We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree this is the nicest Koa ever”
Review of West Glacier KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This Koa advertised winning the KOA presidents award. I could see why. This palace was beautifully landscaped. It had everything you can think of needing - nice cafe, pool, tub, hiking trail, nice cabins, ice cream stand, etc. This isn't the best central location for Glacier day trips cuz it is 1-2 hour drive from the center of the park. But we stayed at the end of the trip and it was perfect to unwind. The deluxe cabin with loft for $350 was totally worth it. Only gripe was wifi that kept disconnecting all the time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for West Glacier KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Clean bathrooms, nice showers, adult pool & kids pool. Great place to stay & it's really close to Glacier National Park. Would definitely stay here again! Ice cream parlor on site & they also have a spot to get breakfast, lunch, or dinner here. Wonderful Koa!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jodsmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We have been traveling around the Rockies in our motorhome since May and have stayed at many campsites. We have to say the West Glacier KOA was the nicest, both with amenities and staff. We stayed in a pull-thru site that had a cement slab patio with lush shrubbery, upgraded patio furniture, fire pit and a gas grill. We were accross from the laundry facility (24 hrs) and bathrooms -- that were both spot free clean! The park offered hot tub/pool for adults only, family pool, ice cream shack on site and an eatery for breakfast and dinner (which was superb). They had a long walking path around the facility, tents sites, cabins, etc. On Friday night they had live entertainment (a great singer). They have many events during the week as well. They are located about 2.5 miles from the West Entrance to Glacier National Park. If there was a negative they do not have cable tv so you will need satelite. Their wifi worked very well. Cell service (Verizon) was a little spotty but that is true for the entire area near the park.

Room Tip: The park is worth the extra $$$$$ as. The value and location near the park entrance more then pays f...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank williamhriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This was our first time staying in a resort-like campground, and we very much enjoyed our stay at the West Glacier KOA. The site we had was a bit narrow but level, very functional for our needs, and beautifully landscaped. All the flowers were beautiful and the mountain view was lovely. Loved the ice cream shop; didn't eat at the restaurant so can't speak about that. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making recommendations for places to go in Glacier National Park. The adult pool and hot tubs were very relaxing after long days of hiking and other activities. I don't normally use a laundromat so don't know what the going price is for laundry, but I did think $5/load was a little pricey. If there was one thing I would improve about the facilities, it probably would be to make the restroom stalls a bit bigger. We would definitely choose to stay here again if we ever make another trip to Glacier!! (And we might even spring for a patio site then...!)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spcqss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed at the West Glacier KOA in July in our 38 foot RV. Here's our review:

RV Spots: We stayed on the newer side of the campground. The spots are spacious and level, mostly pull through sites, but there are some beautiful back-in sites that include a tent pad right next to the forest. There are also deluxe sites with paved patios. The full hook-ups worked perfectly, which was awesome since some days were near 90 degrees. (Our previous campground, not a KOA, said they had 50 AMP, but it couldn't keep up with the double-unit A/C demand.) WiFi was excellent throughout the grounds.

Food: We really can't say enough positive things about the on-site restaurant. The food is fresh, delicious, home-made and very reasonably priced. The restaurant's lazy bear theme is adorable. The service was great. Order the BBQ chicken for dinner and cheesecake for dessert. You won't be disappointed!

Amenities: Again, this KOA sets a whole new standard. The main store has groceries, RV supplies and nice souvenirs. The 2 pools are well maintained. Having a separate adult and family pool is outstanding. The family pool does get pretty busy at night, but we had it to ourselves some of the mornings during our stay. The new bathroom / shower house is the best I've ever seen at an RV campground -- fully tiled showers with serious water pressure. It was the best shower we had in 3 weeks of camping. The laundry room had plenty of machines. The red "jammer" buses pick up right from the KOA for the day-long excursions into the park.

Location: The grounds are impeccably maintained. The owners have made it look like a resort with gardens, water features and lush grassy areas. At the same time, you are surrounded by wilderness and mountain views. The KOA sits just outside of West Glacier. It's about a 5 minute drive to get to the park entrance. You are also one mile down the street from the outfitters that offer white water rafting, fly fishing and horse back riding trips. The thing that I probably enjoyed the most about the location, however, is that this little piece of wilderness does NOT get bears. No one could tell me WHY they don't get bears, but it was a plus. I love seeing bears, but not when I'm laying by a pool or walking to the shower. At this KOA, we could all enjoy ourselves without being on guard. (Our friends stayed 10 miles down highway 2 at another resort, and they had to carry bear spray with them walking from their cabin to the main lodge. That facility sits in a wildlife corridor.)

Tip: Buy your groceries in Whitefish or Columbia Falls. There are no full grocery options near West Glacier.

You can't go wrong here. The RV and camping spots are second to none. We didn't stay in one of the "lodges", but those looked fantastic too. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapunagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.3 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
7.3 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
3.6 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
193 reviews
2.8 km away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around West Glacier

Been to West Glacier KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier KOA

Address: 355 Half Moon Flats Rd., Highway 2, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Glacier KOA, we take personal interest in your camping experience and we want to make it your best. As a past KOA campground of the year, a recipient of the 2010 and 2011 KOA Founders Award, and a regular recipient of the KOA Presidents Award, you can rest assured we know what it takes to make camping great. Our resort-like atmosphere and amenities make us a premier choice for your stay. Located only 2 ½ miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park, you’ll find plenty of outdoor activities to keep you and your family busy and relaxed while vacationing with us. Tour Glacier National Park, reserve a Red-Bus Tour with GPI, book a rafting trip, hit the trails with a guided horseback ride, catch a trout or two in one of Glacier’s many pristine lakes, or be adventurous and take a helicopter tour! Whatever activities you decide to fill your day with, West Glacier KOA is the perfect place to relax from a long day of adventure. We offer a playground complete with a basketball court for you and your children. Our outdoor heated pool and hot tubs provide you with ample opportunity to unwind. Our game room is supplied with multiple arcades for the young ones or the young-at-heart. And if you’re worried about finding the ideal place for breakfast, we have you covered. Start your day right with breakfast straight from our own kitchen. Dinner? That’s a breeze too, with steak, fish, chicken, and ribs fresh and hot off the grill. Finish the evening right with a visit at SCOOPS, our very own ice-cream shop. So if you’re looking for a campground with great location surrounded by mountain panoramic views and northwest pine forests, West Glacier KOA is your campground. Please, take a moment and explore our site-we promise you’ll find plenty to keep you interested, entertained, and most of all, looking forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Glacier Koa Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing