth a stop. If you've never seen this view it is well worth the short drive around the bypass.

Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were there at the end of October and loved the weather and sites. There was a custom car show in Pigeon Forge 20 minute drive from the Gatlinburg overlook.

Thank TR3A61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great drive with beautiful views of the mountains and the city of Gatlinburg. It is a scenic drive into Pigeon Forge without all the traffic lights and stops.

Thank DJB1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

So glad we traveled the bypass and took advantage of the Overlook to view the city of Gatlinburg. It offers a great picture taking opportunity - don't miss it.

Thank LightPacker15570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the most beautiful places on earth. When you get there you'll not want to leave - I promise!

Thank jbeanhermitage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best view of everything the Smokies. A must drive with plenty of stops for photo ops. Be aware of traffic.

Thank bamachris1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, the road was too backed up to get into the park to start this scenic bypass inside the park at the beginning (And we we were on our way to Pigeon Forge from our hotel in Gatlinburg.) So we hopped on from the street at stop light 10 and kept going like were driving toward Ober Gatlinburg up at the top. And instead turned on Gatlinburg Bypass from that street. (or followed streets to do so.) And wow.... it was rather sobering drive. I'm sure the parts inside the national park are prettier due to what recent reviewers are saying. But the rest of it starting at the street where downtown Gatlinburg starts at the south end? It's hard to absorb. Still very burned out, lots of houses gone but foundations still there. Burned out buildings. Some rebuilding has begun since all the fires. But a lot is still undone. So it was a sobering drive to see what probably was once rather beautiful and what we know will be again. I actually went on and looked at pics from during the fire after and could see some of those same buildings during the fire. It's winding and a nice ride of the 2nd half of it closer to Pigeon Forge.

Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What beautiful views you can see from the overlook. Tennessee and especially the Smokey Mountains is a wonderful place to visit. So much to see and do. Beautiful views, great walking trails, wonderful activities and great places to stay and eat.

Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Happened upon this while driving towards a waterfall in the Smokey Mountains. It was overly crowded. Was able to pull up and park off to the side. View is simply breath taking.

Thank Kita_Marz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Watching the fog rise out of the mountains was incredible. Explains why they call it the smoky mountains.

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews