We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderland!”
Review of West Glacier KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We have been to many KOA's over the years, however this is the most amazing KOA you can imagine. It is incredibly clean and tidy. The landscaping is beautiful and they offer a variety of activities including wildlife talks. Most of the sites are pull-thru, but you may want to call ahead. All sites are level and they allow campfires. They have two heated pools, one adult (avoids cannonballs) and one for families plus a very nice hot tub. The have a great cafe "The Lazy Bear" that offers reasonably priced breakfast and dinner. Plus and ice cream parlor. You step out of your tent or RV to spectacular mountain views. And a big surprise; they actually have WiFi that works!!!! They also have beautifully maintained cabins if you don't have a tent or RV. They set the bar for all other KOA's.

Room Tip: They are open from May 1 to Sept 30, so it is good idea to plan ahead for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nb906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith B, Assistant Manager at West Glacier KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the great comments! We love that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

The west glacier is in an excellent location just a few miles from West Glacier and the entrance to Glacier National Park. The campground seems to be a few miles off the main highway on a beautifully paved road.

We stayed at 5 different KOAs throughout this trip, and this KOA topped them all.

The main lobby and the surrounding buildings (restaurant, ice cream, pool, etc..) were all very inviting and were in excellent condition. The park landscaping looked professional, and was very well maintained.

We stayed in a deluxe cabin, and it far exceeded our expectations. It too was very clean, and seemed recently built. It was just the right size for my wife and I, as we used the spare room for storing some of our extra gear. I would say you could easily sleep 4-6 in this cabin. Outside the cabin, the lower area with the fire ring was also great. We used the gas grill several times to cook our meals!

The only minor improvement we could find would be to increase the capacity of the hot water heaters. Towards the tail end of our showers we could feel the hot water getting cooler. This wasn't an issue for us, but if 4-6 individuals tried to shower consecutively, it could be an issue.

Thanks for a great stay, and we will definitely be making this our home if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: The camping cabins are near heavier traffic areas. If you're looking for a quieter stay, upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallt0wntraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith B, Assistant Manager at West Glacier KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We chose this location due to the proximity to Glacier N.P. And the fact that the Red Bus Tours pick up passengers here. The landscaping is very nice and the sites are not too close together. We were in a shady area near the cabins, at site #66. The bathrooms were nice, but I did expect more since this campground was rated so highly. They were ok (clean hot water) but not big or real modern. There was a talk about raptors the one night we were there and that was very interesting. The ice cream shop was great and even though we did not eat at the cafe, that looked good. The laundry room was clean. It was nice that they had an adult pool & kid's pool. We were happy to get a spot, since they are very busy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika D, Owner at West Glacier KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Susan! I'm wondering which restrooms you tried? Many people love our new restrooms that we put in last season & I'm sorry that you felt disappointed - we hope to see you again, have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

The views are amazing. Most wonderful KOA experience I've been to. We brought our RV to this site and it was well worth the drive. I wish I knew there was 2 different RV sides (newer and older). We were put in the new side where there was less foliage/trees and you had very little separating you from the next RV (only a strip of grass). The older RV side was prettier and had a lot of foliage separating you from the next RV. I feel like we paid the exact same for basically overflow. Also wifi didn't reach this far away. The camp grounds were well maintained and staff was extremely friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kerri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika D, Assistant Manager at West Glacier KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Kerri!

We are in the process of updating our WiFi system so should you come back in the future it should reach out to all of the sites - it sounds like you stayed in a "Super Site" so regardless of which side you stayed on you still would have had just a strip of grass in between the sites - so you paid the same rate that others with grass between paid. In the future, if you wanted a site with foliage I would recommend either the "Super Landscaped" sites or the "Deluxe Patio" sites - both of which are slightly more expensive. Thank you for staying with us & we hope that you absolutely loved Glacier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We are traveling in a 40ft motorhome, staying here currently. I'm a self proclaimed campground snob, lol. I like nice and comfy, and this place offers it and more! Beautiful landscaping and views. Private camp spots in the deluxe pull through section, BBQ grills at each site, tables with umbrellas, fire pits, nice pool, restaurant and ice cream shop. Campground offers bike and hiking trails. Worth the extra money to stay here. The only mistake I made was not booking it for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank msphays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith B, Assistant Manager at West Glacier KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We love this review! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
3.6 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
3.3 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
2.8 km away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
207 reviews
2.9 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
213 reviews
7.3 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier KOA

Address: 355 Half Moon Flats Rd., Highway 2, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Glacier KOA, we take personal interest in your camping experience and we want to make it your best. As a past KOA campground of the year, a recipient of the 2010 and 2011 KOA Founders Award, and a regular recipient of the KOA Presidents Award, you can rest assured we know what it takes to make camping great. Our resort-like atmosphere and amenities make us a premier choice for your stay. Located only 2 ½ miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park, you’ll find plenty of outdoor activities to keep you and your family busy and relaxed while vacationing with us. Tour Glacier National Park, reserve a Red-Bus Tour with GPI, book a rafting trip, hit the trails with a guided horseback ride, catch a trout or two in one of Glacier’s many pristine lakes, or be adventurous and take a helicopter tour! Whatever activities you decide to fill your day with, West Glacier KOA is the perfect place to relax from a long day of adventure. We offer a playground complete with a basketball court for you and your children. Our outdoor heated pool and hot tubs provide you with ample opportunity to unwind. Our game room is supplied with multiple arcades for the young ones or the young-at-heart. And if you’re worried about finding the ideal place for breakfast, we have you covered. Start your day right with breakfast straight from our own kitchen. Dinner? That’s a breeze too, with steak, fish, chicken, and ribs fresh and hot off the grill. Finish the evening right with a visit at SCOOPS, our very own ice-cream shop. So if you’re looking for a campground with great location surrounded by mountain panoramic views and northwest pine forests, West Glacier KOA is your campground. Please, take a moment and explore our site-we promise you’ll find plenty to keep you interested, entertained, and most of all, looking forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Glacier Koa Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing